We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our stay perfect - couldn't ask for more”
Review of Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horizon
Ranked #35 of 119 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Myself and my husband stayed for 7 nights in February. The walk down the lane to the hotel is completely different to what is waiting for you at the end. The walk down is a little scary the first time but you soon realise there is nothing to worry about and everyone gets to know you and says hello. The hotel itself is really nice. Very clean and well kept. The rooms are very basic but are cleaned every day and towels and bed linen are changed frequently. The mattresses are very hard which we were told is the norm in all Goa hotels. You can ask reception for another mattress to put on top and this may help a little. The pillows were very comfortable. The pool area is very nice and quiet but there are only a few beds which catch limited sun thoughout the day. If you are an avid sun worshipper then probably best to go to the beach. The breakfast is excellant, eggs to order, toast, fruit, cereals, tea and coffee. We ate in the hotel quite a few times and the snacks and evening meals were fantastic. The evening entertainment was really good (which was every other night) and you must stay around and watch the bingo caller because he is hilarious. The staff in both the pool area and the reception were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them. We left the cleaner a little tip every day to show our appreciation, he was brilliant ans so helpful. We would definitely stay again at the horizon next time we visit Goa (hopefully at the end of the year). All in all 10/10 for this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beverleyconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

The hotel has been ok, but the rooms require a revamp.
When we were at the hotel, a photo shoot was ongoing to capture snapshots for the hotels website. The Pool area is very well maintained and is close to the management's heart and its USP.
Concerns:
Room:
- We had a pool facing room which was the only good thing about it.
- The kitchen sink area was not seggregated;
- the drawers in wardrobe were without channels and unusable;
- cable service on TV was bad quality;
Service:
- Although the towels were being changed every day, i doubt the bedsheets were being changed.
- My wife is vegetarian and apart from toasts, the buffet breakfast did not offer anything that she could rely on (there used to be vegetarian stuff like steamed tomatoes, or fruits or corn flakes, but unfortunately it didnt interest her); Visitors with package including another meal, could have asked for other vegetarian stuff like Paranthas in breakfast, So recommend to go for a MAP package.
- My friend also had a hard time trying to get his baby's food cooked in the kitchen. He even had an arguement with the staff over it, which is terrible considering that it was for a baby.
- i had asked for the baby cot in the room (which the hotel website showed as a value add feature) but was not provided with the same. Guess it was just for display.

Considering its distance from the beach (around 800 metres), they could have arranged for shuttle drops to the beach, but they did not oblige.

All in all, an average stay at the hotel - considering its rating, and the expectation we had from it after paying a decent amount.

Room Tip: Ask for Pool side room, since the pool area is the heart of the hotel and taken good care of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nature_lover04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This was our first trip to Goa. The hotel is set back from a very busy main road and around a 15 minute walk to the beach, we were in room 112 which is more like a suite. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and bed linen daily. We spent most of our days on the beach however, when we were there the sunbeds were in limited supply due to long term guests who appeared to be reserving beds both in the sun and shade (although the management were trying to address this).
This hotel is a good base from which to explore Calangute, Baga and Candolim.

Room Tip: Our room in the main block was a suite and we were told all are the same type
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SharonBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

this was my first time to goa. the staff were very friendly and the main meals were excellent. wish i had eaten in the hotel more often. good value and service and food as good as anything you can buy. the hotel is up a side road just off the main road which is very very busy. once inside the hotel grounds its like being in a oasis amongst the maddening crown. peace at last. would stay at this hotel again if i returned to Goa. that says it all. the beds are hard but all of them are like this apparantly. very clean though and sheets changed regularly.

Room Tip: room 315 at the side. got sun all afternoon up to about 6pm. pool balconies didnt get any. this is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARYgal g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

First visit to Goa. Great hotel in good quiet location off the main road. Friendly and helpful staff who couldn't do enough for you. Great eggs for breakfast, cooked just how you like Sets you up for morning on beach.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

As a direct result of reading reviews on here, we stayed at the Hotel Horizon on our first visit to Goa, just got back today. Well, we couldn't have hoped for any more. Firstly there is the friendliest security guard in the world to greet you in the evening and wave you off at night. The two lads on reception speak excellent English and are willing to help you in any way they can. We had a room on the ground floor facing the pool. It was a good size with a balcony you can seat four people on. The whole place is very clean, with the rooms being cleaned daily, linen and towels changed and fridge re-stocked. Powerfull aircon that on occasion I had to turn down becuase I was getting a bit chilly. The breakfasts are very nice, and the waiters are polite and helpful. It far exceeded our expectations, and when we return to Goa we'll be staying there again. I would recommend eating at De Baga Deck, on the Baga road opposite Subway. The best curry we had during our stay, and very reasonably priced. The buckingham beach shack at the start of Baga beach is very good too, really good food, excellent service and the friendliest staff you could imagine. To get there walk down the side of De Baga Deck, then when you have just passed the Farenheit hotel there is a path on the right that leads you to the beach. BRILLIANT!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

we stayed at this lovely hotel whilst on our holiday in goa, the hotel was beautiful, clean and had everything we needed and close to everything we wanted.. A short walk to the beach, and all the shops and a lovely stroll towards baga beach. The staff were excellent and we made some wonderful friends here. If you fancy a nice day at the pool then the staff are there to help at the bar and drinks on tap for you.. love it and we'l be staying there again when we go back to goa..

Room Tip: use the laundry service the turn around is super fast and clothes brought back ironed and packed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shadymill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.1 mi away
Lambana Resort
Lambana Resort
#34 of 119 in Calangute
170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#17 of 119 in Calangute
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#33 of 119 in Calangute
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 119 in Calangute
1,010 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#8 of 119 in Calangute
624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tangerine Resort
Tangerine Resort
#44 of 119 in Calangute
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon

Address: Porba Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Calangute
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: £44 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting strip of Calangute, Horizon is perfect for holidaymakers of all ages who look for high standards of service right in the heart of the resort centre. This attractive complex is set in an excellent location, within easy reach of local amenities and the beach. The air-conditioned rooms have twin/double beds, wardrobes, TV sets and fridges, with en-suite bathrooms and balconies. Besides visiting its in-house multi-cuisine restaurant, guests also have the option of visiting the nearby shacks on the beach for further food and leisure options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Calangute
Horizon Hotel Goa
Horizon Beach Resort Goa
Horizon Calangute
Horizon Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing