We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, Good Location, Clean Pool”
Review of Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Horizon
Ranked #30 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed in first week of April 2014. Hotel is situated near to the market, but is peaceful as it is located 100 m inside the main road. Beach is at walking distance of 5 minutes. Pool is well maintained. Rooms are clean. You may want to prefer a pool facing room. Hotel is full of Russians. Breakfast was according to them only, e.g., Eggs, toast, juice, 1 fruit, cornflakes, etc. No Indian food in breakfast. Staff is polite. They entertained our request for pool facing room on first floor. No complaints as such.

Room Tip: First Floor, Pool Facing, Room 308 was good...got sun light in morning
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jogindersingh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Horizon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

An excellent place to stay while enjoying the beauty of Goa. This is not any "5 star" hotel but you would not feel any lacking in services. Great team of staffs..very helpful.All basic and important amenities are there and the best part was their food...So tasty and at extremely reasonable prices.
Their poolside bar is icing on the cake..you would love chilling in the pool with bottles of beer/breezer without bothering too much of the bill..as their prices are very reasonable (only 10-15 rs higher than the market, which you wont mind as you get all of it delivered right in your hand in the pool).
Its just 2-3 minutes away from the Calangute beach..you can walk there too. There are so many shops/eatery nearby, so you can also get all required stuffs too. Best is.. to hire a bike and enjoy "GOA" .
You can easily stay there for a week

Room Tip: Pool facing...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ravi Ranjan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Goa, last time we stayed all inclusive at The Santiago hotel, which we loved. This time we we B&B there's Too many good places to eat. The Horizon is off the main road down a lane, it's about 300 yards from the crossroads where local buses will take you all over very cheaply 10 to 30 rupee's to most places. Your also about 200 yards the other way from the Baga beach road, which has some great restaurants, bars and clubs. There are cash machines within 100 yards.

The Hotel itself is nothing special to look at, it has a pool area with bar, sun hits only about half of this area and only for 4 or 5 hours, there isn't many sun beds but when we were there they were never full. Let's face it you don't come all this way just to lie in the sun! Rooms are large, you get a kitchen area (table sink and fridge) large bedroom and shower room or wet room, the shower water runs past the toilet and sink to the drain, not a big deal but floor gets slippery?The rooms have old furniture and firm beds, air conditioning works well, fridge is stocked daily and you get a bill each day for what you drank, make full use of it, it's really good value.
Breakfast was fine, eggs anyway you want, toast, beans and fruit, tea coffee and fruit juice a bit more choice would be nice but no complaints. As for the staff, they were fantastic. Always helpful and pleased to see you, they really do make the difference from hotel being good to the hotel being great!
Would we come back to this hotel? Yes
To finish, this Hotel is in a great location and is surprisingly quiet for that location, the rooms are large with balcony (if a little dated) food is fine and drink is good value. Its highly placed on Trip Advisor for good reason. Try it you won't be disappointed!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Eremis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

3rd time staying at the Horizon, we've never stayed anywhere else in Goa, and after this trip I know why. Previously its been "better the devil you know" but after speaking to several couples who've been coming for years on end and stayed just about everywhere, when they say it's the best they've known it has to be pretty good and everyone agrees what makes the place extra special is the staff. Bar staff, waiters, reception staff and room lads are all top notch. It was a real family atmosphere, everyone chatting with each other with about 75% Brits.

The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean. A/C and a big ceiling fan that kept us cool, we just left the fan on at night because it was too cold otherwise. Thanks to Deelip our room boy who kept it immaculate with clean sheets and towels every day. He also kept my fridge topped up with beer, you can buy a crate of 12 at a discounted price and he put a few of those in throughout the fortnight as we got the sun on our balcony late in the day after it had gone from the pool so went up and had a drink.
The pool area is great, not many beds but because it loses the sun earlyish (I think about 4pm) most people go to the beach so it's not usually a problem getting a bed. I'm not a massive sun worshipper so there's plenty for me around the pool.

The lads who work there are great, special mention to Charlie who really made our holiday, always explaining about the food and bringing us drinks when we wanted so we didn't have to move. he's a credit to the hotel and I hope they realise his value because everybody loves him.
The breakfast is eggs any way you want, with a choice of something else (tomatoes, beans, mushrooms, potatoes etc on rotation) tea, coffee, cereal, porridge, yoghurt those types of things. Totally nice we stayed for breakfast every day.

The food in the hotel excellent, seriously, people who think it's ok must have just stuck to toasties, burgers etc. The local food and chinese section (chilli chicken is amazing) was as good as anywhere. We ate in a couple of nights, once having lobster and it was possibly one on the nicest things I've eaten, and once having crab which was almost as good. They remove all the meat from the shell, cook it in a massala or anything you like, then put it back so there's no trying to dig all the meat out. Totally amazing!! We're big foodies and ate at some of the nicest restaurants but the food here is up there.
I feared the worst when the wifi was £6.70 for 2 weeks, but amazed when it was almost as good as ours at home!! Perfectly good for facetime or skype and the browsing was ideal.
The location is down a track away from the high street which is a blessing really when you consider how the Indians love their horns. There's a few Brit bars and some lovely restaurants right on your doorstep. We either had lunch in the hotel or at the Rock cafe over the road on the high street which was also absolutely great. On a night we got a rickshaw or a cab out and about and ate at some of the best restaurants North Goa has to offer.
Overall an excellent hotel, I really can't praise it highly enough when you read about other regular Brit haunts like the Osbourne, you really are glad you chose here. It's not the Ritz, but perfect for what we want. Thanks a lot guys, we'll be back!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter at night and early morning.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hookan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I've lost count of the number of visits to this hotel, it's become our 2nd home & the staff are the key to making it feel that way. It's basic by European standards but you really could not ask for more. Most people prefer the pool view rooms but we always have a back facing room which is a bit more private & has views over a more natural Goa - take your pick. If they could improve service from the waiting staff this would get 5 stars plus! I see a couple of reviews mention a lack of a lift - that's not true, there is a small but adequate lift giving access to most rooms.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank FarAwayFromHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was my 2nd time in goa but 1st to the Horizon.My boyfriend has been 8 times but this was also his 1st visit to the Horizon.We thought the hotel was basic,with hard mattrasses,but brilliant staff.The sheets and towels were changed every day.With towel art left on the bed,it made us smile when we went to our room.The pool area was good and we enjoyed our daily swim.The food in the hotel was nice,ample breakfast,eggs,toast,bean,sausage,porridge,cereal,varied during the week but always eggs,with one or two items above.We found it noisey on a morning with the cleaners starting early,sweeping around the pool and moving sunbeds,dogs barking,and people slamming doors.The lack of black out curtains made us wake up early anyway,but you dont go on holiday to stay in bed all day.Our time at the Horizon was enjoyable and would stay again,infact we are looking at going back in november.

Room Tip: Pool view 1st or 2nd floor as no lifts so wouldnt want higher.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevanali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

3rd time in goa and defo best hotel staff brill all of them my partner was ill they got doc 4 me and made sure i was ok wile he was ill nothin is 2 much trouble had a gd laugh with em every day room was gd ckleaned every day outside taxis was there all the time cictan was ar driver and very knowalble about the country wen u driven about all in all a very gd hotel and facilities defo go bk

Room Tip: ask 4 1 over lookin pool or ud b on bk and not nice view
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.4 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#29 of 116 in Calangute
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#17 of 116 in Calangute
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lambana Resort
Lambana Resort
#43 of 116 in Calangute
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#36 of 116 in Calangute
253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kingstork Beach Resort
Kingstork Beach Resort
#19 of 116 in Calangute
253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#46 of 116 in Calangute
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon

Address: Porba Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Calangute
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: £24 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting strip of Calangute, Horizon is perfect for holidaymakers of all ages who look for high standards of service right in the heart of the resort centre. This attractive complex is set in an excellent location, within easy reach of local amenities and the beach. The air-conditioned rooms have twin/double beds, wardrobes, TV sets and fridges, with en-suite bathrooms and balconies. Besides visiting its in-house multi-cuisine restaurant, guests also have the option of visiting the nearby shacks on the beach for further food and leisure options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Calangute
Horizon Hotel Goa
Horizon Beach Resort Goa
Horizon Calangute
Horizon Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing