We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Nizmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nizmar Resort
Ranked #75 of 113 Hotels in Calangute
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 7 April 2011

I can honestly say we found hardly any faults with this hotel! I thought the worst and was pleasantly surprised! We were given an excellent room, room 109, it had 2 fans (we didn't really need the aircon), hairdryer, tv, settee, stocked minibar, 2 balconies and it was overlooking the pool. The bed linen was kept very clean and all the staff were so helpful. On one the days, my partner had to go to hospital, and using his own transport, the receptionist gave us a lift to the hospital with no charge! The cleaners were great, always giving us fresh towels everyday....we gave them 20 rupees per week and then a big tip at the end (500 rupees) which seemed to work! We never once had so much as a piece of paper stolen from our room...we just locked our valuables in our suitcase which was fine! Our minibar was always stocked up, bottles of pepsi 35 rupees, bacardi breezer 80 rupees, bottle of water 30 rupees. We were given 3 free meals per week in the evening which was a buffet (you can also order food off the steak menu, about £3.50 for a fillet steak)....the food was quite nice (fresh grilled fish, soup, different curries)....well you can't really complain if it's free! The poolside food is great (the bar also has a TV, my partner was happy as they were showing the cricket!), cheap considering it's in a hotel (still only about £2 for gorgeous chicken tikka, 40p for naan bread) and the bar/restaurant staff are great. We got chatting to them and they work from 6am till 12pm at night with only a few hours break, so I think they do brilliantly!! Breakfast is a bit standard, but still no complaints, there is cornflakes, beans, toast, fruit, some indian delicacies and cakes. The poolboys are fab, giving you a clean towel everyday, and you won't struggle to find a sunbed as they will always get you another one if there are none left. The entertainment on the night was a bit poor, but why go to Goa if you are just going to stay in the hotel?! There were quite a lot of Indian students staying there, which I can only see as a good thing! It's about a 10 minute walk to the beach and about 20/25 mins to Baga beach. There are shops right by the hotel, if you go out the hotel and walk right, there is a supermarket about 5 mins away. It did advertise there is a pub in the hotel, which was closed. We asked why this was and they said it was only really available for parties. This didn't bother us too much as there were plenty of places to go outside the hotel! All in all a really excellent hotel, you can't expect 5 star luxury in the centre of Calangute, the people and service are fantastic. They always said hello to us using our names, and we have even got the restaurant managers business card to go back next year!! I think if you know what to expect for Goa, you will love this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLARB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    58
    35
    22
    37
See reviews for
32
82
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gurgaon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We shortlisted this hotel on many fronts, some were up to the mark some failed miserably.

1. Distance from Calangute beach: hardly 200 mtrs. One of the best point and few positive point for this hotel.

2. Rating (was rated as 4*): Not at all more than 3*. Equipments like TV, AC, etc were not in proper working condition.

3. Room cleanliness and tidiness: OK OK types.

4. Food and room service: Good.

Overall a nice place to live if you wanna stay near the most happening beach i.e. Calangute beach. But if you are looking for a place to stay and enjoy in hotel, this is probably not the place.

Room Tip: Very near to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agarwalsaurabh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Just returned from a 3 week stay at the Nizmar and would definitely not consider gong again. The hotel advertises that it has 4 restaurants, when it only has one. It advertises that it has an indoor pub, which it does but it is never open. Whilst our room was not too bad, there were many guests there who had to complain about the state of their rooms and had to be changed to alternatives. The hotel is in severe need of an update, even if it is just a coat of paint. The photos on the web site are either retouched, or they were the photos used when it was last painted. I cannot complain about the staff as they were very friendly and attentive, however, when you watch them cleaning tables etc., and you see the colour of the cloths they use you then begin to wonder is it doing any good. There were also a number of guests who had items removed from there rooms, such as phones, and, when complaints were made to the management, there wasn't a great del of concern shown. The hotel is also poorly managed in my opinion. For the whole duration of our stay, there were groups of Indians booked into the hotel every 3-4 days. Whilst I have no problems with nationals using the hotel, but when the groups are of 200+ school kids or teenagers it does not make for a peaceful stay. (Especially as they were squeezing up to 6 people into a 3 person room). Also, as the breakfast area is located around the pool side, you do not want 50-60 locals in the pool splashing about and splashing you whilst you are eating. The majority of the hotel rooms also look over the outside areas of the hotel, which appear to be rubbish tips or waste land (we were fortunate to have a room overlooking the pool). There was even a guest staying at the hotel from Thomas Cook who was there to write a report on the place, which, the management seemed to know about, but, even they had to be moved as their room was not up to standard. Overall, I would say if any one was planning a stay there to reconsider as i would definitely not go there again.

Room Tip: Get some where more central, poor location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigedmustafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2011

went out this march 15 2011 4 a holiday if u want 2 be a wake all night just book the nizmar 1st night was brilant but after that went to pot due to loads of indian school kids being in there they kept banging doors loud music in there rooms got no respect for anyone .kept just walking into our room . took over the swimming pool so dont book it in march cause thats wen the school kids go .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiff049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Very good helpful and friendly staff willing to please, the rooms are large but in need of painting the bathrooms are very basic but functionable. The breakfast is poor, evening meals acceptable although repetative and never hot accompanied with very loud music for entertainment which would have been enjoyable toned down as background music, the day time pool side snacks were great. The pool always looked murky and not very inviting and smaller than portrade on the website. Location is good, 20 minute walk or a 5 minute tut tut ride well worth the 70p to a wonderful beach with great beach shacks serving fab food and drinks at great prices,
Worst for us was the large groups of Indian youths staying at The Nizmar over the weekends who were noisy well into the night.
Best was the fabulous local people and the lovely beaches.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186254Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Wasn't expecting much from other peoples reviews, and wasn't let down. Room 302 was our first room and what a damp stinking room it was, some sort of material was hanging over the balcony windows and when opened to have a look outside we found a footpath straight outside and a security guard sitting by the other balcony . Dont think anyone had sat outside there for a very longtime. Upgrading our room which was a bit better but still smelt, but did have a balcony we could sit on. Food quite good and bar facilities adequate , pool had lots of chipped tiles around the edges, but a decent size. Staff friendly enough and security guards should be awake after someone was robbed in their rooms when we were there.Place could do with a good makeover

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delboy8740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We loved the beaches...the Nizmar is close enough to Calengute to walk to in about 10 to 15 mins...but taxis are readily available for 70 rupees, Bagga Beach a bit further away but its busier. Nizmar is close enough to shops and bars and has its own entertainment on each evening by the pool. The rooms are spacious and quite well fitted with TV, Fridge, Air Con and ceiling fans, hair dryer, kettle and a nice sitting area, the rooms are getting drab and need a lick of paint but are kept clean. Daily change of clean bedding and towels. The staff are polite and very friendly and helpful. The food was very good at breakfast and also we had 3 complimentary evening meals each week which was a variety of dishes to suit all. We enjoyed our stay it was our second visit and would not hesitate to go again. The bar closes at 11 each evening so we had no problems with noise or disturbances. We found it a great base, not to far away from the busy town of calangute. Many trips are recommended and taxis are plentiful right outside the hotel to take you on any you fancy.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.3 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#96 of 113 in Calangute
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#7 of 113 in Calangute
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#14 of 113 in Calangute
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#15 of 113 in Calangute
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#27 of 113 in Calangute
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nizmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nizmar Resort

Property: Nizmar Resort
Address: Naika Vaddo Calangute, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nizmar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nizmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nizmar Resort Calangute
Nizmar Hotel Calangute
Nizmar Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing