We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach resort in Baga”
Review of La Calypso Goa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Calypso Goa
Ranked #28 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beach resort in Baga”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Those seeking the busy and crowded Calangute-Baga beach corridor of North Goa, this resort is a good option.the higher category cottages are facing the beach while the normal deluxe rooms are away closer to the road split between ground and first floor.Deluxe room where i stayed have a worn out feeling though house keeping do their best.the restaurant andnswimmng pool is in the middle of deluxe rooms and the beach facing cottages.for the peak summer heat towards end of may,a fan would have been extremely useful along with the slow running AC.wonder why they havent put a ceiling fan!!

restaurant served buffet for all three meals, better than average quality.no great sea food though.they have one bar facing the beach.popular restaurant brittos is right next door when accessed through beach side.a functional gym right next to pool is good.Those who love walking along the beach can reach calangute beach in fifteen minutes

Overall staff and service was good.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the cottages facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jissbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-LaCalypso, Front Office Manager at La Calypso Goa, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from La Calypso Goa!!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time out to review the hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your feedback is surely very important to us and the concerns you have raised have already been taken up with the concerned departments and corrective measures are taken to ensure highest standard and services to our valued guests.

Once again, Thank you for your feedback and my team and I do hope to have another opportunity to serve you and be able to meet your expectations and also to show you the difference your feedback has made.

Warm Regards

Napoleon Abreu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    114
    26
    17
    18
See reviews for
116
65
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indore, India
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

While the hotel is good ( it also has a casino) the thing we likes the most was the dinner in a gazebo by the beach. There were several beautifully lit gazebos dotted on the beach, giving the entire place a very romantic feeling. Clubbed with nice dinner and drinks, you will have a night to remember.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ShalinT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-LaCalypso, Front Office Manager at La Calypso Goa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Mr. Shalin,

Greetings from La Calypso, Baga, Goa!!

We are greatly delighted to have received such a generously appreciative review about your stay with us at La Calypso, Baga - Goa which you have shared on TripAdvisor. It is no less than flattering to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the wonderful set-up of the Gazebo's by the beach and overall value for money.

Your appreciation of the efforts that we put in every day goes a long way to encourage and to motivate us to work harder to achieve the highest level of our guests’ satisfaction.

We would love for you to return to the hotel soon. Stay with us and make some precious memories that you may cherish forever.

Warm Regards,

Napoleon Abreu
Front Office Manager
La Calypso - Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was my first trip to Goa and wanted to make it memorable. We were two families with four kids. On our arrival to the hotel, I was surprised to see the entrance of La Calypso (claims to be a 4 star hotel). It was a narrow smelly lane with broken road and small huts just in front of their entry gate. We had opted for Suite Rooms and it turned out to be small rooms in contrast to what they show you on their website. Property has a decent size, well maintained and has their own entrance to the Baga beach.

Service is what I found they lack considerably. We had to call the housekeeping every day for hand/foot towels, cutlery etc.. Morning breakfast starts at 7:30am. We had planned a trip to DoodhSagar and hence requested them to serve us the breakfast at 7am which they politely declined and instead they served not before 8am (only one or two dishes were ready before that). Check out time is at 12pm and on that day we went for the Dolphin show and gave them 2 room keys stating that if we don’t return back by 12pm then they can bring our luggage down and take over the rooms for next booking. We returned at 11am (this hotel always gives you that SURPRISE feel) only to found our luggage down and handed over the rooms to housekeeping for the next allotment.

Even the people at the reception were not very supportive and looks to be in Confuse state. We requested them for taxis for airport transfers and realized after 30mins that they have not called for the second taxi and we had to wait further more for the needful. The height of SURPRISE factor was when we all were enjoying swimming in the evening in their pool and two of our kids found their slippers ‘Missing’ from the pool area, and as usual, the hotel staff did not took the matter seriously. :) :)

Over all, an AVERAGE stay with average food, rooms and below average services provided by the hotel staff. The only good thing about the property is its location near to the beach and few shops around for your shopping.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SaurabhQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

hotel is very close to wagha beach of goa. beach is around 500 meters away from hotel so just walk in and come down whenever you feel. hotel is having casino facilities so if you like to play then you can play and ear.

Room Tip: play in casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavneetBithra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-LaCalypso, Front Office Manager at La Calypso Goa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Mr. Navneet Bithra,

Warm Greetings from La Calypso Goa!!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time out to review the hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your appreciation of the efforts that we put in every day goes a long way to encourage and to motivate us to work harder to achieve the highest level of our guests’ satisfaction.

Once again, Thank you for your feedback and my team and I do hope to have another opportunity to serve you

Warm Regards

Napoleon Abreu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gurgaon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Will definitely go and stay there again overall a pleasurable experienceOne can walk down to the beach in minutes aand the shack of the resort has good food and drinks and last but not the least the music and the masssuer near the beach what else one can ask for.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vandyGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-LaCalypso, Front Office Manager at La Calypso Goa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from La Calypso Goa!!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time out to review the hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your feedback is surely very important to us and the concerns you have raised have already been taken up with the concerned departments and corrective measures are taken to ensure highest standard and services to our valued guests.

Once again, Thank you for your feedback and my team and I do hope to have another opportunity to serve you.

Warm Regards

Napoleon Abreu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

ohhhhhhhh what to say about this hotel excellent from every side . like service room view ext.
i stay in hotel for 3 night but i fill if i stay more then iwill be happy. but if i go next time i must stay min 5 night. there is beach/ casino/ market / food/ all thing near you in 2min. also night night life like titos pub in walking 10min. many pub / bars near you . also u get bike on rent at your hotel door. in beach u find many water activity . i like hotel very much. i say to all dont miss to stay in this hotel. excllent no more word to stay for this. u just love this hotel .

Room Tip: take super dlx or beach villa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ketanrambhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-LaCalypso, Front Office Manager at La Calypso Goa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from La Calypso, Baga, Goa!!

We are greatly delighted to have received such a generously appreciative review about your stay with us at La Calypso, Baga - Goa which you have kindly shared on TripAdvisor. It is no less than flattering to know that you have so minutely observed and appreciated our impeccable service, our courteous and pleasant staff, our best location and overall value for money.

Your appreciation of the efforts that we put in every day goes a long way to encourage and to motivate us to work harder to achieve the highest level of our guests’ satisfaction.

We would love for you to return to the hotel soon. Stay with us and make some precious memories that you may cherish forever.

Warm Regards,

Napoleon Abreu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were on an all guys trip to this hotel for a friend's bachelor party in Goa. We wanted to stay on Baga on the beach and this place fit the bill well. The Hotel is right on the beach and so was our room. We were put up away from the main building at a short walking distance which was pain for sure but manageable. You would walk that much in a large property anyways.

The rooms were of fine quality with a separate seating area. We had two adjoining rooms and that made life easy for us. Service was just fine. Nothing to crib about or praise.. This had more to do with our expectations. Best part was that you could step right onto the beach from your room area. Breakfast was fair and could have been better with more options. Cost could have been a little better but it wasn't all that bad either. We surely paid for the location.

Overall, a good visit and might opt for this for an all guys no expectation trip

Room Tip: Sea View/Beach View rooms only - Thats the only good thing about the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kushalshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-LaCalypso, Front Office Manager at La Calypso Goa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Mr. Kaushal Shah,

Warm Greetings from La Calypso Goa!!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time out to review the hotel on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your positive comments on our spacious and well designed rooms, our services and overall our location.

We await your return with great enthusiasm and hope to be able to serve you yet again so that we can help you make some fond memories here with us.

Warm Regards

Napoleon Abreu
Front Office Manager
La Calypso - Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.6 mi away
The Baga Marina Beach Resort & Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#7 of 110 in Calangute
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
0.9 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 110 in Calangute
675 reviews
3.7 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Calypso Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Calypso Goa

Property: La Calypso Goa
Address: 7/129 B Saunta Vaddo | Calangute - Baga Road, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
#19 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Calypso Goa 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves, sun & lots of fun is what La Calypso is all about. Doesn’t matter if you are a globe trotter, corporate guest, a family on vacation, foodie, happy go lucky wager or if you are looking to organize an event, party, wedding.. La Calypso is the place to be! With resorts, hotel, restaurant, casinos and many more offerings, Our group is one among the best in Hospitality industry of Goa. At La Calypso, our top priority is comfort and convenience of the guests. The facilities and amenities provided, not just satisfy the necessities of our clientele, but also indulge them in luxury. At La Calypso, with the numerous options we have for types of stay, amenities, setting and pricing, we strive to anticipate and fulfill your desires. With beautiful place, warm hospitality and excellent service it’a a given that your time spent at La Calypso will be the most memorable moments! La Calypso also promises a whole new experience of calmness and serene, through Swarn Spa, which brings together the wellness and well being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Calypso Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Calypso Resort
La Calypso Calangute
La Calypso Goa Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing