We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Booked a three week stay at this hotel in late January early February. Should have arrived at 8.30am but due to Thomson’s 10 hour delay we arrived at our hotel about 9.00pm. Still the reception was helpful and friendly and we had a quick evening meal in the hotel.

Hotel rooms are spacious and clean, with CTV, fridge and shower. Air con was not very good, we had to complain after the first night as it was sooooo noisy and not much good. Bed was hard (we like that) and the linen was changed regularly.

Would I recommend the hotel restaurant? afraid not, the Abracadabra Persian grill next door (owned by the hotel) was very poor with a very limited menu. The restaurant attached to the main hotel was OK but average. The staff in the bar and restaurant were very friendly and attentive and made our stay enjoyable.
Hotel grounds are limited, we booked a garden view but overlooked the reception and back car park. But we had two balconies the other balcony overlooked Holiday Street and we enjoyed many evenings with a drink and watching the market traders across the street, they too are very friendly, highly recommended.
The only negative I can raise about the hotel is the pool. It has to be one of the dirtiest pools we have used on our holidays, but after a very hot day relaxing in the sun you just have to dip in. The pool was, I think cleaned once while we stayed but I did complain twice to reception asking that the pool be given a chlorine shock, it never happened. Shame as you had to have a shower after leaving the pool as you could not see the bottom through the murk.
So if you are looking for a budget hotel on Holiday Street, near the beach you can do a lot worse than book the Ondas do Mar Beach Resort

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the pool. The hotel is split in 2, I believe the other rooms are the deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian-Jacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    119
    84
    29
    35
See reviews for
103
105
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hotel is very close to calangute beach (5 mins walk). Rooms are fine but restaurant in hotel is not good. They served non veg in veg dishes :(.

Room service is poor if you ask for any food items in room.

Swimming pool is good.

Room Tip: Dont opt for any lunch/dinner option in package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vibhor555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We traveled in February-2014 as a group of friends to Goa for a 2N/3D and chose this resort as other good ones were sold out. At first, this resort may not suit well for families with kids. It is quite average in terms of the rooms and the facilities. The Rooms are spacious, but quite old and need some serious renovation. The good thing is the proximity to the beach as well as quite close to the main road leading to the Baga, Aguda and Candolim.
We were first greeted with some semi-cooked items ordered for room service immediately on our arrival. We sent it back and received pretty much the same with 3/4th cooked.
The breakfast was very average, not much of choices. There is a small swimming pool.
No complaints as we were mostly out of this place roaming around in Goa.

The worst part came when we were prepared to leave. My friend's BMW car side mirrors were stolen out of the private parking lot of this property right in front of the reception. The person managing the resort, at best felt sorry, but nothing much.

Overall, a place okay to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manikris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The place is situated close to the calangute beach, which is a 5mins walk from this place. The overall ambience is pleasant. Rooms are not well appointed and very very basic. The Villa style rooms are good for a family, which will have a private sitting cum dining space and bedrooms in duplex style. For the money charged, I expected better amenities, but I will still recommend this place for proximity to beach, overall ambience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midas1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We Absolutely Loved It!!!!!! We absolutely adored everything about this place! The staff is very attentive, very friendly, and all about customer service. Had A Wonderful Time At Your Resort, We will be back and we will refer all my friends to your Great Resort!! I would like to Thank all the staff at this time for the GREAT job they all do to run this magnificent Resort.

Room Tip: Hi everyone! Choose this best Hotel for spend your valuable time in Goa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ammus33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days (3feb-5feb). There are few things which disappointed us were breakfast and pool timings. Breakfast offered was pathetic for all the three days. They closed it exactly at 10 AM. They didn't allow us in swimming pool after 6 PM even for 5 mins. They could have also given few basic services in rooms like coffee machine etc.Though these are some bad offerings, the location of resort and cleanliness of rooms made it a nice stay for us.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank VijayGoel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in ondas do mar for 3 nights and it was a pleasant one. The Calangute beach is 5 min walk away. Room was clean and the service was good. Staff were friendly and cooperative.
Would recommend this resort for families.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dillal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#100 of 110 in Calangute
157 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#92 of 110 in Calangute
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#16 of 110 in Calangute
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#26 of 110 in Calangute
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Resort Goa
Osborne Resort Goa
#39 of 110 in Calangute
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Epitacio's Hotel
Epitacio's Hotel
#56 of 110 in Calangute
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ondas do Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ondas do Mar Beach Resort

Property: Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Address: Holiday Street, Gauravaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ondas do Mar Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Ondas do mar' which in Portuguese means ‘waves of the sea’. It is a delightful beach resort in close proximity of just 300 meters from the beach . It has 30 air-conditioned, well appointed and comfortable rooms which is aesthetically designed with vibrant colours and large open space with balcony's facing the road and the swimming pool which gives one feeling of living in a Portuguese villa. We are a budget category property.There are two wings, one is old wing(Phase-I)(Std rooms) and the new wing(Phase-II)(Dlx rooms) are situated. Both has a swimming pool.Dlx rooms are spacious (55 sqmt) and overlooking the pool or the garden whereas Std rooms are (35sqmt) and has a road or the garden view. Both the wings are separated from each other. Buffet breakfast is served in the New wing(Phase-II. Property has two restaurents "Chef-e-tte" Poolside restaurent serving multi-cusine & "Abracadabra" serving Persian charcoal Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ondas do Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ondas Do Mar Beach Hotel Calangute
Hotel Ondas Do Mar
Ondas Do Mar Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing