We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for a great price !!!”
Review of Joia Do Mar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Joia Do Mar Resort
Ranked #32 of 119 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A greatly unpretentious property that could be slightly better managed , but gave us some of the best days of our goa trip. Micheal , the manager is a gentleman , and a pleasure to have around , food is excellent and portions large. The resort was liked by all in the family , each one for their own reason. The pool was clean and reasonably sized. The poolside bar looked nice , though we didnt use it much. Will I come back again? , Oh yes I will ,

Room Tip: the smaller rooms have better ambience !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BhanuAbohari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel is overall good. Rooms are neat and clean and ambience is good. Nice place to stay. Hotel Manager is very cordial and helpful guy.

Food is hopeless. I would suggest to eat at any other nearby hotels near baga beach. Hotel is highly understaffed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Gaurav_3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Hi i m aaryan (actor) Awesome place to stay ppl.... clean rooms, very friendly staff... liked each and everything about my stay there, near to the beachs sply calangute/baga recommended for everyone!!! Mr.Michale is very nice gentleman very hlpfull lik arranged my bik ....suggested me about gud places overall we lov this place....note this resort is different from others.....

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank aaryant2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at this Hotel from 28th Jan to 31st Dec 2014 , the check in was excellent and room are very spacious and with a good interior ,

Break fast in the hotels is very good and the best part is if you go after 10.30 also they serve you the breakfast ,

Location of the hotel is walk-able to BAGA and calangute Beach

Staff are very friendly

and thanks to Mr. Mr.Michael ( Manager) who made our Stay wonderful

I would say the Staff in the hotels are like family member who take care you till you depart

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nagu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were a group of 4 friends and had booked this hotel for a day , we had booked 2 rooms instead we got a single big room. When we showed the manager our booking he said 2 rooms werent available so we upgraded you to 1 big room so we said that this room would be cheaper than 2 rooms so at least refund our money back after hassling much he said we would provide you a free meal. When we ate the meal the manager came to our room and said Here is your complimentary bill and your chargeable bill , he only gave rs.500 complimentary of the bill of rs.1780 saying I cannot do more than that.

Other than this it is a fairly average hotel with poor interiors , the water in the bathroom stinks , the only bright spot is the location and it is fairly huge.

My recommendation is you can easily find a better hotel at this price

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank punz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Booked this hotel last minute due to a change in plans and was a very good choice. Stayed for 10 days. The rate is very reasonable and the room large, spacious and clean. The staff were all very helpful. There is free wi-fi at the hotel as well which is great, although it can be a bit weak. Breakfast everyday was really good. And the food in the hotel is very reasonable and tasty. The location is at the very top end of Calangute towards Baga and Anjuna. The walk to the beach is quite far but you can easily get a taxi there. The road opposite the hotel leads down to the main Calangute-Baga road and is much quicker than walking down towards the beach.
There is also a pool at the resort which is nice, once you brave the cold temperature! There is also a bar at the poolside. The rooms can be a little noisy as you can pretty hear through the walls, but this didn't bother me much, but it may bother others if you have noisy neighbours.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csnjuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Keep your expectations low and believe me anybody can have a best time in this hotel.

Plus:
1. Excellent neat and clean big room with comfy bed.
2. Neat and clean wash room (most sought after thing for me n wify in any hotel)
3. Nice small pool with a bar.
4. Nice ambiance lights during night.
5. Excellent Food (Egg briyani must try).
6. Near to baga, calungute.

Negative (not much believe me but just for sake of it.)
1. Severely understaff.
2. Non functional Hooka bar.
3. Lot of properties near hotel are under renovation which create quite of disturbance.

Surely again visit this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashuking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
1.1 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#17 of 119 in Calangute
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#49 of 119 in Calangute
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lambana Resort
Lambana Resort
#34 of 119 in Calangute
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#28 of 119 in Calangute
125 reviews
1 mi away
10 Calangute
10 Calangute
#26 of 119 in Calangute
330 reviews
1.3 mi away
Resort Tio
Resort Tio
#22 of 119 in Calangute
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joia Do Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joia Do Mar Resort

Address: Porba Vaddo | Calangute-Arpora Road, Bardez, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#14 Family Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: £31 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Joia Do Mar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
" Joia Do Mar " Resort is a boutique family owned hotel dedicated to providing customized services.They say a picture speaks a thousand words but when it comes to Joia Do Mar, seeing is indeed believing. And that is no tall claim. Have a look at our pictures of this beautiful, homely and relaxing property; what you see here is what you get, and more too. Built over years with a loving attention to detail, and careful planning, this premium property set in the heart of party hearty Goa (a stone's throw from Baga and Calangute beaches also close to the famous saturday night market the most exciting event in Goa during winter season) could just become your home away from home.We've got villas, suites and apartments, loaded with creature comforts and furnished to exacting international standards. Clean, cool lines and a posh build. The styling is bound to appeal to your cultured tastes. There's a great big pool to help you cool off during Goan summers. And if all that splashing about gives you an appetite, no problem. our kitchen will serve u some tasty treats at " Masala Hut " Bar and restaurant thats our guarantee. Feel like a bit of a party? We got an in-pool "Joy bar " stocked with all your favorite spirits to carry on the festive spirit! Doesn't this sound tempting? Be our guest and explore the site. Or better still, come visit us and let the spirit of Joia do Mar cajole your senses. Bookings are open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Joia Do Mar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joia Do Mar Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing