We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goa Sun Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palmarinha Resort & Suites
Ranked #38 of 119 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed 30 December 2009

I stayed at The Palmarinha with my fair lady in the last week of November and we had a really lovely time- it's a bit further from the beach than the other hotels but we took this as a plus point since the ones in the town centre were amid hustle and bustle where there seemed to be no peace and quiet at any time of the day or night. It's a taxi ride to the beach or centres but there are drivers (like our friend Adnam) outside the gate at all times and it's only a 2 pound journey in.

We didn't spend much time at the hotel but the time we did spend there was comfortable, and we found the staff very friendly indeed. Bedrooms were cleaned every day and the public areas were spotless (although I did have an interesting run in with 3 cockroaches on the first night, coming out victorious and looking very brave in front of the mrs!)

We would have recommended the beach at Baga for the day and evening meal since the shacks are relaxed, friendly and good to booze at whilst the sea comes in past your table, over your feet in the evening. That said we got a taxi out to Ashwem beach for the final 3 days and this is definitely in my top 10 world beaches as it is less populated than the more touristy ones- the driver will take you there and back (and wait in the car for you all day) for about a tenner and the S2 shack is mint for fresh fish, vindaloo and chilling out.

In all, we picked this hotel because it seemed the best value for money and we like to think we made the best choice- as a twenty something couple (except for me who may possibly be 31 that is) we had all the fun we wanted, felt safe and had a really enjoyable time. We highly recommend Goa and Palmarinha to all as close enough to the action but far enough away to provide a retreat from the daytime beach frolics.

Ben and Aimee

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank BandANottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2009

It was with a little hesitation that we booked a weekend here...but I have to admit, I was completely won over by the place!! It is a nice resort tucked away far from the noise and bustle of commercial beach areas, in the paddy fields. It also had all the facilities one needs like sparkling pools(for kids too), gym, table tennis, pool table and a nice restaurant. Breakfast was nice too, but the best part was the staff and service...friendly and always smiling. Made up my mind to visit every year!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raj_09NewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We stayed here from 20/11 - 12/12 and it was just perfect. 3 swimming pools and a kids pool which my daughter was never out of, lovely gardens and surroundings. We had room 55 on the ground floor facing the pool and it was spacious and spotless and nice to sit on the balcony with a few honeybees when my daughter was asleep! The only criticism my wife had was that we were too close to the dining room/kitchens and it was noisy in the morning. This didn't bother me or my daughter but my wife was having nightmares from the side effects of the anti-malaria tablets so wasn't sleeping too well initially.
The bar staff staff, room boys, pool mand and gardening ladies are all amazing and so helpful and friendly and the security guards Cartick (daytime) and the infamous Bengal Tiger (night duty) are legends in their own lifetime. We had a great filling breakfast everyday and as we usuallly only use the hotel as a base the few evening meals and afternoon lunches that we did have were also very delicious. I was concerned at first about the location of the hotel to Calangute but it was only a 15 - 20 minute walk which was fine at the back of the hotel through the fields but slightly too busy at the front to walk with my 5 year old daughter.Overall it was an amzing 3 weeks in Goa again helped by staying in a well run, clean and very friendly hotel and I would recommend this to anyone wanting to stay just a bit away from the hustele and bustle of Calangute. Frank Liverpool

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STALEXLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

From our arrival at the hotel to our departure two weeks later we could not find a single criticism of the hotel,staff or facilities. The hotel is situated approx 15 min walk from the beach / centre of calangute. Courtesy bus or taxis available. This suited us for a nice relaxing holiday by one of the 3 pools provided but still not far from the centre. The staff could not do enough for you. Special mention for Diago (restaurant) Raj (towel boy) and housekeepers for most amazing towel displays (daily). Rooms were kept spotless. Some level of entertainment was provided in the evenings if you did not want to go out. All in all we would not hesitate in returning to the PALMARINHA. Forgot to mention the BENGAL TIGER security men. 12 hour shifts seven days a week but always a smile and a handshake

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JACKEITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

Palmarinha resort was everything I thought it would be. The staff was very friendly right from before the accommodation till after we left. All our requirements were taken care of in a very professional manner. Very good co-ordination among the staff. We felt as if we knew the staff even before we met. Rooms were very good and our custom decorations were very beautiful. Dinner arrangement (for our honeymoon special nite) was spectacular. Food was superb. Drinks very well prepared. Staff were very courteous. All the surprises I had planned for my wife were done to perfection. Thanks a lot to everyone that made our trip memorable. We felt at home. Nice honeymoon place. A bit away from all the traffic, commotion and hubbub yet a walk away from all the activity. Already feeling all nostalgic about this place.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romcupl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmarinhaResortGoa, General Manager at Palmarinha Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!!

Your feedback has recommended many others to have a exciting & memorable stay at the resort and in Goa!!

Do join us on facebook to keep an update of our special exciting promotions and events at this resort which is well located in the heart of North Goa -close to the world famous Calangute & Baga beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Benny D`souza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

i stayed in palmarinha in oct 09. i am a goan settled in abroad,,, been with my wife der
was realy lovely staying in palmarinha.... as the reception people are really nice... there was always smile on their faces.. liked the room very much but was very upset with the food n the service boys... as they never smiled.. except digo was very kind...
breakfast was repeat everyday,,,, poor quality of food but no problem as there are many restaurants in calangute...
special thanks to little girl sneha for smiling everyday & n tall fair manager at thr reception( dont know his name properly but he bes on the reception all time) and paul and not forgeting digo.. you guys made me feel home

thanks and best of luck
MRS FERNANDES X2

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank baby4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gocal99, owner at Palmarinha Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2009

dear guest....
Indeed !! our pleasure to have had you stay with us and we are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, we will endeavour to do our best and try & cater to all needs of our guest.
Thanks you very much....and see you again in Palmarinha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

The resort is about 2-3 km from the calungate beach. there are no taxis or rickshaws available and you have to use the hotel's shuttle service which goes every hour. The staff at the resort have no knowledge of Goa . The apartment we stayed in was clean and spacious. The breakfast is also pretty boring as well, repeating same items everyday. We asked for change in menu, but the manager did not respond and was argumentative. Overall, the resort is a little bit more hyped up for what it is.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank YojuMitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
1.4 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#48 of 119 in Calangute
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#106 of 119 in Calangute
161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#17 of 119 in Calangute
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#33 of 119 in Calangute
292 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#30 of 119 in Calangute
123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lambana Resort
Lambana Resort
#34 of 119 in Calangute
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmarinha Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmarinha Resort & Suites

Address: | Porba Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#12 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: £32 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmarinha Resort & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Palmarinha Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmarinha Resort Calangute
Palmarinha Hotel Calangute
Palmarinha Resort & Suites Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing