We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible food. Bad service. Avoid.”
Review of The Rice Bowl

The Rice Bowl
Ranked #152 of 413 Restaurants in Calangute
Price range: US$200 - US$450
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible food. Bad service. Avoid.”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Horrible food. Crabs stinking, half cooked . No service. Paid bill of rs 1800 and left hungry. Big time avoid .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nihar_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for Money and Excellent food”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We visited a few shacks and some restaurants in Calangute. All that we received were high bills and little food with no good taste. However, our experience with Rice Bowl was different. Excellent sea food within budget rates of 450 to 700 rupees. At the shacks, the same order would have cost us over a thousand rupees.
Whenever I visit Calangute, Rice Bowl would be a must visit for me.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melwyn_Fernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We ate here several times and my favourite dish was the lemon chicken, curries are good too, friendly staff.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank holiday013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good value”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by a couple we met, so we tried it the next day. The service was good even thought they were busy. We decided to go for a starter of Malaysian prawns in sweet chilli sauce, they were really cheap to us RS180 which is just over £2.00 and they were delicious and large and lots of them, we would have had one to share if known. My partner went for sweet and sour chicken, I went for fish masala curry. The food was lovely we both had rice and a nan bread and several beers and it was only about £12.00 for 2, we were really stuffed full !!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockchicanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rice Bowl also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to The Rice Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing