We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gabriels Guest House
Ranked #122 of 244 Calangute B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2014

i was looking for an Affordable Hotels near Calingute, as my budget was around was around 1500 Rs.. options were limited for good hotels then my cousin told to check out at TripAdvisor for budget hotels, the reviews seemed mostly positive so i decided to stay here... Its around 1.5 Km
from main calingute market.... There are many Big Villas near the guest House so if u want some isolation and peace u can definitely plan your stay here. Owners were very Friendly and yaa i loved there foxiee dog... Rooms were Good... overall value for money..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 995ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I visited Goa last week (June14-18) and stayed at this guest house which is run by a lovely Goan family. Although we were in Goa during the off season, Gabriels Guest House was offering accommodation. Their restaurant was under maintenance and they had some construction going on in their compound but that didn't stop Ivy(the owner) from being courteous and helpful as ever.

Its a no-frill guest house(they have mentioned on their policies stuck behind the room door that its "self-service" guest house), if you need something you have to request for it or help yourself to it. The owners are homely and were helpful in arranging a rented scooter and taxi to the airport. Our main motive was to have as much fun soaking up the sun, sand, waves and their rich culture. The room was solely used to shower, change and hit the sack after long nights of partying!

All in all it was a pleasant stay with no issues. Highly recommended for all budget travelers.

Room Tip: Try asking for the supreme room, it comes at an extra charge but you get your own "sit-out"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keerthana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at Gabriels Guest House for 4 nights In May 2014. The Guest house is located at excellent place very close to Calungute Beach is just 2 mins. Very clean and well maintained rooms, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Staircase rooms very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vishalgjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

this is a below average guest house.....they have a very poor service.....with poor quality of bathrooms.....behavior of the workers was worst.....never choose this hotel just because of its location.....

Room Tip: never choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank therestlessfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A nice family atmosphere at Gabriel's. It's a quiet little place to stay, tucked away in a lane in Calangute (close to Candolim). It's not on the beach, but there's a path leading down to the beach just next to it, and it's only a 5 minute walk. The great thing is that it's a quite sleepy part of Calangute - the busy areas are to the left and the right, and if you're seeking a bit of calm, this is perfect, especially in the off season.

It is at the end of the day, a guest house, so don't expect 5 star service, especially for the price, but the family who runs it are personable and helpful enough.

The rooms are no-frills, A/C and non A/C (you pay depending on whether you use it or not), and some of them have amazing, long verandahs (especially the corner rooms on top) - the area around is a bit of jungle and some small houses and huts, so views are nice, and there isn't much noise. The bathroom and linen and that sort of stuff are exactly what you'd expect from a place in this price range - not at all fancy or impressive or inviting, but clean and simple.

The guest house is located quite ideally... Candolim/Calangute is just before the more hectic crowded parts of North Goa like Baga and Anjuna, and it's just off the main road. Easy access to North Goa, Panjim/Nerul, and also the highway via a road cutting across.

This isn't the kind of spot you go to as a getaway, but if you're going to Goa to spend your time wandering around, going to the beach, going to eat and drink, and just need an inexpensive place to sleep and keep your stuff, it's perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms vary a lot in size and shape... they all have a fair amount of light, but the corner ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karabekian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

just back from gabrials again greedy,, lol,,,,the same,nice safe place,,with more new ,big rooms,,and handy for everthing ,,sea, rests,,ect,,,and very peaceful ,,be back again next season,,god willing as thay say,

Room Tip: the back rooms get a good sea breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandBazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

its a good place to stay.specially for couples it is one of d best place to stay in budget range.rooms and bathrooms were clean with working Ac and lcd tv.the owners are very polite and ready to help.they arrange bike for hire,sight seeing,taxi and all for us on request.it feels like a home away from home.and main thing is its location,just 3-5 minute walk to candolim beach which is very quite and not so crowdy.me and my wife stayed for 4 days without any bad experience.thnx GGH.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chandrabhan1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
1.9 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#107 of 125 in Calangute
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#54 of 125 in Calangute
375 reviews
1 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#104 of 125 in Calangute
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Hotel Panchsheel
Hotel Panchsheel
#2 of 5 in Margao
69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#27 of 125 in Calangute
143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vila Goesa Beach Resort
Vila Goesa Beach Resort
#106 of 244 in Calangute
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gabriels Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gabriels Guest House

Address: | Near Kamat Holiday Homes, Opp. Tarcar Wine Shop, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 244 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range: £10 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gabriels Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gabriel Guest House has been serving guests since 1980. It features amongst one of the best guesthouses in Goa. Its admirable location and the loving family that takes care of the guests has made it a memorable place for them to revisit every year. Today many new tourists who visit Goa find our guest house a very safe, enjoyable and memorable holiday home that is available at the best budget rates in Goa. The guest house is located just two or three minutes walk to the beach. Our guesthouse is very serene and quiet, surrounded by lush green lawns. We are barely a 5 minute walk to the shopping areas and close to most of the tourist hot spots. Gabriel Guest house provides clean spotless cozy bedrooms with air conditioned and non air conditioned rooms; all rooms are comfortable with special soft mattress beds. Some of our rooms are equipped with cable television, refrigerators, a balcony with an amazing serenity. GABRIEL GUEST HOUSE IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED BY MANY INTERNATIONAL GUIDE BOOKS IN DIFFERENT LANGUAGES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gabriels Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabriels Guest House Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing