We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpackers paradise!”
Review of Nizmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nizmar Resort
Ranked #69 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Backpackers paradise!”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I have stayed at Nizmar two times and enjoyed my time. The staff is friendly, serves welcome drink on arrival and have quite a few suggestions to acquaint you if you are new in the vicinity. Apparently, Calangute Beach is walking distance from here...plus you can hire bikes near the resort so that you can travel stress-free in Goa. Actually you'll feel as if you are staying in an apartment with a community of like-minded people; and the staff behave as if they work for you!

I love their swimming pool and evening bar-be-ques during happy hour! Their suites are spacious enough for two, and ours overlooked the swimming pool which was visually appealing! Food, though basic, was delicious and the staff kept no stone unturned in order to meet our expectations. Unlike lots of BNB's and 3 star hotels of this caliber, Nizmar Resort certainly is a very nice retreat to experience, neat & clean, good rooms, descent food, close to the the action; the beach! A complete backpackers paradise which I would wanna visit again and again!

Room Tip: Choose rooms overlooking the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzizShafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    58
    35
    22
    37
See reviews for
32
82
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sibsagar, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I stayed three nights here in Dec'2011 with my family and liked it.Clean spacious rooms,clean pool ,friendly staff and a 10 minute walk to the Calanghute beach makes it a good bargain for price.Food is somewhat costly but for X-mas eve in Goa, it got to give it to them.Only I should mention that the Kitchenette is almost of no use...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiva_Assam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Its been a good experience with this hotel, I have stayed for 3N/4D. Everything is good - pool, breakfast and atmosphere of this hotel. Only one problem i have faced in this hotel is that there are no fluorescent tube lights. There are only night lamps which makes room very dull at night. Overall its value for money i can say.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are good and preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumbai_C0uples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have stayed at the Nizmar 5 times since 2004 the other where great BUT this time it was not as clean as it used to be, the 5 staff that we know from 2004 are still brilliant Mangesh, Laurence, Socorro, Antonio the one I have forgotten his name BUT the rest of the young staff are dishonest lazy.
We where in room 102 we were both bitten by bed bugs although I had a very bad reaction had to get the dr out, they sprayed the bed put the same sheets back on I pulled the sheets back on our return from the beach there was dead live bugs so we eventually after a lot of crying on my part were moved to another room which had just been decorated was much cleaner. Did love this hotel once but never again. NOT PUT US OG GOA THOUGH. LOVE IT

Room Tip: Dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine291160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Don't book your room in this hotel ! That's all i can say.
I had booked a room in this hotel for 1 night : 18- 19 December 2011.
I had done the booking from their very own website : www.nizmarresorts.com

I wanted to cancel this reservation as I got another hotel to stay in. So I went to Nizmar resort , before 24 hours and told them that I would like to cancel the booking.
According to their website, if you cancel before 24 hrs , you are entitled to a refund.

The manager of the hotel, Christopher told me first that my booking amount is not reflected in their bank statements, so they cannot refund my amount. It was strange that though I had booked from their own website, still they say they did not receive the payment.I called up my bank at that very moment, and bank confirmed that they have credit the amount to Nizmar's account.

Secondly, Christopher told me that once he receives the amount in his bank statements, he would refund me . Now after 1 month, as i did not receive any communication from Nizmar, i dropped an email to them asking about the status of my refund.
Shockingly I got a response from Christopher that now they cannot refund me the amount as they could not sell the room to anyone's else due to my cancellation and entire 1 room charge will be charged! He argued a lot and now he says that he has made up his mind that he would not provide me with a refund and I am free to take any action against Nizmar !!

Is there a way out? Is there any legal action that I can take against Nizmar resort ?

Please please do not visit Nizmar resort after this horrible experience of mine !
Have never faced something of this sort with any hotel ever !

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ssaha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We Agree with others on this one we were also down with food poisining, 7 couples that we new of all came down the the food poisining
it is not fit for europeans,used as a conference room for the indians, who were noisy and some had disgusting habits spitting and clearing there nose in the pool,
could not beleive what we had come to, we had been to the nizmar before and it was pleasant then,
we had read the reviews but you always think that some folk are over the top, so to be honest did not take much notice,but please be warned and avoid this one,

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grumpywhosgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed at Nizmar resort for 3 days and found this to be an average hotel. Though the rooms are quite spacious if you book a deluxe suit but the property is an old one. We had our rooms pre-booked through internet but still the hotel reception took around 30-45 mins to validate the booking. One should specifically ask for rooms facing the pool as the other locations aren't good. Room service is not good here and even the food is average. Note that there is no lift to take you to 3rd floor in case your room is there.

Nearest beach from this place is Calungate which is little under 1 km. You can easily find restaurants, shops, bike rentals, etc. in this area. The day tours to North / South Goa are costlier if you book through the hotel. You can find travel and tours shops enarby which can do the same tour booking at a lower cost.

Room Tip: Pool facing, deluxe suit, ground or first floor (no lifts)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mast07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.3 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#92 of 110 in Calangute
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
0.1 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#28 of 110 in Calangute
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#15 of 110 in Calangute
256 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nazri Resort Hotel
Nazri Resort Hotel
#5 of 24 in Baga
757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Resort Goa
Osborne Resort Goa
#42 of 110 in Calangute
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nizmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nizmar Resort

Property: Nizmar Resort
Address: Naika Vaddo Calangute, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nizmar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nizmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nizmar Resort Calangute
Nizmar Hotel Calangute
Nizmar Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing