We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If the hotel can disconnect the phone while the guest is speaking, i wonder how friendly the staff will be..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I've been trying to contact the hotel since morning and nobody is picking up the phone.
I really didn't know till then, whether i should be happy that it's such a busy hotel or I should be sad that it's such an unresponsive hotel.
Finally i managed to talk to a person who disconnected the line while i was speaking, n i knew the latter was true.
I'm really not looking forward to spend my vacations in this hotel and would cancel the bookings as soon as i manage to contact them.
Best of luck to those choosing this place..u'll surely need that!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Marcos_Scorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,910)
There are newer reviews for Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,549 - 1,555 of 1,910 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

We are enjoying our trip with this hotel. excellent food & location. staffs also well behavior & help full. the bad thing is TV in our room, the cable connection was very poor. view from balcony is watchable.


  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Subash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I booked a family room as we are 4 people and in the photos it is shown there are two double beds. But on arrival we find the room is totally different with what we saw in photos it has only one double bed instead of 2 double beds and when we asked their staff about it they told that they do no have any such type of room. They provided us the mattresses and two of us has to sleep on floor. This is ridiculous ! cheating.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank vin2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The best thing about this hotel was its location.. Just next to beach. You can visit beach anytime.. The food was good and staff was courteous.... The only problem i found was room were too much congested which will not give you the privacy you desire....

Room Tip: Book Luxory room.. Do no go for standard, cottage or Executive room.. you will be disappointed with...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ankit221215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

First of all the resort give priority to Russian or may be say Foreigner as we have booked 5 rooms and check in time is 2 pm still they give only 2 rooms till 3 pm (as we reach there at 8 am morning with small kids)...while non-indian public get room instatly of their arrival..

when we complain the manager his not giving any response...

while we are angry on them they used abuse word, so we tell him to compain police station , so they tell there is always these type of matters in this property and police willl not help you.


never go the hotel..

as because of this attitude they have to market their resort via other travel site as mouth to mouth publicity never work from them

never seen these type of hospitality as i am a regular traveller

Room Tip: try to go for some other good resort
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Akhil1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My stay was really nice. the hotel is located just a few steps from the beach. hotel staffs were cortious and if you are a oriya then you can find most of the oriya hotel staff there. Nice food served

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Sangram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Its India and we learned that the hotel standards here is not that good. But this is an average hotel and it is not that bad. Next time in India I will only go for 4 stars hotels or more because we was in several hotels around in India and there was a lot of creepy places.

However this is right on the beach and next to a big shopping street. The food here is what brings this hotel up for me, its amazing. Spicy, real Indian and goan food. And we had a very cute waiter. The shower in our room didnt work so we had to use a bucket the hole week, but I think its a little charming and its India, there was also a lot of women on the beach selling stuff and they was literally sitting on you and wouldent take no for an answear, very anoying, however after some days we sort of started to like these girls and we missed them when we was leaving.

Later we heard that Calangute was a place for the Indian tourists, not the foreigners which are true, I had some bad experience on the beach with some Indian men and it creeped me out and Indian guys was starring everywhere. But youre in India, so just get used to it.
The only really negative thing was the 3 min. road up to the shopping street witch was completly dark in the night time, we was 4 girls and women and non of us would ever go there alone in the night.

This hotel was a nice introduction to India for us. If you are looking for luxury this is not the place, if you are looking for a taste of real India this might be the place.

Room Tip: buy earplugs, bass is going all night long
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
1.2 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#13 of 116 in Calangute
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#2 of 116 in Calangute
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
#26 of 116 in Calangute
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#98 of 116 in Calangute
191 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 116 in Calangute
551 reviews
2.6 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort

Address: Khobra Vaddo | road opp to Our Lady of Piety Chapel, Khobra Vaddo, Bang on the Beach, Calangute 403516, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: £52 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beach, at Estrela, your presence is celebrated, your individuality recognized and your tastes remembered. Our staff pampers you with impeccable service and showers you with undivided attention. The spotlight is always on you and your needs. This unconventional approach is the reason why your experience at our hotels and resorts is always full of champagne moments and sweet memories. Come, get used to stardom! The bright, cozy rooms, Swiss cottages & luxurious sea view cottages feature satellite TVs, minibar, hair dryer, electronic safe, tea-coffee maker, etc as well as DVD sets in some rooms. Free Wi-Fi in all our restaurants. Most of the rooms feature private balconies. Swiss chalet-style cottages offer garden views and some include sunloungers and bars. Room service is available 24/7. There's an ornate restaurant, as well as a beach eatery featuring live entertainment. Other amenities include a playground, a rooftop terrace and an outdoor pool with dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Do Mar Beach Hotel Calangute
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Calangute
Hotel Estrela Do Mar Beach
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing