We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Village Beach Resort
Ranked #74 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very bad experience”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

we had booked for suite in this resort from their mumbai office 2 months in advance. when we went there they had sold these suite rooms to other guests and wanted us to take normal rooms. the general manager of the resort did not even come to listen to customer complaints, so how can any one expect him to run a resort. they are cheats, they do booking of suites and then as they have your money they try to fit you in dirty smaller rooms. we met other tourist there who told us that if they asked for an empty glass at 4 pm they were provided it at 8 pm, so u can judge the service at this resort.

Room Tip: please don't book in this resort as u'll loose u'r valuable money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rohit1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    126
    71
    35
    83
See reviews for
137
133
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Rooms very dirty, Air condition kept breaking down, did not supply extra bedding as it was a Family Suite, too many dogs on beach, bed very hard

Room Tip: Dont go by photos in website, always get recomendation from friends or family who have been
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Baz1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We've been to Goa before so knew that the accomodation in all hotels is very basic, with furnishings and decoration which rot away quickly because of the humidity. So it was no surprise when we arrived that the windows were crooked in the frames, a very basic wet room, rock hard mattress. We booked the upgraded rooms which had sitting room and balcony. However the random ladder in our room which led up to another level, (which was in fact the roof of the bathroom), was a bit of a surprise, even more so when we climbed up and saw several more mattresses, to go with the 3 under our bed. Air conditioning unit leaked, we had to put a bucket from the bathroom under it and empty several times a night if we wanted it on, we did report it several times to reception, they mended it about 4 days later, but it broke again within a hour. Full size fridge, but it was rust inside. Reception staff were basic with not much english spoken. There are alot of indians stay here and they are very noisy, they all seem to have a habit of hocking and spitting frequently, which is annoying no chance of a lay in. Breakfast was porridge, toast, very thin omelette with barely any filling, or vegetable curry and chapati. There were 2 couples who arrived from Essex the same night as us and they demanded to be put in another hotel the next morning as it was so basic and they were staying for 3 weeks, have to say I'm not surprised as we had shower in a room similar to theirs and it was extremely small and far shabbier than ours.
If you accept this about Goa and just get on down to the beach, chat with the locals in the shacks to understand more about their lives, taste their delicious food, watch the beautiful sunset and just expect a simple holiday this could be for you. The fruit sellers argue over you, we had some shouting at each other at the bottom of our sunbeds. There are no proper pavements, rubbish is left laying around and there are nightly power cuts so buy a torch from the beach sellers you'll need it. You need to take some of the sob stories with a pinch of salt though, especially from the children who are on the beach daily, selling trinkets and fruit. The police have severley cracked down on all the shacks and beach sellers, Calangute isn't too bad either, but we saw several times hoards of police arrive on the beach and confiscate sunbeds, chairs, parasoles, the goods of the beach sellers, all the locals were very afraid of them, it was sad to see. All the shacks can only have a licence for 10 sunbeds, anything over that is taken away and the owners have to pay 5,000 rupees to get them back, about £65. We tried to go to Peters shack, which had been recommended on Trip Advisor, but it had been closed down by the Police the day before. Unfortunately we went there during their local elections, they strongly enfore the no drinking after 10pm rules, again bar and restaurant owners were scared of the police. We went prepared and went back to sit on our balcony for a nightcap. We had a great time, very relaxing, but for those who haven't gone to Goa before it can be a shock.

Room Tip: Always upgrade and ask for the living room and balcony, it only cost us £65 for 2 weeks
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lizzy1f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

after reading many negative reviews we where pleasantly suprised with the standard of this accomodation,rooms clean,plenty of hot water,excellent swimming pool and friendly staff.location is superb.people should remember this is india.the rooms were cleaned every day by very pleasant staff nothing was to much trouble for them

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dannyc28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

my friend and i loved this hotel despite its many imperfections, but enough is enough. The new management are dire and the hotel has gone too far downhill. Last year we thought they's get it together, we were proved wrong.
Despite the addition of concrete mushrooms everywhere and waste bins as penguins, and the fact the rooms are repainted, they hadn't damp proofed and the old terrible furniture was looking even shabbier
The first apartment we were offered, A1, looked out on a wall with barbed wire on the top and stank of damp. We point blank refused it and were eventually offered another room at 1.30. We had arrived at the hotel at 5 in the morning. The second apartment was adequate.
We returned after a week in the south for the 12 o'clock check in. This time at 1. 30 we were given an apartment with one wall was totally covered in mold. We refused this but were told they had no other apartment available until the next day , so we were forced to sleep in a room that stank of damp and cats.
The next day we moved in G6, an apartment we had stayed in before and liked. It had a wonderful view. This year the wonderful view was dominated by a gigantic rubbish tip they had built in the middle of the lawn.
Rooms weren't cleaned, we saw 3 package tour guests storm out, the pool, which was why we stayed there was twice filled with drunken revelers for private parties. The whole thing was dire. So farewell and never again, sad because we loved this hotel despite all it's many faults,
but enough is enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bettystaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Paradise Beach Resort is ideally located with direct beach access to a quieter spot just minutes south of crowded Calangute Beach. The suites have a couch and chair for TV watching with ceiling fan and the bedroom has air conditioning. The shower did have hot water. It was a great value which included breakfast. My only reservations was the unfriendly manager and lack of available room at checkin. He claimed they were too busy with a Russian tour group. I had to get a bit angry to be shown to my prepaid, reserved superior garden view suite. After that: Paradise

Room Tip: Eat lunch at the beach restaurants and they provide you with shaded lounge chairs on the beach for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hshaw999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We are 3 couples,who booked our stay at 3 villa's via one of the owner(Ketan Sardesai).When we reache dthe airport,our cab which was confirmed to us,wasnt around to pick us up.When we reache dthe hotel,the morning Manager Suhail,wasnt aware of our arrival.After "Tipping" him 100 rupees,we finally got 1 suite & 2 studio by 1.30pm,while we arrived at the resort by 7am!!!

Finally in the night,we were recalled at the reception by a waiter(Yup their waiters behave like managers & managers like house keeping!!!)We were asked to vacate our rooms 10pm in the night,as they claim that they allocated us "Someone" elses rooms "By Mistake".I spoke with the other managers Ravi and Sachin & even spoke with their Mumbai manager for booking Umesh,they finally agreed to "Allow" us to stay for the night.

Out of courtesy,as the other family who's rooms they claimed they gave us,we alloted our two studios to them & 6 of us slept in one suite!!!

The food is average,service pathetic & rooms average.Only thing worth talking about is that they have an entrance to the calungute beach!!!Avoid this place,even if you are paid to stay here!!!

Room Tip: Haha,please read my commenst above
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mustafa1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.7 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 110 in Calangute
675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calangute Residency
Calangute Residency
#18 of 110 in Calangute
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Severina
Casa Severina
#8 of 110 in Calangute
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#37 of 110 in Calangute
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adamo The Bellus Goa
Adamo The Bellus Goa
#16 of 110 in Calangute
492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingstork Beach Resort
Kingstork Beach Resort
#17 of 110 in Calangute
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Village Beach Resort

Property: Paradise Village Beach Resort
Address: Tivai Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Village Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Village Beach Hotel Calangute
Paradise Village Beach Calangute
Paradise Village Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing