We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Breakfast But overall a Nice & comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Mysore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Terrible Breakfast But overall a Nice & comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We went to the Hotel on Oct 4th to 6th. It was easy to locate the Resort and at the time of check in we had a small problem i.e we had booked 3 Luxury Rooms But they had availability of only2 and offered us a Family Room which we refused and had to speak to aniket who helped us by providing us a luxury room by 5 in the evening. Rest the resort was good overall. peaceful and room service was prompt. The breakfast was terrible but the owner himself came to us asking its feedback which we were not able to tell him the real taste as the owner was extremely well mannered and polite. The staff appointed at the swimming Pool was the Biggest turn off as he was acting kinda Jerk as we were 4 guys and 2 girls in the group and he said that girls need to wear the tight swimsuit made of rexin to play in the pool. For this kind of Comment he was going to get bashed up by me and my friends but we let the A#*hole go as we did not want to spoil our holiday. Other Than this issue rest everything was pretty good. even at the time of check out we were given time till 1 to check out as we had woken up late. The staff is very well mannered other than the guy mentioned here. Would recommend the resort if u want to have a good and peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: Choose the luxury room and you would not get disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkkyBhandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    678
    365
    125
    217
See reviews for
612
670
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Hello,
We were 4 people and had booked a family room for 4 people with full money in advance. The money was paid before 2 months from the date of arrival. We were promised a family room with 2 bathrooms and 1 bed and 1 sofa-cum bed.
But, it was not given to us, on arrival we were told the rooms were all occupied and we have to adjust in a room which had only 1 bathroom, and had 2 extra beds which were individual and not even joint.
Hotel staff is very good, food is good, location is good. But service is pathetic. I feel cheated as we did not get what we wanted.
Rooms are old and they need renovation.
swimming pool is good but again has doors open from standard rooms, all those staying in standard room can straight see the pool and the people (lack of privacy)

Overall think before you stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hardikshah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel with 10 friends and the worst part of this hotel is security, food and hospitality.
and what else anyone want to see in the hotel.
Their security person named "SUBODH" act as agent to provide rental vehicles and getting commission from outside and they have their own rules for giving vehicles on rent. whenever they want they will take it back and if u want to extent they want more money and if u want to negotiate with them they will start fighting with you and HOTEL'S security will not help you at that moment. and if you complain about this thing to hotel's MANAGER, he is also very cool, not ready to listen anything. this type of things are happening over there.so, if u r not secure in the hotel then there is no point going there.

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE AVOID THIS HOTEL......

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis_5_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Rooms are clean and neat, but theres hardly anything in the resort to like, or infact see as it is very congested. If u just want to keep ur bags and sleep then its ok but then it becomes too expensive

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shreyas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed for a day and the expericence was so bad that we checked out and moved to another resort.

Positives
1)Very close to Baga beach
2)Vehicles for hiring available at doorstep
3)Only welcome drink was good.

Negatives
1)Rooms/Bathrooms very dirty
2)Blankets were stinking
3)No proper locks for the bathrooms
4)Food was horrible.
-Chutney was spoilt
-Oil used for making dosas was of very poor quality. May be it was reused oil.
-Non veg served during dinner was stale(got this comment from another person staying at the resort)
5)No remote for AC temp control in the room. We had to climb on the chair and table to control the temp.
6)Does not at all look like what is shown in the pictures.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShrutiSai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed at Estrella Do Maar Beach resort with 5 of my friends in September 2012. The route to the hotel is not so pleasing however the room were nice and clean. One thing which disappointed us was that we were told that the swimming pool can be used 24Hrs but when we went in the pool, one of the attendant said that pool cannot be used beyond 11. The location of the resort is perfect as you can reach both Baga and Calagute from the resort itself easily.
The breakfast served in the morning was good enough to give u an excellent start for the day.The hospitality was not according to what we expected but all in all Estrella Do Maar is nice place which will give u value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie_Gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel to stay, situated at one the best location in Calangute beach. I was in Goa in April end. Hotel was full even during the off season. What is good about this hotel: a. Perfect location, enjoy sea view breakfast at the hotel shack; b. Luxury rooms are neat and clean; C. Hotel accommodation rates are competitive as compared to other hotel near the location. What is bad about this hotel: A. I would suggest do not book standard rooms. Air conditioner are very old (may or may not work), rooms are below average and bathroom have a slider door which any one can open even if you lock.. :P. Overall very nice hotel if you do not go for standard rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapna291288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
1.2 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#9 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santiago Beach Resort
Santiago Beach Resort
#21 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
1.0 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
1.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort

Property: Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Address: Khobra Vaddo | road opp to Our Lady of Piety Chapel, Khobra Vaddo, Bang on the Beach, Calangute 403516, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beach, at Estrela, your presence is celebrated, your individuality recognized and your tastes remembered. Our staff pampers you with impeccable service and showers you with undivided attention. The spotlight is always on you and your needs. This unconventional approach is the reason why your experience at our hotels and resorts is always full of champagne moments and sweet memories. Come, get used to stardom! The bright, cozy rooms, Swiss cottages & luxurious sea view cottages feature satellite TVs, minibar, hair dryer, electronic safe, tea-coffee maker, etc as well as DVD sets in some rooms. Free Wi-Fi in all our restaurants. Most of the rooms feature private balconies. Swiss chalet-style cottages offer garden views and some include sunloungers and bars. Room service is available 24/7. There's an ornate restaurant, as well as a beach eatery featuring live entertainment. Other amenities include a playground, a rooftop terrace and an outdoor pool with dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Do Mar Beach Hotel Calangute
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Calangute
Hotel Estrela Do Mar Beach
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing