We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Manthevan Homes”
Review of Mantheven Homes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantheven Homes
Ranked #80 of 206 Calangute B&B and Inns
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at Manthevan Homes”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This review has been due for almost a year now, finally got to write about it. Travelled in October 2012 with 4 friends, stayed for 2 nights in Mantheven and had an awesome time. The place was even better than it looks in the pics and Jessica aunty was really warm and helpful. It was our first time in Goa and the experience was great. The place is clean, well maintained and equipped with all basic amenities and close to supermarkets in Calangute. We rented 2 bikes on the road to the house- i think it was Holiday Street. The Candolim/Calangute beach is also very close (5 mins walk- take the lane from the back of the house); we realized this quite late only on our last day much to our regret. On our last day aunty allowed us to check out late as our bus was leaving only in the evening. That time she was planning to sell off the property- so not sure if it is still functioning. Hope she is still there, would love to go back again! (*Not for people who are looking for a hotel experience- mainly for people who love self service and a clean place to stay)

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have french windows with a balcony overlooking the garden. We had our b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prativa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This is a fantastic accommodation, and very reasonably priced. Just a 5 min walk from the beach, and couple of mins from the road.
The Little Italy restaurant serves probably the best Italian cuisine i have had in India.

The rooms themselves are very good, with everything required for a stay. Shops are also nearby if you need anything. The owner of the property stays downstairs, in case you need something, and she is very happy to help. You can rent a bike, or ask for a car rental, which the owner can arrange.

Excellent accommodation and very reasonably priced

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hydera
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I reviewed this page before I went to the trip with my wife. Since there was no online payment for this place, I kept my options open. I told Jessica (owner of the place) that I would be coming there, she was polite and kind enough when I met her just as I expected when I spoke to her before I started to Goa.

The place is located quite near to the beach (5 min walk), the area is called Calangute but it seemed to be the place between Calangute and Candolim. In our four day trip we have been to other beaches but chosen to spend most of our time in the beach near to this place where we were staying.

We were given a bedroom, kitchen with utensils and gas, a clean bathroom and maid service from 10 to 5. Dont expect room service kind of stuff, this is a feel home stay on a holiday trip. The cost of other places in this area are more than three times of what Jessica charges, Money wise, location wise, cleanliness and friendliness wise I rate this as the best. Thanks Jessica! - Santosh

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms available here, all of them facing the clean and nice lawn thats well maintai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank santoshag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I chanced upon this place while browsing through the hotels listed in tripadvisor and it turned out to be exactly what the previous guests had described it to be, it was my first goa visit and I had chosen Manthevens solely based on the reviews given by previous guests in tripadvisor, all the reviews were either "excellent" or "very good" and not a single bad/terrible review, this pretty much convinced me to go for the place. Yes as described by previous guests the place is a no frills setup in a nice location offering superb value & privacy. The apartments are spacious and well maintained, the only thing that dissapointed me was the unavailabity of washing machines for guests contrary to what was mentioned by some of the previous guests, overall I would still give it a 5/5

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sushil1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

No doubt at all.. Very well maintained by the lady.. Near to beach, backside shortcut will take you to beach within 5 mins.. The room was clean with a double bed in one room & single bed in other room.. No AC, No swimming pool..

Best budgeted place to stay for couples & friends..

Bikes can be easily parked inside the premises.. Only 2 cars can be parked at a time..

Room Tip: Corner room as it more windows..more natural light..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikhilp_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Have just returned from 4 weeks at Mantheven Homes, where we were welcomed by the owner, the lovely Jessica, who couldn't have been more helpful. The small apartment was just what we wanted, two large rooms, one a bedroom - containing large double bed, table and chairs and tv - the other containing a single bed, wardrobe and small kitchenette (sink, fridge, gas burner, electric kettle, cooking utensils, etc). The wet room was large and we had hot water whenever we wanted. The bedroom opens up through 2 french doors on to the balcony, where we ate breakfast overlooking the large, well kept garden and watching the birds and squirrels.

As mentioned in other reviews, there is no air conditioning, but large fans in both rooms kept us cool enough (and I don't really like a/c anyway). Every morning around 8.00 a.m. a boy comes along the lane behind the apartments and you can buy fresh rolls and milk, so didn't even have to go to the supermarket! Rooms are cleaned daily, with fresh linen/towels every 3 days. You also have use of a washing machine/spin dryer on the roof terrace, which came in handy for washing the beach towels on a regular basis.

We have been to Goa around 18 times or more now and this was the first time we hadn't stayed in a hotel, and how much better it was. I know you can rent more luxurious apartments with more facilities, but this had everything we wanted - after all, how much time do you actually stay in a room when you have the sun, sea and sand just a 5 minute walk away? Mantheven is in a quiet location and, although next to Little Italy restaurant, and hearing the pots and pans being washed on the odd occasion, we enjoyed the peace offered. In fact, the most noise we experienced was the quite noisy young indians staying in the house next door over the New Year period!

Would we go back Well, we've already booked for next year and will staying for longer too!!

Thanks for everything Jessica and look forward to seeing you in 2013 - we can't wait.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The place has a pure Goan feel to it, Lazy and beautiful and is run by a genuine happy, warm and friendly Goan couple

For happening places you can go around 1-2 Km and for a quite beach there is a side exit and the beach is walkable.. Nice place, dont expect luxurious and you'll be fine

No pool, No AC, but very good value for money. You take a call :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjaymohta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.4 mi away
Sonesta Inns
Sonesta Inns
#10 of 64 in Candolim
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#9 of 110 in Calangute
522 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Vie Woods
La Vie Woods
#1 of 206 in Calangute
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
#19 of 110 in Calangute
1,867 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
#2 of 110 in Calangute
729 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vila Goesa Beach Resort
Vila Goesa Beach Resort
#84 of 206 in Calangute
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantheven Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantheven Homes

Property: Mantheven Homes
Address: E1 248 Mantheven Homes Holiday Street | Next to Little Italy Restaurant, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mantheven Homes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious 6 AC Apartments For Rent, with full furnished room. 5 Min walking distance to the beach. Self Catering with fridge, Gas-Stoves & all cooking utensils.Bathroom with 24 hrs hot water facilities. 3 Persons can Accommodate comfortablely. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantheven Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantheven Homes Hotel Calangute
Mantheven Homes Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing