We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teribble staff and management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palmarinha Resort & Suites
Ranked #33 of 111 Hotels in Calangute
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Teribble staff and management”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

On check in no drinking water was provided in the room. On asking they said drinking water is provided after 8 pm...though during my 5 days stay never was that done..I bought water botttles from outside. Not only this , on check-in , drinking water was provided in room after 3 hours that tooo after asking for it thrice and yelling at them..reception and room service give stupid answer for every delay, most common is staff is busy...god knows what the staff is busy in if not in attending the guests. once I asked for 3 cups of tea, the waiter bought just one to the room but gave me a billl of 3..when the rest 2 cups didn't arrive even after 30min, I had to go down to the restaurant, this was despite calling them twice n again the same reply, waiters are busy. On check out they don't even help with luggage. ..over all pathetic in hospitality..They don't even deserve one star

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_to_Taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    216
    110
    48
    49
See reviews for
154
219
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel, is yes not in the throng of Calngute, but a short Taxi or Scooter Hire away..The middle of Baga Beach is less busy, and Ashwem, Morjim,is within a Taxi journey..

Right the Hotel is absolutely great, we had a great room, a great warm reception and a surprise Birthday greeting from the Hotel. The place is clean, the service is attended to, and the multitude of languages the staff get requests in, are met with help and courtesy. The room has a fridge, a mini bar, still reasonable prices ( small tax added ). The breakfast caters for Indian and western appetites, or both. The cereal, fruit juices, and tea, both normal, and chai, and of course coffee, and hot and cold milks. Service and waiters are there to please. There is a great kitchen staff, who do cook extras that are shown with a price on a chalk board ie ( Nutella Pancakes, Fruit Salads, yogurts and/or anything cooked, like certain foods from your own country ). The eggs are included with the Breakfast at no extra charge, and can be requested to be cooked how you like, as it is done in front of you in the restaurant, on gas and Guerridon Service .. So it's Omelettes, again Indian with all the spice, or just plain, or a pinch of whatever combination you would like added. Scrambled eggs are easily made, poached, hard boiled, etc etc...The toast machine keeps churning out the hot toast, the butter is on ice, and the Jam and Marmalade a plenty.. The Indian choice breakfast is interesting, ranges from home made Hash Browns,or Puri, or a mild curried type potatoes, and as you help yourself why not try a bit of all..
Our room and how often we wanted it cleaned and replenished with fresh towels, including changing the bed sheets (every other day), was also down to us on how regular you wanted house keeping to come in, by way of a do not disturb sign..The balconies are nice, again cleaned down. Any extra attention to detail if needed is always addressed when asked about. I have stayed all over India and I was pleasantly surprised how well the Hotel ran..There is a BBQ and some entertainment on certain nights, and they are ticketed..The evening food menu is reasonable, so a main meal £2-£3, but there are loads of restaurants within 5 -10mins some cheaper, some exotic and even gastronomy standard ( at a price ).. The pools are clean, and are maintained, a main pool ( with baby bit too ) and a smaller one around on the rural side of the hotel. Excellent for relaxing as a waiter will walk round and wait for a signal, unlike Hotels that constantly ask/pester you to buy. If you charge food, drinks to your room, it is the same as room service, ie a small charge and Tax on top ( this can cause confusion ). The pool was open from Sun Up, BUT ONLY UNTIL 7.30pm. Strictly enforced, as this becomes a danger, due to drinking etc. There are games of Water Polo in the front pool, there is a games room, free to use and well equipped. This type of Package Tour or otherwise can have the Reps being overly involved, with entertainment, games, music and drinking, this Hotel is the Opposite, the rep comes and greets just the once, he gives a leaflet with tours ( I objected to the SLUM DOG MILLIONAIRE EXPERIENCE' but the Waterfalls, or Hampi, etc are competitively priced.. On the Palmarinha complex there is a Tailors, who will make, adjust, and will haggle fairly. A jewellers ( again haggle and shop around ). Also very useful is a lady onsite who rents Scooters, and sells fuel in litres ( 20p more than the garage, normal in Goa ), the Scooter is the going rate in Goa, £3.00 a day 300rps, if you take for longer, then a haggle to £2.50 is achievable.. Remember the taxi's outside, are separate to the hotel, ( its important to agree the price with them before hand, to not be intimidated by them, they are a lively lot all over India ). Why not share with other guests...The Hotel has a running Shuttle to take you to the Beach, and it will collect, ( it is a small mini bus, FREE so is very popular ). When you check out, often you may need to rent the room for half a day until your later pick up and flight. This isn't a must, but it is cheap and alternatively the Hotel will lock away your luggage for saftey to allow you freedom on your last day, either by the pool, or last minute shopping...
The price of this Hotel is so reasonable, it is safe and has security ( tuff ). The pick up at the AIRPORT is a godsend, and the return for homeward bound flights are fed to you via a Chalk Board in the Games/Info room. I simply relaxed at this Hotel, I slept well, the AC worked, the fan was ample. I am not long back from a 12 day visit with my partner. Breakfast included was a bonus, and eating inside or outside was great. Onsite is a Spa, it offers Goan treatments, Ayurverdic medicinal treatments, a steam room. The prices were very reasonable, £13 for an Hour body massage, and a little chat will get you a discount im sure, or at least a free half hr in the steam room..So there were no green swimming pools ( as I read in a review before ), no ants in the room, and actually very little insects, and I wasn't bitten, which is a bonus ( it is Asia after all). a 3* Hotel. Just remember, what is it you expect for your money???, a kettle is a small extra charge, and the large 5ltre Water was 10p more if bought in the Hotel, so that stops you having to carry it for one.. The receptionists will aid you with whatever they can, Internet- WIFI is 100rps for 1 Hr and available only in the library type room, its handy but there are plenty of free Wifi bars/restaurants..There is the ability to phone the UK or any country and it is clearly displayed how much you are spending ( digital clock ). A local call is usually possible via reception and usually free, or maybe a small tip... I give this 9/10...I was pleasantly surprised..
Great place, would visit again...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ritch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 27 November 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Arrived Goa Dabolim at 1100hrs, took the local Taxi service, do use the Taxi office straight across from the Terminal exit, the cost was 900inr (£9). At the Resort offered room 401, fourth floor overlooking the pool, we like the quieter side, the north overlooking the Paddy. The request to move was carried out the following lunchtime, to 318 very pleased. (See room tips)

The resort is moving forward, new solar heating meant scalding water at least in the North wing. Fridges, TV`s, and Sun bed re upholstery all being attended to. Hopefully later reviews will mention this happening.
It is always a good idea (See the mainstream India Guides) to use the packaged water, Housekeeing do sell a 5ltr bottle for 60inr (60p) so why rough it??

Do visit the Calangute main market for fruit and Mona`s Spices (excellent value & variety) remember to ask for a Receipe leaflet.

We will return again next year.

Room Tip: Quiet, North Wing overlooking the paddy. Sunny and Busy, pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My experience to the palmarinha Hotel was not very pleasant as staff was not helpful very unprofessional and our stay was very unpleasant no hot water for 7days very poor customer services no staff communication with each other very unexperienced no customer service skills.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitakay2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Suites were clean and neat. Service at the restaurant was awful and you can expect starters to come after the main course. Breakfast was also average with options of good egg preparation from live counter.

Overall good place to stay for few days but nothing too fancy.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RainaNitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

just got back from what i call one of the nicest places on earth, same cannot be said about the
palmarinha resort, arrived 7/12/13 at about 1pm, had a short wait before being shown our room.
it was discusting, sheets,pillows filthy, bathroom filthy, paint flaking from ceiling, the room smelt of
damp, could do with more than a paint job. i did bring this to the attention of the staff, they looked at me as if i was from outer space, i had to ask for the second bed for my son, and ask for clean
bedding. we only slept and washed there, ate out every day. will never stay there again, and urge
everyone to do the same. and yes they do charge for everything, including carrying your cup to the pool. never again.

Room Tip: if you want clean rooms and profesionable sevice, i suggest you choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandog2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calangute hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

bhimji68
We stayed at Palmarinha from 17 November to 1 st December 2013. We found that most of the staff were friendly but there were a few rotten apples among them.
To expand, we were stopped from using the smaller of the two swimming pools(paddy side pool) by a pool attendant (Dipak) although this was not the case for Europeans using this pool. Upon realising this I immediately went to complain to the manager who initially sided with Dipak and only relented when I said that I will be complaining to our tour operator Cosmos.
At breakfast whilst fruit juice was being served to guests, we requested juice from a waiter (Akesh) who was bringing fruit juice to all the Europeans at their tables, but instead we were told to get it ourselves from the bar. It is a shame that such an unjust mentality and attitude has been internalised by these few members of staff as it tarnished the hard work of the rest of the staff force there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhimji68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
1.0 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#28 of 111 in Calangute
287 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#15 of 111 in Calangute
257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Osborne Resort Goa
Osborne Resort Goa
#41 of 111 in Calangute
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Horizon
Horizon
#27 of 111 in Calangute
238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#44 of 111 in Calangute
368 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#94 of 111 in Calangute
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmarinha Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmarinha Resort & Suites

Property: Palmarinha Resort & Suites
Address: | Porba Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#12 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmarinha Resort & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palmarinha Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmarinha Resort Calangute
Palmarinha Hotel Calangute
Palmarinha Resort & Suites Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing