We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic property for 4 star rates”
Review of Neelams The Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neelams The Grand
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Pune
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Basic property for 4 star rates”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

the rooms and property is pretty basic. the rooms in old wing are untidy. only positive is location. its near to calangute beach.. walking distance.. breakfast is very basic and lacs variety and taste. Service is okay. wont stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    222
    96
    51
    77
See reviews for
168
220
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We experienced truely wonderful hospitality at the Neelam's Grand and would like to visit again. Room was really good. Hotel was also good with very nice and helpful staff. Hotel also has a decent restaurant which serves you good food. We also had a jolly good time at the swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Rajesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed for 2 days and my overall experience was average with this hotel. The ambiance and location of hotel are good. Room was clean and well maintain but its not as good as 4 star hotel rooms. Calangute beach is about 1 km away. Moreover, They don't have enough space for 4 wheelers, no swimming pool attendant in afternoon and evening. In bathroom there is no ventilation for air.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayant18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was on a 4 day vacation with my 2 friends and chose this hotel for our stay . it's ideally located from Calangute Beach. It is still a good choice but there are a few negative things about this place.the reception staff is ill informed of the local areas.for example we asked for the Saturday flea market, and we were told that it was being held on Saturday near baga beach, but the market was off due to off season. We had to first go and then return via taxi which cost us 600rs.rooms were big and comfortable but the washroom were not that great. Tiles were stained and broken at some places. Bedsheets were stained as well. The housekeeping mopped the floor with wet cloth and it was a mess on the floor when we entered the room as the floor wasn't dried and it all became dirty with the shoe dirt. the biggest disapointment was the buffet breakfast. I would say it lacked a few more dishes, the toaster wasn't working fine . only 2 slots out of 6 were working. .initially on asking the waiter to serve the toast that I had placed in the toaster he refused and gave a blunt answer that there's self service, on requesting him he agreed,same thing happened next day as well.he refused to serve tea on the table with the same reason. And also a major issue with the serving staff is that they are in a real hurry to clean up the table, no matter whether the guest has finished his meal or not. .It happened with us thrice in 4 days that we were not even finished with the meal and waiter seeing us idle for a minute or so didn't even bother asking to clear the table, picked up the plates and started cleaning.i would still say one can opt for this hotel but don't expect much service from them.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chandansaluja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel has everything you need

The clean rooms,
The clean swimming pool,
ample choices in breakfast buffet to fill in your tummy
courteous and helpful staff
Clean bathrooms, and great great service
Value for money

We checked in on 22nd may and checked out on 24th may. Had a very comfortable stay, spacious rooms and enough amenities to make your stay beautiful.

Room Tip: Value for money, would go back to this hotel whenever i visit Goa next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meeramadlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

One of the best places to relax. I was there for 4 nights and the stay was comfortable. The food and room service was good. Breakfast at the restaurant was tasty and offered a whole lot choices. The best beach in goa Baga and fort aguada is nearby.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank planetdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Booked this hotel through Expedia.

Location: Calangute beach is bang near by and since its located near the main market (But far from market noise), its accessible to major near by locations.

Pros: My review will be based on Neelam as a 3 Star hotel. Checked in process was smooth. Hotel has good spacious rooms, all basic amenities in room are covered and rooms are well maintained, great cleanliness. We got a pool view room, which was always a plus when you sit in balcony sipping a coffee. Staff is really very good (Esp Mr Shayam on reception), willing to help even if you checked out of hotel - Thats very nice. We had Indian food (breakfast), which has decent taste. Property is huge and right in market which is easily accessible to major locations!! So you don't need to worry about accessibility and safety!!

Cons: No lifts in Block C (and i guess in two other blocks also), which is not great if you got a high floor. Its there in just 2 blocks. Quality of juices is not good and not many options for continental breakfast. May be hotel can do better here!! A little more lightning is surely required in pathways of each block. Take a clue from 4-5 star hotels and they can surely increase hotel amenities including a next level upgrade of their dining area!!! Last, lot of mosquitoes in bathroom and there was no arrangement to counter that. I guess they make their way through vents!!

Overall, our experience was good again!! The courteous staff and a good room can make you stay a memorable one!! Thank you Neelam!!

Room Tip: Choose room in block where there is lift (I guess in A & B block they have). Choose a pool facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M_Manoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.9 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#9 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
0.4 mi away
Azzure By Spree Hotels
Azzure By Spree Hotels
#11 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#6 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neelam Hotels - The Glitz Goa
Neelam Hotels - The Glitz Goa
#38 of 205 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neelams The Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neelams The Grand

Property: Neelams The Grand
Address: Post Office Road, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Neelams The Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand in its true opulent style and grandeur architecture is the blend of perfect hospitality and old world charm. Comprising of 143 contemporarily appointed rooms and suites with large swimming pool, health club, multi cuisine restaurant, coffee shop and largest Sports Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Neelams The Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neelams The Grand Calangute
Neelams The Grand Hotel Calangute
Neelams The Grand Goa/Calangute
Neelams Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing