We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A travel oasis”
Review of Mantheven Homes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantheven Homes
Ranked #84 of 225 Calangute B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 April 2009

I booked an apartment here for 3 days, at the end of a tour through india. When i was looking through the accomodation list from home, the hotel reviews were generally poor, and then i came across Mantheven! Well, the reviews were not wrong! It is in quiet location away from the main road (but 5 mins are you are in the middle of the high street), and easy 5 minutes (if that) walk to the beach. The apartment was lovely, spacious, clean, everything worked, and Jessica was very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. In my view, Mantheven is excellent, and i would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmers541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2009

We stayed at Mantheven Homes for 4 weeks Nov/Dec 2008. We contacted Max and Jess direct to arrange our booking - this was sorted very efficiently within a couple of days. We paid a deposit via Western Union and paid the balance after being there a day or so. Our flights we booked online with Emirates - very good, as usual.

Our room was very spacious (one bedroom and a well equiped kitchen area). They were cleaned to a high standard daily and beds and towels changed after 3 days. On arrival a complimentary 5 litre bottle of water, soap, loo roll, washing up liquid and scourer are provided - after this you need to do your own shopping. The rooms look out over the very well kept garden.

We especially liked the location of Mantheven Homes - close to the beach and plenty of restaurants nearby.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Max and Jess who are very nice people and made us feel so welcome. Over the years we have stayed in various hotels or guesthouses, but Mantheven is definitely one of our favourites.

There are 6 rooms (4 up and 2 down) - you need to book early as they are very popular with repeat guests.

Thank you Allan and Judith

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aljuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

We have been to Goa on package holidays 6 times before. This was our first DIY trip. We stayed with Jessica & Max for 6 weeks, and it was "Simply the Best".
Max & Jess are so lovely. The apartments are spotless, big, and sitting on the balcony watching the birds in the garden was pure pleasure. We spent many hours out there.
I loved the location, 5 mins to beach, close to Calangute centre or Candolim. And very quiet. Perfect
Thanks for having us Max & Jess and we will definately be coming again
Sheila & Jimmy

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duckyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

My wife and I stayed in Mantheven as part of our Goa trip for Christmas. We booked over the net direct and paid a deposit via Western Union as it was over the holiday period. The appartments are very well sitauted down a quiet road that is a little dificult to find but very well placed to escape the noise and bustle of Calangute at night.
The room was very large with a comfortable bed and a balcony overlooking very beautiful, well kept gardens. The rooms are kept clean and there is an ample wet room with lots of hot water. On arrival a complimentary large water is left. The shops are so close by locally that bringing provisions in is easy. The fridge, cooking facilities and crockery etc provide a good alternative to eating out if you fancy cooking yourself. (not that we ever ate in!)

Mantheven has access to a washing machine and a baking hot terrace on the roof. The place is kept spotlessly clean and it's a very homely and safe feeling environment from which to enjoy a holiday. The beach is about 10 minutes away and is an easy and pleasant walk.

The owners, Jessica and Max, are lovely. Very helpful people and able to offer you lots of advice on where to go. They will even help you sort out taxis to nearby spice gardens etc.

Once you leave the rooms, there are lots of good quality restaurants nearby and the main strip of Calangute with lots of nightlife, the Government tourist office and shopping is either 20 minutes walk or about 5 minutes by rickshaw (about 40 rupees). We found the place great to access the vivacity of Goa but to escape to peace and quiet at night. It was the ideal compromise and offers hygenic, delightful accommodation.

Pos: clean, good value for money, near everything you need, comfortable environment.

Neg: your taxi driver may not find it at first - take the address with you and the phone number of the hotel just incase!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolidaySaaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2008

hi
We had lovely stay @ mantheven homes from 18 to 22 March.we had a big suite that was for 3 person. very nice,clean rooms. 4-5 minutes walk to beach.2 mintues walk to restaurants and bars.
the Owners were Great , helpful and very nice.our rooms had cooking devices, TV , fridge, hot & cold water. the place is very nice. also you can use the top roof terrace for evening stay.
i recommend this place to every one.
The only Pros that i mentioned was the Music from little italy restaurant that ends end of night.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank xxanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2007

We first found out about Mantheven Homes on IndiaMike.com from a member. Right from the time I first corresponded with them, Max and Jessica were warm and prompt.

On arrival, we fell in love with the impeccably clean and snug apartment furnished with all necessary amenities. The interiors are simple, tasteful, uncluttered, modern and well-appointed.

The apartment can be divided into four areas:

1. A kitchen cum veranda area with a wash basin, cooking platform with gas stove, cooking and eating utensils, fridge and sink. A large cupboard with hangers is also provided. If there are more than 2 people occupying the apartment, a single bed and couch are laid out here.

2. Bathroom with hot and cold shower and European toilet. The plumbing is good and there were no leaky taps or stagnating bath water!

3. A bedroom with a double bed, bedside closet, television, two cane chairs and a table. There is no air-con.

4. A balcony overlooking the lovely garden.

Bed and bath linen are provided. The apartments are serviced everyday upon request.

Mantheven is located in a quiet back lane but is a five minute walk away from all the great places on Holiday Street (It is bang next to Little Italy, a minute away from Kerkar's and five minutes away from A Reverie). There are six apartments on rent altogether and Max and Jessica occupy the seventh one.

The fact that it is self catering worked brilliantly for us as that allowed us to get out and explore eating out options as opposed to ordering room service.

Though Max let us park our car in their driveway, you also have the option of leaving your vehicle it in the lane in front during the day. If you are not using a vehicle, it's a good idea to carry a torch as it can get quite dark at night.

Max and Jessica are the best hosts you can hope for. They are friendly yet non-interfering and gladly help out with assorted Goa-related queries. I have stayed in all kinds of hotels, resorts and "home stays", but Mantheven by far scores the highest on my scale. It is also extremely affordable (especially because we stayed in the off season) and offers value for money even with peak season rates.

I would definitely love to go back from a longer stay!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ItchyFeet_Blore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

I was taking my 7-month old baby to India, so was very concerned about finding the right place to stay, the large rooms and separate kitchen (with kettle, fridge, gas stove and cooking utencils) peruaded me to try this place.

I'm extremely pleased I did, Max & Jess were very friendly and the rooms were perfect, there is also a great backroad/footpath to a quiet part of the beach, the back route also avoids all the touts and it's only a 5 minute walk to the beach.

Jess has some great advice about places to eat.

2 adults and a baby need a lot of room, we were not dissapointed and always felt comfortable, we had a ground floor place and had our own table and chairs outside out room and next to the wonderful gardens, my baby just loved playing on the grass (and talking to Jess).

Jess has 2 girls who help her, they're wonderful and friendly.

There is no swimming pool, but there are a few hotels near by that have a swimming pool next to their restaurant, you can have a meal and a swim, though the sea is great and our baby loved her dips.

Mantheven Homes do not do any meals, this was another attraction of the place, no pressure to eat at their place, but they know some good places to eat, and give us some great advice about food for our baby.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank steven_ber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Shelsta
Hotel Shelsta
#71 of 225 in Calangute
44 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#97 of 119 in Calangute
195 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santiago Beach Resort
Santiago Beach Resort
#28 of 119 in Calangute
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
#20 of 119 in Calangute
1,963 reviews
0.3 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#13 of 119 in Calangute
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#8 of 119 in Calangute
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantheven Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantheven Homes

Address: E1 248 Mantheven Homes Holiday Street | Next to Little Italy Restaurant, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range: £39 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mantheven Homes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious 6 AC Apartments For Rent, with full furnished room. 5 Min walking distance to the beach. Self Catering with fridge, Gas-Stoves & all cooking utensils.Bathroom with 24 hrs hot water facilities. 3 Persons can Accommodate comfortablely. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantheven Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantheven Homes Hotel Calangute
Mantheven Homes Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing