We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Casa Severina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Severina
Ranked #11 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

we have just returned from Goa...we wanted to travel around a little but my brother who stayed here in the summer told us to stay the at the Severina for the duration.... 13 nights....best advise he has ever given me...ha ha...we were met by the hotel driver Wasu at the airport...from there on in everything just fell into place....the room was roomy, quiet & well appointed. sheets were very clean and attention to detail was pretty good.

The breakfast was great with a chef cooking your eggs however you wanted them...both English and Indian options were available. we also eat most days in the restaurant as the food was absolutely beautiful....if it wasn't on the menu we just asked and they went out of their way to please us. the manager Mr Johnson would ask if we wanted anything special like fish or crab and the chef would go to market that day and we would eating it later that night. the bar was very relaxed with a flat screen so we could keep up with the sport from around the world and the staff were really really nice all the time.

quite a large pool for the size of the hotel which was never busy.
the hotel sorted out scooter hire which was very competitive and we used the hotel driver on a couple of occasions to drive out for a few hours.

all in all a great place to stay with a really good atmosphere.

only down side was the Wi-Fi was not fantastic in the rooms...but fine in reception

thank you guy's

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Stuart E,

Delighted to read your encouraging comments, have conveyed the same to the entire team of Casa Severina.

Thank you for staying with us; sincerely look forward to be at your service again, in the near future

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Casa Severina
(A Heritage Resort)
Calangute- Goa - India

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
There are newer reviews for Casa Severina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

A very different and nice hotel in Calangute. It looks like a big Portuguese bungalow :). The best part was the quiteness of the hotel as they dont encourage kids. The breakfast spread was nice. I liked the pool too. Property is not on the beach but like 5-7 mins walk. A good value for money hotel. The room was great and so was the bathroom. Liked the bed :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alok_thakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Alok,

We are delighted to know that you had a good stay at Resort Casa Severina- Goa. Thank you, for taking the time, to review our resort on the TripAdvisor.

Look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Casa Severina
Calangute-Goa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed there for four nights (23 to 27 September) with my wife and found it to very nice, clean and comfortable. This was my first Goa trip and I selected the resort on the basis of reviews on trip Advisor and I am happy to say that I am so much impressed that whenever I visit Goa again I will stay in Casa Severina only.

I found the breakfast to be really nice. The menu had several choices and there was always enough for a North Indian Vegetarian foodie like me.

We ordered dinner twice in our room and I found the food reasonably priced.

One thing that I didn't liked was the cost of moneral water bottle (Qua), which was priced Rs. 80. They give two complimentary bottles everyday but 80 rupees for a water bottle is too expensive for Indian tourists in my opinion. There should be an option.

On the site it was mentioned that a fruit basket is kept in the room for all guests on arrival. There was no fruit basket in our room, when I enquired about the same at reception I was told that it is given on certain packages only.

Apart from this I found everything positive about this resort. Beach was very near, only about 5 minutes walking distance. Pool was very clean. Garden was very clean and beautiful. The same thing can be said thing about the restaurant.

Rooms were big in size, very clean and elegantly designed. Also whenever we returned in evening we were plesantly surprised to see beautiful patterns created on bed with towels.

Another thing that we liked the most is the always smiling helpful staff and room service people.

All in all a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a first floor deluxe room but I think first floor pool facing junior rooms are the best...
Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ujjwal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Ujwal,

Thank you, for taking the time, to write a detailed contentment summary of your stay. Pleased to know that you were impressed and had a memorable stay at resort Casa Severina. We have noted your observations.

Sincerely, look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future.


Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Casa Severina
Calangute-Goa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I had stayed from 26th Sep till 30th Sep in the Junior Suite numbered J2. I am short of words to appreciate the Quality of this place. This place is truly a winner on all fronts. Loved the food + bar + pool + ambience + politeness of staff + location + peace of mind etc. Kudos to Mr. Johnson & team. Our stay could not have been better than this. I would certainly visit again very soon. Thanks again for a lovely stay !!

Room Tip: Select pool facing rooms ~!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidhu_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Sindhu,

Thanks for taking the time to share your holiday experience at resort Casa Severina on trip advisor; We are honoured with a great review , have conveyed the same to the entire team of Casa Severina.

Sincerely look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Casa Severina
(A Heritage Resort)
Calangute- Goa – India

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Hi all,
Me and my wife stayed for a couple of days in Casa Severina Holiday Resort on 28th Sep 13. Everything was fine till something started to bite all over our body and just wouldn't let us sleep even though we were very tired from all that walking along Goa beaches. Barely 2 hrs into sleep, I got up and found small bed-bugs (Hindi: Khatmal) crawling all over the quilt. Initially I thought it was the mosquitoes. But no. Turned on the light to find them crawling all over the floor too probably hastily making their way to suck our blood!

Anyways, called reception and changed out room midnight to J-1. Poor attendant was equally surprised an later even tried to say it might "just be mosquitoes". I didn't tell him that I had taken photos of bed-bugs.

When I solicited the resort manager next morning, I was told that he is "on leave" today. Yes, very difficult to face an angry customer in such a situation but to not even say sorry to them is gross. I was thinking, "Don't they even fumigate their rooms? Bedbugs don't just come overnight..."

I was so disappointed but didn't show it on my face. I didn't make much hue and cry over the issue since we didn't want to ruin out short first-time stay in Goa. But writing a befitting review is what is important.

Regards,

Room Tip: Will never recommend this resort to my friends!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chandan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear All,

Let it be known that Guest Mr.Chandan stayed at Resort Casa Severina-Goa from 28th September,2013 for two nights. Honestly right from inception till Mr.Chandan stay, at Casa Severina, we had no issue of bed-bugs.

On 28th day of September, 2013 when Mr.Chandan reported to reception, our associate checked his room n0 F-17 thoroughly, did not find/see any bed-bugs/insects but obliged the guest with a room change. After Mr.Chandan’s departure, we had many other guest stayed in room F-17 and currently it is being occupied by one of our long staying guest without any issue.

Dear Mr.Chandan; at Resort Casa Severina, we take utmost care of the guest and the resort in all respect and do not run away from problems. With all due respect, we deny your statement “When I solicited the resort manager next morning, I was told that he is "on leave" today. Yes, very difficult to face an angry customer in such a situation but to not even say sorry to them is gross” as we have second person in command during my absence on Sundays (my weekly off day).

Guest genuine feedback is immensely valuable to us but your feedback, however, apart from being vivid is also devised to malign the resort.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Casa Severina
(A Heritage Resort)
Calangute- Goa - India

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

From the moment you go through the gates of the Casa the noise and madness of the main roads slip away and as returning guests you are greeted by Johnson and his team with genuine friendliness.
We were booked in for 8 days in March and this was booked directly with Johnson, the general manager who also arranged a taxi for the airport pickup and the cost was in line with normal prices.
We stayed this time in a deluxe room which was more than big enough and met our needs. We spent our time either by the pool or down at the beach at a friends shack. When round the pool you are left alone and not bothered at all and if you need anything drinks food etc then you just pick up the phone at the side of the pool and call to order up. Food was freshly made and delivered with a smile from the excellent staff. We did also order room service about 3 times in the evening and again the service and food was good.
Johnson the general manager runs an excellent hotel and that fact that the same staff are retained year to year proves that.
My husband had mobility problems following spine operation and all the staff showed a great deal of concern as to his wellbeing each day.
We would definitely return to the Casa and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Calangute.

Room Tip: All rooms are good have stayed in a ground floor near pool and front with larger balcony - both good...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Madam/Sir,

Pleased to read your encouraging comments and delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at Resort Casa Severina- Goa; have conveyed the same to the entire team of Casa Severina.

Thank you for staying with us; sincerely look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Casa Severina
(A Heritage Resort)
Calangute- Goa - India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights from Sep 28 to 1st Oct. It is very near to the main road. Just getdown at St.Anthony's chapel and walk inside. Beach is also close by we can't see though.

This hotel small but very clean and prompt service all time. Breakfast is good. 2/4 wheeler can get easily nearby. For vegetarians, there are couple of good hotels within 800 mts. Main beaches and forts are under 12 kms from this hotel, off course by renting a bike. Panjim is just 12kms.
Overall the stay is good in casa severina than visiting dirty beaches. If at all I am visiting again to north goa, I will prefer stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Srids,

We are delighted to know that you had a good stay at Resort Casa Severina- Goa. Thank you, for taking the time, to review our resort on the TripAdvisor.

Look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Casa Severina
Calangute-Goa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.1 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#13 of 116 in Calangute
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#8 of 116 in Calangute
611 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#4 of 116 in Calangute
980 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#2 of 116 in Calangute
689 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 116 in Calangute
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Severina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Severina

Address: Senhor Francisco Road, near St. Anthony's Chapel | Gauravaddo-Calangute-Goa, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#11 Family Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: £32 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Severina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Severina is an architectural Endeavour, conforming to the orthodoxy yet refreshing & surreal... An attempt to re-incarnate a lost glory of vernacular heritage, ethos, culture & architecture... that’s Casa Severina for you, a charming boutique retreat in Goa. This Hacienda with all its luxurious trappings is located in Calangute.This unique property is situated on a quiet street away from the clamor... The Casa is not a hotel, it is a gracious residence …an experience.Like a family house... guests are received here as a part of the family.True Goan Art de vive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Severina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Severina Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing