We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Monica Resorte
Ranked #28 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Visakhapatnam, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice budget resort”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at santa monica beach resort for two days. This is a nice resort with really nice rooms. we got one room with hall and kitchen. sofa was there to sit and relax. Most of the rooms of this resort are pool facing. Breakfast is available as buffet (bread ,butter, jam and tea) Swimming pool was not so good , the water was dirty enough that we were not able to see the pool floor so we decided not to enter the pool. Cold drinking water is available all the time but only at ground floor. We had to fill our bottles ourselves. When we asked to stay for one more day, then the receptionist told us Rs. 1500 for 3 persons in room, next day when we went to confirm it the receptionist was changed and he asked for Rs. 2000. wi-fi is available @ rs 110/hr. Its better to go out and use internet cafes. At parking area there was no shade. Any way in terms of facilities, location and budget, its good.

Room Tip: Rooms at top floor are good but not in summer. Also if you wants to take 2-wheeler for day or two,yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnanD06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    97
    46
    21
    29
See reviews for
67
118
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had a worst experience with the staff and the manager of Santa Monica. Even though the rooms and facilities are not too bad and they are average but the way they talk to visitors is terrible.

They made us wait for more than 1 hour to allot us rooms and we had booked 3 double rooms.
Next ever, worst rule is that swimming pool is open only from 10 AM to 6 PM. No visitor will be in a resort in this peak hours, as they want to go for sight seeing. The same happened with us and when we want to enter pool other than the above mentioned timings, they didn't allowed us.

Breakfast was included in the package of the resort and the menu includes only Bread & Jam/Butter. Any other item should be ordered from the restaurant and they too expensive.

AC in one of the room is not working and even upon complaining the same there was no response from hotel team.

Finally, would like to suggest Hotel team to control there mouth and be polite to visitors.

Room Tip: Opt for Pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rlsampath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santamonicaresort, General Manager at Santa Monica Resorte, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review,
As a esteemed guest we would like to thank you for choosing Santa Monica as your holiday destination,
However we would like to be a little more polite as the staff will never go out of their way to back answer the guest, it would have been even more better if you could ask to see the General Manager of the Hotel as he is always available 24 x 7,
Regarding the breakfast it is mentioned to all our guest as to what is inclusive in the room rent and the pool timing are displayed in BOLD for all the guest to see,
we do remember you that you had stayed in a room where a brand new panasonic AC is fitted and and the ac is being checked time to time by the maintainence staff,
Last but not the least you had the opportunity to see the Manager of the Hotel asn he is the leader of his team, but did not grab it,
However it was also brought to the notice of the Manager that you wanted to have your drinks served to you while you were in the pool, which is a hazard to other guest a board for the same is displayed,
We the staff of Santa Monica Resort would once again like to thank you for your valuable time to wrie the review,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Problem for staying extra person.AC provided in bedroom and extra bed provided in hall. So extra person has no AC... Breakfast is funny, please don't mention complimentary breakfast.. Its a big joke... Rooms were clean and beautiful atmosphere... Overall avg experiance...

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaswanth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Location and the outer look of the resort is wonderful with good and clean rooms but the manager at the reception is Impolite and discourteous. He has no interest in customer satisfaction and totally not fit for his job. I had a feeling that everyone in the staff had become impolite as their manager itself was that way even though they seemed nice people.

If I owned this place, i would immediately fire this guy for the betterment of the resort.

The rooms and in good condition and not a bad stay however they provide only butter toast or jam toast in the name of continental breakfast.

All in all...it could have been better

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazzFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had booked hotel in advance only for one night.Room was average but clean.Swimming pool was good.Breakfast was not up to the mark .They provide only butter toast or jam toast in the name of complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjalijain09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The worst experience ever. We have asked for one extra bed, they hav nt provided that and charged for d extra bed. Staffs r gud... bt manager is a cheater... so if u r planning to stay here be careful.. TV was nt working, pool is nt hiegynic...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santamonicaresort, General Manager at Santa Monica Resorte, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hello Sarni!
Greetings from Santa Monica Resort,
Thank you for your response,
We would Like to bring to your kind notice that the hotel has some policies of charging for the extra beds which all the rooms have and it was unfortunate that you and your friends were not allowed a night visitor ( Female) into your room by the security of the Hotel as the room booked by you was for only 2 persons,
it would be kind enough if you had met the Manager of the Hotel and get things sorted out for you....so very unfortunate that you haven't even met the Manager before you could comment.......as the Manager of the Hotel is the leader which the Hotel staff is very proud of.
Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Badly maintained. Rooms and bathrooms are not clean. Breakfast is a joke. Overall would not recommend this hotel for anyone planning on staying in Goa. I expected AC in the entire room but it was only in the bedroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sangamesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.4 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#14 of 110 in Calangute
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Resort Goa
Osborne Resort Goa
#38 of 110 in Calangute
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#37 of 110 in Calangute
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Horizon
Horizon
#27 of 110 in Calangute
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#100 of 110 in Calangute
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#90 of 110 in Calangute
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Monica Resorte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Monica Resorte

Property: Santa Monica Resorte
Address: Poriat | Tivai vaddo, near new football ground, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Calangute
#10 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Monica Resorte 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"If Goa is a near perfect winter holiday destination, Resorte Santa Monica should be your next choice. Comfortable and friendly, it is excellently located in a cul-de-sac, off the main Calangute-Candolim road. Not too far from the well-known St. Anthony Chapel in Calangute, yet close enough to the dozens of pubs, eateries and shops that dot the landscape. Here Goa's special local character can best be appreciated .The world famous Calangute beach is a mere 500 meters away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Monica Resorte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Resorte Calangute
Santa Monica Resorte Hotel Calangute
Santa Monica Resorte Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing