We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neelams The Grand”
Review of Neelams The Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neelams The Grand
Ranked #35 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed 26 January 2009

We stayed at Neelams the Grand from 6-20 January 2009 and would not go back to the hotel again. As my sister in law put it, it was "all fur and no knickers". The front of the hotel looks wonderful but that's where it stops. The rooms could be cleaner, I had to wipe out the shelves before putting clothes on them. There was thick dust under the bed. The bed was hard and had the mattress was only about about four inches deep. The shower was a mixer tap type over othe bath which was pretty much useless. It also had a hand held shower which we tended to use because more water came out of it. The tiling round the bath was crumbling and consequently when having a shower water leaked on to the floor. The bath was also grubby and stained. The pool area needs completely refurbishing, The pool bar was non existent. The waiter took your order for drinks and then had to go to the Sportz bar at the front of the hotel resulting in a 20-30 minute wait. The hotel caters more for Indians than the package holiday and indian companies had "team building sessions" there resulting in less sunbeds for guests to use. There was a shower near the pool to use before you went into the pool and we saw an Indian male go to the shower and pee in it whilst showering. The indian males also spat in the pool. We have had two items go missing from the room. One room boy asked my husband for money for cleaning the room and my husband hadn't even seen him before. The only good thing I can say is that some of the staff were excellent and the food was good. However drinks are nearly double what you would pay in other places in Calangute. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

1  Thank Ginger-Ferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2009

Neelam the Grand does not honor reservations done via hotel’s website. They did not let us in for the first night, lodged us at another hotel. Our experience at Neelam was not good. The rooms were tired, old and not up to the claimed category. The hotel is not definitely worth the money we paid (about US$ 80 per night). Luckily we moved out soon finding a much better and much cheaper hotel nearby. The never smiling staff at Neelam was quite rude and always sullen. Food was not good either. A tiny swimming pool was often occupied by a couple of dozen of men apparently looking like local sportsmen who while playing water ball very energetically with a lot of noise and shouting effectively prevented other guests from using the pool. Local ladies took bathes in the pool fully clothed thus wisely saving on laundry and on swimwear.

I would advise to stay out.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Evgeny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at Neelams The Grand.

We chose the hotel after looking at the reviews but after reading a couple of reviews that were added just before we went I was very nervous about going and what the hotel was going to be like.

All I can say is that I was worrying over nothing. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We arrived at about 8.15am and our room wasn't ready. After they had given us breakfast they showed us to another room so we could get some rest.
When we got to our room we couldn't have asked for more. It was clean and spacious and had an LCD TV and a fridge. The bathroom had a shower and was more like a wet room but we never had any problem with the water going everywhere when we had a shower.

The only meal we ate in the hotel was breakfast and there was an good choice. We also went to the sports bar every night and we ate in there a couple of times. The food was very nice and the service was excellent. The staff were very friendly and we often ended up playing pool with them.

The pool area was very nice and it was quite quiet. The sun was only there until about 3pm and the only thing was there was no shade so it was very hot during the day. The way it was lit up on an evening was subtle but nice and all entertainment and music finished at 11pm so you weren't disturbed after going to bed.

The hotel was a favourite with Indian people and while we were there the majority of the guests were Indian with only a handful of Europeans. This wasn't any problem whatsoever but if you prefer a hotel where you can meet other Europeans then this possibly isn't the hotel for you. A better choice would be the Nizmar which is just down the road.

The only drawback was that it was about a 20 minute walk to the beach down the main road in Calagute (be aware that there are no footpaths). It was an extremely busy road and you were asked every 20 seconds if you wanted a pashmina, a watch or sunglasses etc. When you said no you were left alone. That said there were always plenty of taxis and it cost about the equivalent of a £1 to get back to the beach from the hotel.

The beach was also extremely busy and people were trying to get you to go on jetskis or go into their beach shack and these people were hard to shake off even after you had said no. But again, there are quieter beaches around and taxis are cheap and will often give you a return price and wait 2 or 3 hours for you.

There were plenty of nice restaurants in the resort and they did a variety of food.

I would definately recommend a trip to Goa and I would also recommend Neelams the Grand. It is the perfect hotel, extremely clean and tidy and with staff that are very friendly, always have a smile and a hello and can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twodotYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

just come back after 6 nights stay on b&b basis
we were picked (and dropped back at airport)
check in very smooth the room was lovely and big size with
quuen size bed(had requested double)---flat sreen lcd tv, filtered
water jug tea coffee kettle all in room and refilled daily---extremley clean bathroom(shower as is typicall in india but for change sectioned so the toilet area and rest remained dry)
spanking white sheets pillows towels all changed daily
the daily cleaning one of the highest standard i saw in india
reception, restraunt and lobby very clean -- filtered water available throughout public areas very wellcome
the pool area and pool was again very well kept(altogh not busy!)
the night lighting around pool and open foyer very well done and found relaxing
the standard breakfast was very good variety (both indian choices and also eggs to order) the staff also very good
we did not have any other meals in hotel so no comments on these
the location being a walk of about 20 min perhaps the only drawback
we thought a very high standard 4* hotel to which we would return

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerak53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Neelams the Grand is not a holiday hotel complex for British people but a guest house for local residents staying for a few days in Calangute. Calangute is one huge rubbish tip and the beaches are shameful. Not for the faint hearted. We moved after one night to South Goa. This hotel was totally unacceptable. Cheap yes but a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 100blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

Its a guest house then a hotel .Pls pls avoid to stay that hotel you will get a nice hotels in good price near this guest house.You will see there web site you find so attractive but when you go and stay there you will find the difference so if possible just avoid.there the staff doest knw the meaning of hospitality.There manage is not a experence staff .He will sit and have his lunch with you.He only knw how to eat .The junior staff is worst then the manager....pls pls pls i requiest you to avoid ......this is not a hotel your holiday will spoil if you stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank inderryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2008

Neelam the Grand Hotel is Best Hotel in North Goa for Stay in 4 Star Category., Room, Services, Food, Stay, Staff all are Excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dillagiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.6 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#13 of 116 in Calangute
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 116 in Calangute
990 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#7 of 116 in Calangute
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
0.1 mi away
Neelam Hotels - The Glitz Goa
Neelam Hotels - The Glitz Goa
#34 of 217 in Calangute
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
#8 of 116 in Calangute
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neelams The Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neelams The Grand

Address: Post Office Road, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: £36 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Neelams The Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand in its true opulent style and grandeur architecture is the blend of perfect hospitality and old world charm. Comprising of 143 contemporarily appointed rooms and suites with large swimming pool, health club, multi cuisine restaurant, coffee shop and largest Sports Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Neelams The Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neelams The Grand Calangute
Neelams The Grand Hotel Calangute
Neelams Grand
Neelams The Grand Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing