We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Neelams The Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neelams The Grand
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is at walking distance from calangute beach. Thoguh I won't recommend calangute beach (it is overcrowded), this hotel is really value for money. Balcony of all rooms are pool facing. Rooms are clean and hygiene. Food (including breakfast) is good with lot of variety.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrishanSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    222
    96
    51
    77
See reviews for
168
220
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Me and my husband had stayed at the hotel from 1st Nov to 4th Nov ie during the Diwali week. We had earlier stayed at Neelam's Countryside in Malvan at our hometown. Due to our pleasant stay and good food at Malvan we went ahead blindly with Neelam's Goa. As expected the rooms were pleasant and so is the hotel. The lobby area, pool area is a great sight once you enter the hotel. The buffett breakfast was wonderful but yes if you go for a-la-carte the food is bit over-priced. The service is quite prompt. The location of hotel is superb as it is 15 mins walk to Calangute beach. In addition the hotel is near to the market and KFC is adjacent to the hotel. I had also indulged myself in Kerala massage believe me it was the best massage I have ever had (much better than what I had during my visit to Kerala.) Please do indulge in it, highly recommended. Due to Diwali celebration, the pool area was beautifully lit and the entire lobby was decorated with Diyas. Overall a wonderful experience. Will surely like to visit once again for our holidays.

Room Tip: Go for a swimming pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shweta_Kolge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

It was holiday time in Dec myself along with our extended family a total of 6 adults with 2 child were planning for a vacation in Goa. Typically in Goa near christmas time is the peak season and prices at all resorts & hotels will be soaring high. But we still wanted to choose to a minumum of 3 start category of hotel even at a premium price for a quality stay & vacation. We finalised North Goa & after that we decided calngute area. We looked at tripadvisor for reviews to help us finalise resorts but all the hotels with resonably good reviews were sold out. We found Neelam the grand with fair mixed reviews so we decided with this option. I directly called the hotel for booking but found travel portal was a good option as the rates offered by hotel were expensive than the ones offered by travel portals. Hence made my booking from a travel portal.

The problem started from hereon. After making my reservation on one the popular travel portals in India i sent an email to the hotel reservation desk asking to confirm the reservation but strangely they were denying to confirm & told me that since booking is through travel portal i will have to contact them & they cannot directly send me a confirmation.. I was thinking at that itme What kind of 3star service is this?? After series of effort in making at least 10 phone calls to travel protals customer support & hotel reservation staff for 3/4 days finally got an email confirmation from them.

Now lets come to the stay. We reached hotel at noon time.. Since we drove ourselves by care we needed a safe car park space. No major dedicated car park space. The security provided a space in the front of the gate & asked me to provide the car key, i was not comfortable with that.. SOmehow i maanged him by saying that i dont mind to park in a corner as i will not using my vehicle for the next 3/4 days so he gave me a corner space..

Rooms very average..Bathroom fittings were rusted. You can smell the rust in water in the shower & wash basin.. We took a room near the pool in the 2nd floor. No lift we have to use the stairs.. No cleanliness, the staris was always occupied with room cleaning stuff, garbage bags etc, not the feel of a 3 star facility..

Brakfast is the only good about the hotel. Restaurant for lunch/dinner is pretty expensive but not frsh food. We ate non veg once for lunch & decided we will not eat in that restaurant going forward as the chicken/fish was not fresh & we had stomach issues..

Very poor customer service, the staff is not helpful at all. OUr experience was like staying in a lodge with pretty much everything we had to take care on our own..

Hotel not close to the beach at all. Calngute beach is about 2 kms far.


Overall i would advise to avoid this hotel, due to poor room quality for the price, very poor customer service, poor restaurant, overall very badly managed hotel..

Room Tip: No good rooms, only exterior looks good, interior is pretty bad. Certainly not a 3 star hotel. Its a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirmal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calangute hotels

nagpur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We went to Goa as our first vacation after marriage. As a couple we have received enough space , privacy and at the same time, it was very much family oriented also..so no cheap stuff to look at! Rooms are good, ambiance is peaceful. Best part is the prime location and easy commutation in and around Goa. Breakfast provided by the hotel facilities was also very good, especially me being a pure veggie, was the major meal for the day, because for rest of the day i have to satisfy myself eating pastas or Chinese!! Special advise for veggies..please have your breakfast properly and bit heavy. Happy stay in Goa !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akankshadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Hotel is in the middle of calangute, approachable to the famous 3 beaches (calangute, Baga & Candolim). Accommodation is good but the room corridor was smelling foul with Cigar and liquor. Can't blame the hotel staff for it but they did help us to lessen it by spraying the room fresheners. Though we have never used the swimming pool, it was looking good and the decoration was awesome during the night.
I have read in the previous reviews that breakfast was pretty good. But to me, it looked ok. There are many varieties but looked like they were made to fit the foreigners. And avoid having lunch / dinner in this hotel as it is overpriced. You can have lunch/dinner @ CurryLeaf which is just 200 meters away from this hotel.
I would definitely recommend you to stay in this hotel but ASK FOR POOL VIEW.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Nagesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Not worth the money, has window A/C, hot water is from a small geyser which is within the room, no central A/C or running hot water! Room service is bad! Overall not a great hotel to stay, not recommended!

Room Tip: Not worth the money, has window A/C, hot water is from a small geyser which is within the room, no c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurgaArcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solapur, India
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

A place where you can give so much of time for yourself...The staff is very welcoming and friendly and I wouldn’t book anywhere else. The pool, the gym,the ayurvedic massage and the restaurant...its actually a bit of small heaven!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Shivraj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.9 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#9 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
0.4 mi away
Azzure By Spree Hotels
Azzure By Spree Hotels
#11 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#6 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neelam Hotels - The Glitz Goa
Neelam Hotels - The Glitz Goa
#38 of 205 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neelams The Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neelams The Grand

Property: Neelams The Grand
Address: Post Office Road, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Neelams The Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand in its true opulent style and grandeur architecture is the blend of perfect hospitality and old world charm. Comprising of 143 contemporarily appointed rooms and suites with large swimming pool, health club, multi cuisine restaurant, coffee shop and largest Sports Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Neelams The Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neelams The Grand Calangute
Neelams The Grand Hotel Calangute
Neelams The Grand Goa/Calangute
Neelams Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing