We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mantheven Homes”
Review of Mantheven Homes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantheven Homes
Ranked #70 of 210 Calangute B&B and Inns
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Mantheven Homes”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Have just returned from 4 weeks at Mantheven Homes, where we were welcomed by the owner, the lovely Jessica, who couldn't have been more helpful. The small apartment was just what we wanted, two large rooms, one a bedroom - containing large double bed, table and chairs and tv - the other containing a single bed, wardrobe and small kitchenette (sink, fridge, gas burner, electric kettle, cooking utensils, etc). The wet room was large and we had hot water whenever we wanted. The bedroom opens up through 2 french doors on to the balcony, where we ate breakfast overlooking the large, well kept garden and watching the birds and squirrels.

As mentioned in other reviews, there is no air conditioning, but large fans in both rooms kept us cool enough (and I don't really like a/c anyway). Every morning around 8.00 a.m. a boy comes along the lane behind the apartments and you can buy fresh rolls and milk, so didn't even have to go to the supermarket! Rooms are cleaned daily, with fresh linen/towels every 3 days. You also have use of a washing machine/spin dryer on the roof terrace, which came in handy for washing the beach towels on a regular basis.

We have been to Goa around 18 times or more now and this was the first time we hadn't stayed in a hotel, and how much better it was. I know you can rent more luxurious apartments with more facilities, but this had everything we wanted - after all, how much time do you actually stay in a room when you have the sun, sea and sand just a 5 minute walk away? Mantheven is in a quiet location and, although next to Little Italy restaurant, and hearing the pots and pans being washed on the odd occasion, we enjoyed the peace offered. In fact, the most noise we experienced was the quite noisy young indians staying in the house next door over the New Year period!

Would we go back Well, we've already booked for next year and will staying for longer too!!

Thanks for everything Jessica and look forward to seeing you in 2013 - we can't wait.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The place has a pure Goan feel to it, Lazy and beautiful and is run by a genuine happy, warm and friendly Goan couple

For happening places you can go around 1-2 Km and for a quite beach there is a side exit and the beach is walkable.. Nice place, dont expect luxurious and you'll be fine

No pool, No AC, but very good value for money. You take a call :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjaymohta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

i went along with my frds .When you go to goa, u got lot of places to see ,so time spent in the room will be very less. so Non-Ac wont be a prob..
Only 5 apartments avaialble.. so u have to book early ..

Pricing is very cheap compared to other places in calangute

5 min walk to condolim beach

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Goa during xmas has crazy rates in hotels so therefore decided on a budget place.Manthaven homes has been a great find.Though the rooms are not air conditioned and the bathroom is basic and small the rest of the room is large with a kitchennete and balcony and can easily sleep 4.Location is right on Candolim with plenty of reataurents and close to the beach.Jessica the owner is also very welcoming

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinky71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Myself and partner have been coming to Goa for the last 6 years but have always stayed in hotels. This time we decided to go self catering has it is so cheap to eat out. It is colose to the main road and the beach in a lovely quiet area. Jess the owner was very welcoming and could'nt do enough for you. She is one brilliant host. The room was very clean and spacious (better than most hotels). We cooked our breakfasts on the small cooker provided and ate on the balcony overlooking the gardens. There is a washing machine on the roof, which was excellent. We will definately be coming back next year. Would not go anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Security01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

we have been going to goa on and off for the last 15 years and stayed in various accomodationThis time we were recommended to stay at mantheven homes and we were definitely not disappointed. the location is excellent, close to the beach and the main road. We arrived early morning but Jess was up to meet us. She is a lovely lady who can't do enough for you. The rooms were very spacious and well maintained and we were able to make our breakfast every day and sit on the balcony eating it overlooking the lovely well kept gardens. If we decide to return to Goa this time I would definitely go back to Mantheven. Thank you Jess.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

When our group of 9 friends decided to celebrate new year in goa for four days ,we went looking for accomodation and found Mantheven Trip Advisor.It fitted our needs perfectly (Closer to the beach,Good reviews,Decent prices ).We mailed Jessica along with a host of B&B's and hers was the most swift and particular reply.We could only get 2 apartments which accommodates 3 in each comfortably but we managed to sneak 3 more of us with extra mattresses and linen she provided.She charged 300 rs each night for extra persons exceeding 6 and we found it a good deal.

Coming to the apartments as all the previous reviews said ,they are furbished with TV ,Fridge and basic cooking utensils and well maintained.Jessica is very welcoming if you follow the rules and even when my friends made noise which annoyed the foreigners residing in the close by apartments ,she didnt get anger at us much and painstakingly requested us each time .Over all its a very good experience for us and i would recommend it for every one who is seeking budget ,home like atmosphere near Calangute beach.
Only Cons are lack of swimming pool and AC for people who seek it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paraa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.0 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#45 of 113 in Calangute
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingstork Beach Resort
Kingstork Beach Resort
#17 of 113 in Calangute
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#7 of 113 in Calangute
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sea Gull
Hotel Sea Gull
#73 of 210 in Calangute
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goan Heritage
Hotel Goan Heritage
#9 of 210 in Calangute
333 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#95 of 113 in Calangute
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantheven Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantheven Homes

Property: Mantheven Homes
Address: E1 248 Mantheven Homes Holiday Street | Next to Little Italy Restaurant, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mantheven Homes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious 6 AC Apartments For Rent, with full furnished room. 5 Min walking distance to the beach. Self Catering with fridge, Gas-Stoves & all cooking utensils.Bathroom with 24 hrs hot water facilities. 3 Persons can Accommodate comfortablely. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantheven Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantheven Homes Hotel Calangute
Mantheven Homes Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing