We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Palms Goa
Ranked #8 of 119 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We (me and my wife) stayed in this hotel for 5 nights on occasion of our first marriage anniversary.

After going through couple of hotels in candolim and calangute we zeroed in on Ocean palms. The property is awesome. Just 5-7 minutes walking (through a shortcut) to Calangute beach. Near to beach yet away from the hussle of the crowd.

After seeing at Palm rooms and Palm suites, we decided to check in Palm Suite room (B&B). We had to wait for about half an hour to 45 minutes for check in to the room (we were told that the room was getting cleaned as it has been recently checked out).Looking at the fact that we had no pre booking this had to happen..but the check in would have been bit early had the cleaning staffs were not watching TV in the Palm suite we selected. The good part was we could check in half an hour before the standard time of 2 p.m.

The suite was luxurious with a main room with balcony and a bed room with balcony. The room was equipped with all the modern amenities. We were impressed by the Hotel amenities.

Unfortunately we had an unpleasant experience of our room check in cards expiring for 2 consecutive days out of our 5 day stay. This is not expected as its more of a common sense to keep the cards active for 5 days when the room has been booked for 5 days. This is particulary irritating when you have a tiring day outside and the moment you want to relax you find you cant enter the room.

We also had an unpleasant experience of our room not cleaned even though the room key was handed over at around 11 am. The rooms were only cleaned up at around 3.30 pm after we came back and informed about the incident.

The breakfast was very tasty with lot of variety to choose from.

Coming to the tours and other help which is organised by the hotel : We would recommend those who cant drive bikes to go in for the south and north goa tours arranged by the hotel. We would highly not recommend the dolphin trip which was quoted to us at Rs. 1,000 per couple negotiated to Rs. 800 per couple. The actual rate is Rs. 350 per person. We could manage to see the dolphins at Rs. 200 per person when we went into South Goa tours. We felt the rates quoted for taxi was also over stayed.

We had a high expectation however due to unpleasant experiences we were left bit disappointed. However we would like to recommend this hotel to our family and friends and hope we get a better service next time we visit the hotel.

Room Tip: Insist on seeing rooms before you book. There are various rooms available but they only show one or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAMohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanPalmsGoa, General Manager at Ocean Palms Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to fill in your review on Trip Advisor.

We do apoligize and regret for inconvenience caused. We have taken corrective measures to
ensure it is not repeated.

Please allow us to make it up to you on your next visit.

Looking forward to Welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,

Anil Singh Rathore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

One word AWeSoMe..!!
i had stayed at ocean palms goa for 3 nights. As soon as we arrived ,we were given the key without waiting inspite of we being there before the check in time. also it is a place away from the crowded markets,perfect place. the only problem was that the calangute beach required a walk of 20/25 minutes
but if u hire your own vehicle, it becomes much easier ,around 5/10 min drive.
the best thing about the place was the cleanliness of the place and the tempting morning breakfast which was complementary with our suite
the spread was vast and delicious. the staff was very warm and welcoming and Ms Sheetal the receptionist was very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Choose a suite room with a pool view, my advice, hire a vehicle for travelling, it is much better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nandujamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanPalmsGoa, General Manager at Ocean Palms Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you very much for your valuable response on TripAdvisor.

Team Ocean Palms are thankful to you for allowing us to be of Service to you. Always!!!

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,

Anil Singh Rathore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

A long extended weekend meant a holiday and Goa was the suggested destination . After finally deciding to go to North Goa,staying slightly away from the crowded area was the plan of action . After looking at A lot of places on trip advisor , we decided on staying at the Ocean Palms . Other traveller photos are a decent indication but i choose to have little expectations before arriving .
But what i saw there when we reached was way beyond expectation.The moment you enter the hotel , you are greeted by great staff who are polite and eager to help,resulting in a very very good first impression . At some places Check-in is not a pleasant experience , but here its not the case,check-in is fast and hassle free .
While we were escorted to our suite,what hits you is an amazing complex,beautiful laden with greenery,clean environment and a very very well maintained and managed space.Everything seems well thought out and planned.
Now the room!!! Well our suite was like a proper 1 BHK , just without the K :D .The amenities in the room were very satisfactory to say the least . The best part being the super comfortable bed :D .
The complimentary breakfast was a good spread, and even the location of the hotel was great . Close to the beach and Calangute beach and far enough from the crowds . A 5 minute walk from the beach with some great shacks , specially one "Reggie's Shack " .and other good restaurants in close proximity.
Unfortunately our 3N 4D trip had to come to an end , but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would most definitely return soon.
Highly recommended place to stay .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karanshetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanPalmsGoa, General Manager at Ocean Palms Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Sir,

Namaste.

Team Ocean Palms Thanks you very much for your valuable comments put on TripAdvisor review section.

We have conveyed your message to all our associates who are delighted to be of service to you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Thank you & Warm Regards,

Anil Singh Rathore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

i stayed with my family recentlyfor 6 nights and found the hotel vey clean and so near the beach you can just walk across the road and be at the beach.... food at the hotel is a bit expensive but good lots of beach shacks to try local food too all in all we had a very pleasent stay at the hotel

Room Tip: try to book the room facing the swimming pool the hotel will not aloow after you have setteled in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firoziadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanPalmsGoa, General Manager at Ocean Palms Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear Sir,

Namaste.

Thank you for taking the time to put your valuable comment on the review.

We were delighted to be of service to you and look forward to Welcome you again in the not too distant future .

Thank you & Warm Regards,

Anil Singh Rathore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Our stay at Ocean Palms hotel was an unforgettable experience..
The staff are very friendly and eager to please, and the rooms specious, clean and very comfortable. Drinks on our balcony at night with the lit pool view were exceptionally relaxing.. The breakfast buffet offers choices that please every taste. I had the opportunity to try some indian breakfast dishes as well.. But what truly made our trip memorable were the front office staff who truly lived up to their motto: "A guest at our hotel is family."
We've truly found a good friend..
looking forward to our next trip to Goa:)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannajoanna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanPalmsGoa, General Manager at Ocean Palms Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Madam,

Namaste.


Team Ocean Palms thanks you for your valuable comments.

We will thank Felix as well.

Kindly note that our lifts work on electricity and due to fluctuation in the power it stops for 07 seconds after which the Generators automatically switch on subsequentely the lifts.

We are looking forward to Welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,

Anil Singh Rathore
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My husband and me were to stay at Ocean Palm for 4 days and ended up staying there for 7days.Reasons:1) Real nice, spacious and most importantly CLEAN rooms, 2) Five Star Hospitality and amazingly staff. 3) The food is awesome
Thanks Oceans Palms for making this trip for us worth our while

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pooja9g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanPalmsGoa, General Manager at Ocean Palms Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Madam,

Namaste.

Team Ocean Palms Thanks you for your Valuable comments.

We are looking forward to Welcoming you both again in June, 2012.

Warm Regards,

Anil Singh Rathore
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My partner and I recently spent 10 nights at the Ocean Palms in Goa and had a fantastic, enjoyable, relaxing stay. The resort itself is very new, so everthing feels clean & modern. The location is very good, closeby to a main road (Holiday St) where the beach & heaps of restaurants are located. Pool is excellent - nice coolish water, not too hot like you find elsewhere in Asia, spent many days just chilling at the pool having cheap food & drinks. We had dinner a couple of times at the Hotel Restaurant - it was excellent in all respects and the gentleman who run / work the restaurant are all lovely & professional.

On arrival we decided to upgrade to a suite room, for not much extra at all (so little we cant even remember how much it was) , that was a great decision as the suites were HUGE , with seperate bedroom with its own balcony, lounge room with balcony, as well as having the best Cable TV we have come across anywhere in the world so far, all live sports from Europe, USA etc , all the worlds news channels, movies, the works ... We arrived at 8am (way too early for check in) but the reception manager was lovely enough to let us go straight to our room - this was a godsend after an overnight flight !!!

The staff were excellent, very friendly & polite. Of course, things can take a while anywhere in India ... Must mention that we found an outstanding taxi driver who bases himself in the laneway out front of hotel - his name is Felix. He took us to the Night Market (worthwile) , and 2 days later took us for a whole day out to the amazing waterfalls, from memory 2200 rupees (40 USD) is all he charges us for a full day, it was a great day & he is a lovely person.

One little issue was the elevator, which is solar powered, so occasionaly it will stop, but it is not a concern, as its only 4 stories and the issue is quickly remedied.

Highly Recommended

Room Tip: get a suite !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimMelbourneOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanPalmsGoa, General Manager at Ocean Palms Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Madam,

Namaste.

Team Ocean Palms Thanks you for taking the time to fill in The Trip Advisor Review with your Valuable comments.

We will also Thank Felix.

Kindly note that our Lifts work on Electricity, due to power fluctuations it does stop for 07 seconds after which our Generators automatically start and subsequentely the lifts.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,

Anil Singh Rathore
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.4 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 119 in Calangute
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#13 of 119 in Calangute
363 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort- An AccorHotels Brand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#8 of 66 in Candolim
579 reviews
0.8 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#4 of 119 in Calangute
1,017 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
#2 of 11 in Dona Paula
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Goa

Address: Opposite Holiday Street | Gauravaddo, Calangute 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#3 Spa Hotel in Calangute
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#7 Family Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: £59 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Palms Goa 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With global warming being a key concern, significant investments are being made in green technologies to reduce carbon foot prints across the world. Ocean Palms Goa too is a part of the drive. A 4-star eco-friendly resort, it is located in Calangute. Ocean Palms offers an affordable quality to business and leisure travellers alike. Blending the intimacy of home with modern amenities, the facilities at this child friendly resort include well appointed air-conditioned rooms, conferencing facilities, a swimming pool, a lounge bar, multi-cuisine restaurant, spa, and fitness services. The resort is located in a quite area of the main road. So you can enjoy a peaceful stay; at the same time it is hop-skip-and-jump away from popular tourists spots. Ocean Palms gives guest the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Palms Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Goa Hotel Calangute
Ocean Palms Goa Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing