We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money. Great location”
Review of Dona Julia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dona Julia
Ranked #12 of 204 Calangute B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Value for money. Great location”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed there during the X'Mas week. Beach is walking distance. Quiet location. We stayed in the Superior AC room. The room was quite spacious. Bathroom was nice and clean. Only thing was the warm water being available only during the day. The staff was very friendly.
The restaurant food was quite good.
The room was very efficiently cleaned everyday. No traces of the sand from the last beach trip was visible once the room was cleaned.
Overall a pleasant stay. Holiday Street is a nice location. Despite it being Christmas the area was not as crowded as Baga.
Only Con being, the cable TV picture quality could have been better.

Room Tip: Take the first floor, and pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RanjitM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    110
    36
    7
    4
See reviews for
63
79
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gandhinagar, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed in standard rooms of Dona Julia Resort for 4 days from 21st Dec,2013 to 25th Dec,2013 with 3 of my other friends. If you are going to Goa and you are kind of traveler who stays less in room and travels a lot to explore the destination, than this is the most recommended hotel for your stay.

Check In : Check In was quick and easy, without any problems.
Basic Amenities(Standard rooms) : All the basic amenities like TV, Fridge, Almira, Showers etc. were there in room and also on our request they provided us pool facing rooms.
Service : Services were good, rooms were being cleaned daily and friendly staff.
Restaurant : We didn't ordered much from restaurant except tea and sandwich. Service was quick and food was average.
Pool : Pool was clean and well maintained.
Pick up/Drop : We asked for Pick Up from Thivim and drop to Madgaon station and it was arranged for us on time.
They would also help you if you want to hire any bike/taxi, they also organize trips to north and south Goa. We hired bikes from hotel itself for four days.
Clitta was very supportive and helpful during our booking process and during our stay there.

Beach is just around 200 mts from Hotel, a 2 min walk. We used to go to beach every night and sit there till late as hotel was nearby. The shacks on the beach are good.

Overall I would say its the best hotel in Goa for you if you are looking for basic stuff and not much luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for pool facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gunjan9153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed here in the mid of December thanks to Manoj who assured me that i would love the stay. The hotel is surrounded with Greenery all around and a Blue Pool right in the center which makes its environment a pleasant one . The beach is just walking distance full of shacks and water sports a much better location then the crowed area of calangute. We stayed in the superior room, the Wash Room was clean as shown in the pictures ,i just love the view from the balcony. Pool is small and clean. Food is ok . Shopping is just a walk away. The best part is that the stay here made us feel that we are on a holiday with everything just a walk away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SatishYadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

If you dont expect too much .. this is value for money place to be.
Pros: Very close to beach.. 2 min walk.., clean rooms, ok food, nice service, friendly staff
Cons/improvement areas: not very well maintained property (at least back side of hotel)

i have stayed here in December first week. and had a decent time out here. it is situated almost in market area but still enough far too have a peace felt.

I would like to recommend this to ppl who doesn't want to spent heavy amount but still wants basic amenities (pool,restaurants etc) .. this place provides enough facilities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishi_Vora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Upon arrival we upgraded our room to Deluxe suite which was decently spaced & looked newly built. The room was very well maintained & must say was upto the mark. Bathroom was spacious & kept clean too. The resort has a clean swimming pool though it was small, but the max depth was approx 5 ft. The best part is the location, just few metres from the beach & close to restaurants & shopping areas on the holiday street. Clitta was kind enough to grant us early check-in as we got completely exhausted driving overnight. Moreover a satisfactory discount was even offered, being high season. The staffs were attentive & presented superb hospitality which made our stay much comfortable. The restaurant food tasted delicious & was decently priced. Parking wasnt a problem here both for 2 & 4 wheelers. Indeed it is value for money & recommended for families. We faced minor loopholes during our 2 night stay, but it gets compensated due to memorable stay. Will surely be back here next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pramodprao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

It was quite a pleasant experience staying in this resort...
The key features:
# Very close to the beach
# Located right in the middle of all hotspot areas
# Amazingly quite place (you can actually hear the birdS chirping)
# Clean & hygienic
# Nice poolside place for relaxation
# Big rooms (try Superior / delux rooms its very spacious & nice furniture)
# Friendly staff
# Good restaurant (non vegeterians must try rawa fry pomfret)
# VERY MUCH POCKET FRIENDLY...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamitRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel is small,calm and quiet property near to the beach. The room was good for the price and the overall surrounding is filled with greenery. recommended for a budget travel. Will definitely visit second time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Debojyoti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.0 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#37 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#9 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#87 of 110 in Calangute
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Calangute Residency
Calangute Residency
#18 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#13 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#97 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Julia

Property: Dona Julia
Address: Gaura Waddo Holiday Street | Gauravaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Dona Julia 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 minute walk to the beach - swimming pool (please carry appropriate swimwear) -Garden bar serving your desired beverages - bed & breakfast service available - self-contained rooms (attached bath & balcony) - air conditioned & non-air conditioned rooms - refrigerator, TV & intercom phone in all rooms - mini pantry facility in deluxe rooms - 24 hour hot / cold water - situated in lush green surroundings - parking facility - laundry service - doctor on call ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dona Julia Hotel Calangute
Dona Julia Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing