We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely lovely!”
Review of Mantheven Homes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantheven Homes
Ranked #81 of 205 Calangute B&B and Inns
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely!”
Reviewed 4 October 2007

We first found out about Mantheven Homes on IndiaMike.com from a member. Right from the time I first corresponded with them, Max and Jessica were warm and prompt.

On arrival, we fell in love with the impeccably clean and snug apartment furnished with all necessary amenities. The interiors are simple, tasteful, uncluttered, modern and well-appointed.

The apartment can be divided into four areas:

1. A kitchen cum veranda area with a wash basin, cooking platform with gas stove, cooking and eating utensils, fridge and sink. A large cupboard with hangers is also provided. If there are more than 2 people occupying the apartment, a single bed and couch are laid out here.

2. Bathroom with hot and cold shower and European toilet. The plumbing is good and there were no leaky taps or stagnating bath water!

3. A bedroom with a double bed, bedside closet, television, two cane chairs and a table. There is no air-con.

4. A balcony overlooking the lovely garden.

Bed and bath linen are provided. The apartments are serviced everyday upon request.

Mantheven is located in a quiet back lane but is a five minute walk away from all the great places on Holiday Street (It is bang next to Little Italy, a minute away from Kerkar's and five minutes away from A Reverie). There are six apartments on rent altogether and Max and Jessica occupy the seventh one.

The fact that it is self catering worked brilliantly for us as that allowed us to get out and explore eating out options as opposed to ordering room service.

Though Max let us park our car in their driveway, you also have the option of leaving your vehicle it in the lane in front during the day. If you are not using a vehicle, it's a good idea to carry a torch as it can get quite dark at night.

Max and Jessica are the best hosts you can hope for. They are friendly yet non-interfering and gladly help out with assorted Goa-related queries. I have stayed in all kinds of hotels, resorts and "home stays", but Mantheven by far scores the highest on my scale. It is also extremely affordable (especially because we stayed in the off season) and offers value for money even with peak season rates.

I would definitely love to go back from a longer stay!

  • Liked — IndiaMike.com
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ItchyFeet_Blore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2007

I was taking my 7-month old baby to India, so was very concerned about finding the right place to stay, the large rooms and separate kitchen (with kettle, fridge, gas stove and cooking utencils) peruaded me to try this place.

I'm extremely pleased I did, Max & Jess were very friendly and the rooms were perfect, there is also a great backroad/footpath to a quiet part of the beach, the back route also avoids all the touts and it's only a 5 minute walk to the beach.

Jess has some great advice about places to eat.

2 adults and a baby need a lot of room, we were not dissapointed and always felt comfortable, we had a ground floor place and had our own table and chairs outside out room and next to the wonderful gardens, my baby just loved playing on the grass (and talking to Jess).

Jess has 2 girls who help her, they're wonderful and friendly.

There is no swimming pool, but there are a few hotels near by that have a swimming pool next to their restaurant, you can have a meal and a swim, though the sea is great and our baby loved her dips.

Mantheven Homes do not do any meals, this was another attraction of the place, no pressure to eat at their place, but they know some good places to eat, and give us some great advice about food for our baby.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — VFM, friendliness, large rooms, relaxing
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank steven_ber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2007

Have just returned after spending 3 weeks at Mantheven homes.
It was excellent. Max and Jessica were brilliant hosts and nothing was to much trouble for them. The rooms are spacious and kept spotlessly clean. The location is very peaceful yet there is a variety of resturants and bars in the immediate area. The beach itself is only a 10 minute walk. We will definitely stay again.
Alex Sue and Jamie. .

  • Liked — cleanliness good size rooms
  • Disliked — No faults
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiniMe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2006

I have never wrote a review on a Hotel or guest house, but feel i should write one for Mantheven Homes as it was my first trip to Goa and had been told that lots of accomadation in Goa is very basic and not always clean, so i didn't expect too much. How shocked was i when i arrived, the appartment was immaculate, very modern, plenty of room, a lovely bathroom and great balcony, which looked over a lovely garden. Max and Jessica could not do enough for us, they made us very welcome. My 2 sons loved the place also as they could watch satelite TV, play in the garden, but best of all they loved the dog (summer)as he shook hands with them. The Little Italy Restaurant is next door so if you didn't want to go to the beach you could use their lovely pool (if you bought a drink).
I feel if you intend to stay here, then book early as they will become really busy, and they deserve to be as i could not fault Mantheven Homes and have booked to stay next year.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gateway2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 March 2006

The Mantheven Homes are great apartments, they are spacious and tastefully decorated. They are very clean. The grounds are beautiful, lovely garden ,lots of flowers and great lighting at night. The shower is good! The kitchen is good, the bed is comfortable but the best part of staying at Mantheven is having Max and Jessica as your host. It's like going home to visit the folks! You couldn't stay in a better place and it's quiet at night. I'm missing them both already, I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 February 2006

We stayed for 11 nights ,great place to have as a base. Jessica and Max are lovely people.Excellent location. Very clean and tidy. Lovely garden and dog. Bob

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2005

We had the pleasure of staying at Mantheven Homes
In November this year.
I have travelled to Goa on several occassions and usually stayed in the large resorts. This was the first time in a self contained smaller property.It was wonderful. We have never felt so comfortable, safe and welcome as we did with Max and Jess the hosts at Mantheven and Summer the fearless watchdog.
You step out of the chaos of Calungute and into a calm oasis at Mantheven. The apartments were clean and comfortable and had everything required to make
our stay very easy.With the property intimate enough to feel like you are staying with friends or family.
Max and Jess are a wealth of knowledge and will graciously try to help with anything you need .
Definately a gem worth visiting .

  • Stayed November 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
3.9 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Vie Woods
La Vie Woods
#1 of 205 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tina's Inn Boutique Guest Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Veera Strand Park Serviced Apartments
0.1 mi away
Little Italy
Little Italy
#59 of 205 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sea Gull
Hotel Sea Gull
#68 of 205 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantheven Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantheven Homes

Property: Mantheven Homes
Address: E1 248 Mantheven Homes Holiday Street | Next to Little Italy Restaurant, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mantheven Homes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious 6 AC Apartments For Rent, with full furnished room. 5 Min walking distance to the beach. Self Catering with fridge, Gas-Stoves & all cooking utensils.Bathroom with 24 hrs hot water facilities. 3 Persons can Accommodate comfortablely. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantheven Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantheven Homes Hotel Calangute
Mantheven Homes Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing