We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and central x”
Review of Mira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mira Hotel
Ranked #55 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Family run hotel & very helpful, would stay here again, although all rooms should really have air com, staff very friendly And helpful, we asked for an air con room and they moved us, also the dog was super cute xx

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louisepj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Mira Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

If you are looking for a lower priced budget hotel in the centre of Calangute with no frills but is clean and has friendly helpful staff, then the Mira Hotel. Is perfect.
We were fortunate and were allocated a second floor room overlooking the pool ( p2 ) which was basic but very clean with a good sized bathroom and balcony. In my opinion it is one of the best rooms available once you get used to the door lock ( a padlock and chain ) , although any second floor pool view room would be ok.
The hotel breakfast was poor, tea ,coffee fruit juice and toast. We just had a coffee and had breakfast at the beach shacks on the beach.
We never walked to Calangute beach by the main steps as the beach there was filthy . Littered with rubbish, needles, dirty nappies it was totally disgusting .
You can avoid the steps by taking another route, if you come out of the hotel and turn right, walk to the pub "The Horse " which is on the left and walk down the track opposite , it will take you to the beach and shacks.
We loved the Candolin beach area which is a 20minute walk down the beach.
We were in Calangute for the New Year and found the resort to be very busy verging on manic ! We wouldn't choose to come back at this time of the year again.
On an evening we ate at Redunda on the corner of the roundabout , the Resteraunt opposite which is upstairs and Capricorn which is towards the beach and steps on the right hand side.

Room Tip: Second floor pool view rooms
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fliss18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I just returned after a three day stay at Hotel Mira. The facilities were excellent. Good Reception. Well managed and organized hotel. Staff were excellent. The location very near to beach makes this hotel very attractive for stay.

ANIL NAIR.GANDHINAGAR, GUJARAT.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are very good
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ANIL1975_2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We returned to the Mira after a 12 year absence and picked the Mira as it used to be a really great little friendly hotel, this was our 5th visit to Goa. We asked for a poolside room and were given one so a good start. The rooms and furniture really do need updating the same furniture and beds from 15 years ago, very dark and would be so much better if updated. It wouldn't hurt to buy some new bed linen, bath towels and curtains and possibly consider adding a face cloth and hand towel..... The towels and bed linen really didn't look clean they had a kind of beige/grey tinge to them.

Breakfast was the usual fare of tea and toast we only had breakfast twice in the hotel as there are lots of other choices for tastier breakfasts in Calangute.

We opted to pay for a safety deposit box and the price quoted for our 3 week stay was reasonable and as we were travelling around Goa and further afield in India we felt our personal items and valuables would be safe here which they were.

Some of the staff are very friendly and some not so friendly never really experienced any truly great customer service, which is a great shame as we really used to enjoy the Mira and the staff were always really great. The bar lacked atmosphere most evening's and we didn't spend any more time than was necessary, it also seems to attract some ' bar fly' who seems to spend every day and night drinking and smoking between a few bars and regularly props up the Mira bar (not a guest of the hotel), and was an extremely obnoxious man.

The swimming pool is clean but the hotel needs to build a higher wall at the back to block out the eyesore of the house and all the rubbish which you can't help but notice during your leisurely swim and they really need to sort out the terrible pong from the drains next to the pool, for that reason we only used the pool twice.

All in all you get what you pay for and we didn't stay in the hotel much as we spent some time in Delhi and Agra and also spent a week in Agonda so it wasn't too bad, but Calangute is far too chaotic and dirty now and the Mira is a bit tired now so we won't revisit again.

Selma the hotel dog is lovely though and all the original staff from 12-15 years ago are as friendly and as welcoming as before and always smiled and said hello.

Room Tip: Pick a poolside room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mulzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

No value for money , poor service , bad rooms ,location not grt , far from beach , not great for family. Lot of noise. Bad food and worst breakfast . Hygiene not maintained. Expensive and not worth it

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shveta27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Mira hotel for 13 nights as a group of 7 fantastic staff and clean rooms. Look for Seby taxi diver ( lives next door but 1) he took us on lots of trips- cheaper than booking through an agent.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzanneAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed here with friends and had a very average experience. We booked four rooms for the same price and 2 of us got swimming pool facing room and 2 of us got rooms on third floor, which was not fair. Plus they charge you same for single occupancy and double oocupancy, so definately they have got their tarrif pricing structure completly wrong.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girishgautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.2 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#36 of 116 in Calangute
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon
Horizon
#30 of 116 in Calangute
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonia de Braganza Resorts
Colonia de Braganza Resorts
#83 of 116 in Calangute
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#45 of 116 in Calangute
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#28 of 116 in Calangute
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#46 of 116 in Calangute
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Hotel

Address: Umta Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Price Range: £28 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mira Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mira Hotel Calangute
Mira Hotel Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing