We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”
Review of Raman Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calangute
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Raman Cottages
Ranked #61 of 125 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The good:
It is right on the beach and walking distance to the main stretch of calungute beach, without being so close you can hear it. The cottages close by the beach are nicely decorated, tho don't get a view. It is open in off season.

The bad:
Service was abominable, couldn't even manage to call us a taxi, didn't know what restaurant's might be open and didn't have phone numbers for us to call
No hot water, and room had obviously been closed up for a while as it smelt extremely musty (tho it was off season)
They didn't make up the bed, and provided only single sheets for the king size bed. I received sheets on request, but they couldn't provide large blankets
Food was average and bar wasn't stocked
Cats everywhere - including at dinner table, and used restaurant floor (which was sand) as a litter box

Won't be going back

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

I travel to Goa 2 times before but this trip was definitely the best so far. Loved our Villa at Raman Goa. It's a very romantic, laid back and quaint resort in between calangute and baga. Location couldnt get better. The staff went out of the way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The rooms are spacious, cosy and we had a great night's sleep every night. Chilling at the pool and in the beautiful setting of the tresort was the perfect way to spend our days. The owner Manoj is a super cool and fantastic host. I would love to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niladry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I had been to Raman Cottages last weekend with my husband. Our reaction at first, was a "wow!". And nothing after that lived upto it. Its a great property. Very nicely done. Perfect for a private stay. The cottages are very basic, clean but undoubtedly overpriced. The 'beach villa' as they mention, has absolutely no beach view. There is nothing called as 'service'. Extremely disappointing and hence I mentioned overpriced! They have a handful of staff.... Maiti, Naik and the one who greeted us at the reception... who are unnecessarily overfriendly, SMELL of alcohol when on duty and an absolute turnoff!!! The restaurant has a lovely view of the beach. Food is decent but very little variety/choice. The whole place looks shady and I would not recommend it to couples/ newly weds. Its good when your in a big group.
However, full marks to the owner of Raman's for the great property, the way he has maintained it. He surely was very helpful and kind all through the reservation/directions to the hotel episodes.
Am done with this place. Not going there again for sure. Not even when am in a big group.

Room Tip: The is no television in many rooms (incase anyone specifically needs it) The pool side cottages see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anujajoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Raman Cottage is a quaint little resort on the beach. Just about 100 mtrs. The resort is located just about half way between Calangute and Baga beach. The resort has 15 rooms and 3 cottages. The owner of resort Manoj and his family stay on the resort and his personal attention ensures great service. The staff is very courteous and provide personal attention. The resort has a small beach restaurant overlooking the beach .. or rather on the beach yet providing escape from the constant haggling hawkers on the beach shacks.

The rooms are either garden facing, pool facing or just about 3 of them beach facing. We took the beach facing rooms to avoid our young kids walking into the pool. The beach facing rooms are the best and offer privacy as well. Each rooms are tastefully designed with high ceilings, wooden furniture and neat / clean toilets.

The location is quiet good, with Baga Beach Road being 5 mins walking distance giving you easy access and ample opportunities to explore the markets.

The only thing that may bother you is noise from nearby beach disq, which sounds loud during late evenings. And yeah no fitness center.

I will highly recommend this resort to those who love being on the beach. The personal attention from staff like Maity, Naik and Manoj, the owner himself makes us want to return back again.

Room Tip: Cottages are the best choices with superior furnishings. In rooms, would recommend beach facing or p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayank211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

It was my first visit to Goa in the year 2007 and ever since I stay in the same resort every time I visit Goa.

The location is excellent, it is right on the Calangute-Baga Road and just 100 meters away from the beach. The quality of service is good and have a very courteous staff.

Rooms and cottages are beautifully designed with good space, clean linen and shower rooms.

Would suggest everyone to try at least once.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sidpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2010, and we had the most awesome time. Mr. Manoj has designed lovely rooms and cottages, with wooden furniture. And the property is actually on the beach; so you can just walk out from your room onto the beach.
Lovely food in an exclusive restaurant, which discourages walk-ins. And the rates are also pretty decent.
Would certainly love to return there soon. :)

Room Tip: We loved the pool side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We have just returned from an amazing two weeks in Raman and will most definitely be returning. This is our favourite place in Calangute, its just pure heaven. We stayed in one of the cottages on the beach. The decor was lovely and wash / shower room very clean, spacious and everything u could need. Fridge and TV although we didn't use the TV. We were right next to the swimming pool and our biggest decision was pool or beach. Excellent location short walk to the busy and fascinating Baga road. Ours was a real chill out holiday. We stayed here for 2 weeks so were 'long stay' guests as most seem only to stay 3 or 4 nights. The staff were great. Mieti looked after us in the restaurant/bar bringing food and drinks to our room if we asked. Nike is a character. Does a mean massage in the Indian way . This place is a real little treasure very clean and tranquil (most of the time! A new cottage is under construction so we had some banging but it wasn't too bad - we also had the banana festival happening close to the hotel during our stay and could hear the music from our room but it was really quite pleasant, gave u the feel of India). Was so sad to leave. Can't wait to return.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.1 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
#13 of 125 in Calangute
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#106 of 125 in Calangute
161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#27 of 125 in Calangute
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#4 of 125 in Calangute
1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#3 of 125 in Calangute
733 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#54 of 125 in Calangute
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raman Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raman Cottages

Address: Khobrawaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: £55 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Raman Cottages Hotel Calangute
Raman Cottages Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing