We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a guest house not a hotel”
Review of Neelams The Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neelams The Grand
Ranked #32 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
india
1 review
“its a guest house not a hotel”
Reviewed 9 November 2008

Its a guest house then a hotel .Pls pls avoid to stay that hotel you will get a nice hotels in good price near this guest house.You will see there web site you find so attractive but when you go and stay there you will find the difference so if possible just avoid.there the staff doest knw the meaning of hospitality.There manage is not a experence staff .He will sit and have his lunch with you.He only knw how to eat .The junior staff is worst then the manager....pls pls pls i requiest you to avoid ......this is not a hotel your holiday will spoil if you stay here.

  • Liked — every thing is bad
  • Disliked — every thing is bad
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank inderryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    227
    96
    51
    81
See reviews for
171
221
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2008

Neelam the Grand Hotel is Best Hotel in North Goa for Stay in 4 Star Category., Room, Services, Food, Stay, Staff all are Excellent.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dillagiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2008

This was my first visit to Goa and all in all an enjoyable time was had. However............. Neelams The Grand in itself is a very nice, clean and friendly hotel the only problem is that whilst we were there (24/03/2008 - 08/04/2008) the hotel was full of indians on sales conferences. On some days there could be as many as 5 seperate ones on at any one time. This is not a problem apart from the fact that at 7 in the morning 50 young Indian men decide to get in the pool and make a right racket and then again at about 6.30 pm ! This is not good if you are on holiday and looking for a relaxing time! I understand that these people are only there for a few days and are wanting to enjoy themselves when they are not working but we are on holiday and dont really want all the noise. This hotel is trying to be all things to all people which I am afraid does not work. If you do choose this hotel DO NOT be put off by the lack of sun beds. There are 28 and you will have at least 25 to choose from at any one time! Dont get me wrong I dont want Benidorm but it is nice to speak to a few others when on holiday.........Its what makes a change from the normal days at home. The hotel itself is about 5 mins walk from the main area of Clangute which is a bit of a dump, Try Candalim or Baga they are a lot nicer and frankly smater with better dressed people. I am not a snob but it seems to me that Calangute is more "Alicante" and Canalim is more "Marbella" if you knowwhat I mean? Having said that you can get to Candalim for about a quid so its not to bad eh?

  • Liked — Great pool and great staff
  • Disliked — Lack of English guests
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AdrianSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2008

we stayed at the grand from the 4th jan 08-18th jan 08,myself my wife in one room my daughter her husband & grand daughter in another.very impressive new entrance to the hotel effiecient check in staff our rooms already allocated we stayed in B1 on the ground floor overlooking the pool,28in lcd tv in the lounge,20in crt tv in the bedroom very clean,but on the down side.... no tea /coffee making facilities (a must for a 4 star hotel)also no plug in the wash hand basin.from our point of view those were the only negatives, the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly.we booked as bed & breakfast,but were upgraded to all inclusive a bonus ,we would stay there again if we were to go to calangute but we found calangute itself to manic so we are booking somewhere in candolim for 2009.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank sakakaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

My husband and I spent Christmas and New Year in Goa, and stayed in this hotel for two weeks. We found it to be a safe haven in the otherwise packed Calangute! It is located a bit off the main road, but still very close to the shops and the stroll to the beach is not too long either. The meals the hotel offered were very good. We had breakfast there every morning as it was included in the price, and we were also served magnificent Christmas and New Year's dinners. The place was nicely decorated and the dinner buffets were the largest we have ever seen! The staff was very polite and the hotel area and the rooms were kept very clean. The pool was nice and clean, too, and they have a pool bar. Most days we spent at the different beaches of Goa, but it was also nice to just stay at the hotel pool and relax. This hotel is ideal if you are looking for an above mid-range hotel in Calangute!

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Elluliini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.3 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 110 in Calangute
965 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#6 of 110 in Calangute
608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Azzure By Spree Hotels
Azzure By Spree Hotels
#11 of 110 in Calangute
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
0.1 mi away
Neelam Hotels - The Glitz Goa
Neelam Hotels - The Glitz Goa
#36 of 210 in Calangute
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
#3 of 110 in Calangute
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neelams The Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neelams The Grand

Property: Neelams The Grand
Address: Post Office Road, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Neelams The Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand in its true opulent style and grandeur architecture is the blend of perfect hospitality and old world charm. Comprising of 143 contemporarily appointed rooms and suites with large swimming pool, health club, multi cuisine restaurant, coffee shop and largest Sports Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Neelams The Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neelams The Grand Calangute
Neelams The Grand Hotel Calangute
Neelams The Grand Goa/Calangute
Neelams Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing