We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palmarinha Resort & Suites
Ranked #37 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at the Palmarinha for 2 weeks and found it to be perfect for our needs. It doesn't meet UK standards in relation to star ratings, but if you remember you are in India it is fine. We had a large room with balcony overlooking the small pool and paddy fields at the back of the hotel and liked it. Clean towels were provided daily and the room cleaned. Its much quieter at the back of the hotel and watching the birds, other animals and people working in the fields was nice when sat out on the balcony. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the breakfasts are nice (Indian breakfast; rice, eggs, curries, chapatti's etc) and the staff are friendly. Calangute main drag with all its shops and eateries is just a short walk away - I'd recommend bringing a torch if you plan to walk back and forth at night as the hotel is situated in an unlit area, otherwise tuk tuks are cheap and plentiful, or taxis are available outside the hotel. The fact that the hotel is off the main drag was a bonus in our opinion as it was quiet at night.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Palmarinha Resort & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, rooms cleans, but for first time travellers you must remember this is India and you get what you pay for. The real downside is the majority of guests are Russian and unfortunately they have no social skills or manners, and treat the Goan people like third class citizens, when they are in fact a kind and gentle race. Enjoy Goa for what it is, a beautiful country and as yet undeveloped.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Yvette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Hello and thanks for taking time to view this review. First of all this review is based on the hotel only and any other queries feel free to message us!

As you will see from my earlier reviews my wife and I adored this gem and stood strong against poor reviews. Booked well in advance and direct we were disappointed to find our room was not ready and we were 'housed' in a room 'not fit for purpose' low level of standard within the room and most noisy. Not what we had planned when the hotel had confirmation e-mails repeatedly.

Anyway at 12:00 our room was ready and also the room as requested. First glance most doors had evidence of being forced; kicked and damaged; anyone wise to the changes in this resort knows where that comes from. The room internally spot on and as before serviceable - however after days we stopped using the A/C after chesty coughs developed - cannot point the finger but this was reported - but never fed back to us as repaired or not so never used the A/C again. The room cleanliness had dropped and I did not appreciate Vithal that room cleaner knocking twice in 24 hours seeking a tip - I have never seen this before in resort. I had offered to pass a tip to 'other' staff members who were quite happy to decline. Credit where credit is due.

Sleep quality was good - interfered by a certain nationality choosing to sit up until 04:00 hours in the mornings, walk around banging doors, and I saw several times where they left their doors wide open so noise travels and insecure. There was one night where one 'person' knocked repeatedly on my door at 04:10 - thank goodness I did not open the door.

The hotel had cut corners again due to a certain nationality 'stealing' bread, tea bags and literally anything else they can get away with at the cost of others - Palmarinha - deal with it!!

To conclude the reservation I had made with the hotel did pass as agreed, there were issues not directly appointed by the hotel but they could have been addressed, overall hence my review of four out of five was nearly a three. I would consider this hotel again - but sometimes a change does you good.

Diago - you are a legend and it's about time you got to run the food and beverage management. Sorry to hear Giles and some of the reception team left. But any questions let me know - If you are getting a good deal - go for the Palmarinha as its like and old slipper getting worn by falling into the wrong hands.

Thanks for reading this review

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank F1RNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Palmarinha made my Goa stay totally worth it. Besides the excellent food and extremely pleasant and apt service, the resort has a lot to offer in terms of entertainment. It boasts of a humongous pool, a TT table and a wide collection of books that one can indulge in. Being someone who is v fussy when it comes to hygiene, this place was heaven to me. Extremely well kept rooms with clean linen and floors, the regular house keeping has to be applauded. It's location is great coz its a few minutes drive away from almost every place i needed to go. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kavisa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The property is located at a convenient distance from the prime beaches of Calangute and Baga. Although It appears more like a residential facility, it does have all the requisite elements for a good resort, with the exception of two or four wheeler rentals, which are a must have in goa. The rooms are exceptionally spacious (in that price bracket), and surprisingly very tastefully done. The small balcony with a two chair and table arrangement gives a delightful feel to the room. All the rooms, apparently, have balconies, with different facades of the resort on view. Generously placed beach chairs along side the swimming pool ensure a good time with friends, chilling around the pool. The pool is decent, child friendly, not too deep...and clean. Although we couldn't sample much of the food, the complementary breakfast gave a fair glimpse of the same. The spread, although pretty basic, was certainly delectable. Early mornings and evenings at the al-fresco restaurant make for a beautiful view of the country side sunrise and sunsets. The only flipside to the rooms was the washroom. Although spacious, with decent fittings, the water somehow gave a rusty, metallic stench, similar to the washrooms of indian railways. This was the only deal breaker. loved the beds, loved the rooms, loved the space. Would want to visit again....if they address the water issue in the bathrooms. :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swetachaudhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

So the three of us are just back from Goa our fourth year now, we stayed from the 12th to 26th January at the Palmarina Resort Calangute and were pleasantly pleased with everything about it. It is the first hotel we have stayed in in Goa where we haven’t had to complain about the rooms. Although they did try the usual trick that they all do of trying to put the three of us in the same room we said no we have paid for 2 rooms including a single supplement and once they realised we knew our stuff they allocated us rooms next door to one another. We stayed in the back block rooms 621 & 622 on the top floor of the green suits they were very clean. We had a small kitchen area with a sink there was a microwave on the counter and we were able to email ahead and reserve a small kettle and a hairdryer for the duration of our stay at no extra charge. The reception staff are most helpful, breakfast was included in our package and it was buffet style so a choice of a bit of Indian, or toast and marmalade, or an omelette or fried eggs, there were other choices at an extra charge plus a service charge of around 20% plus tax.

There was a free shuttle bus to Calengute steps every hour from 9 am until 5 we walked a few times from the hotel to the captains cabin shack on Baga beach it's 1.4 miles according to my pedometer.

Be careful of the gaggle of taxi drivers waiting outside the hotel as they try to overcharge you it's better to walk down the road a bit and hail a passing taxi or tuctuc on average most journeys into Calengute high street or Titos lane will cost no more than 200 rupees. It's no more than 300 rupees one way to Anjuna Market we always get the boat back 100 rupees per person to Baga beach and walk.

One thing we did find out was about torn or defaced notes, they are not accepted especially by taxi drivers but if you google Dealing with Indian Money and the Torn Rupee it will give you tips. We have been told you should check your pillows ours were fine however I always take an antibacterial spray with me and spray the bed whatever the condition. Rooms at the front of the complex near the road tend to be noisier due to traffic.

All in all I would recommend this hotel it's not England it's India and by their standards it was good

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank SueNTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I visited this hotel in February, 2012 and the staff were marvellous and this is the reason why were are returning to stay here in February, 2014.
We had a nice room on level 3 overlooking the swimming pool and it was just lovely to sit on the balcony around 4 or 5 pm. and watch the sun go down with a nice cold Kingfisher beer.
The location is a bit out of Calangute and ok, the beach is a taxi ride away, but this makes up for no ' hustle and bustle ' on the road outside later on at nights.
By day, they offer a shuttle bus ride into Calangute and if you are in the ' right place at the right time', you can catch a lift back to the hotel.
We normally just caught a taxi back when we were ready to come home.
The hotel pool is quite clean but they haven't got a pool bar, anyway, there is always somebody coming around to ask if you would like something from the main bar.
My wife and I were quite happy the last time we came here so, ' give it a go again ' she said.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the hotel pool so you can see ' the acts ' from your balcony...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ErictheredPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
1.2 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#17 of 116 in Calangute
258 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#46 of 116 in Calangute
369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#29 of 116 in Calangute
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Osborne Resort Goa
Osborne Resort Goa
#39 of 116 in Calangute
498 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#98 of 116 in Calangute
190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lambana Resort
Lambana Resort
#43 of 116 in Calangute
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmarinha Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmarinha Resort & Suites

Address: | Porba Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#9 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
#14 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: £18 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmarinha Resort & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palmarinha Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmarinha Resort Calangute
Palmarinha Hotel Calangute
Palmarinha Resort & Suites Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing