We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Goesa Beach Resort
Ranked #81 of 225 Calangute B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This villa is well situated near the beach. We taught it was too pricy. The room was small, we were told that they had wi-fi but it only worked near the reception so we could not used it in the room, the breakfast was not included and the beds were so hard! So near the beach but for the price you can get so much better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

I booked this hotel on the basis of decent reviews from family and on the internet. I was not expecting 5-star amenities, but, at this price, was expecting basic cleanliness and upkeep. Unfortunately, we found neither. The rooms have outdated equipment that is poorly kept; bathrooms are dirty, with broken toilet seats; towels and sheets are stained; the grounds are poorly maintained; and the restaurant is dingy (we used it only for tea). I've posted photos, so you can see for yourself. On the limited plus side, Vila Goesa has perhaps the best location on the Baga/Calangute stretch, siting on a pretty and relatively uncrowded stretch of beach. If you choose to stay, insist on a pool-facing room, and do not book anything other than the most basic room. Anything else is simply not value for money. This place has much potential, but at the moment poor upkeep and lack of investment really hold it back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool have decent ambiance. The rest either face into noisy work sites or unkept br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This resort is right on the baga beach and has exclusive beach access which is little off from Baga between Baga and Calangute. In fact, Baga and Calangute are both accessible from Vila Goesa.

The bunglow style accommodation was lovely however we did have to put up with noisy AC's. But that was too little a problem.

The service was a little slow but it's understandable as this is a big property.

We have stayed at Calangute Residency in the past and wanted to try a new resort. Villa Goesa offered better rooms at the same prices and have exclusive access to beach.

Overall a nice and quiet place to spend a weekend in Goa.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajneesh_kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. Overall a very good resort at a good price. If you are looking for a peaceful stay without going too far from the right beaches, this is very good option. We took a deluxe room which is what I would advise. Nice pool. Private entry to the beach. No beach view though coz there's a big garden in between. Its a bit too quite with more old people staying for extended periods but overall very clean and pretty. Breakfast is not that great.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe room for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed here with friends for 1 night. Clean and cozy rooms .Good value for money. The best part is that the beach is just 2 mins walk from the hotel . Couple of things to note are 1) The AC in the room makes too much noise so you may find that annoying.2) the restaurants food is bad , and the service horrible So would recommend you to eat outside. There are many nice places to eat nearby.

Overall a good experience

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_Mut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The resort is a bunglow style with rooms with balconies and if you are lucy you can get one facing the swimming pool. The resort has a private beach with access from the resort itself which is less crowded and ideal if you want to relax. The breakfast is not very elaborate and downside is there is nothing for the vegeterians that is included in the complimentary breakfast but you can pre-order the previous night for a price. Overall the rooms are clean and the sheets are while, bathrooms are clean too and the staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Do not be happy with the first room you see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Goa has a well-earned rep for being a non-stop party town but in the middle of all the cacophony, there's Vila Goesa. A tranquil sanctuary nestled amidst lushly planted gardens with its own private walkway to the beach. Nothing fancy or ostentatious but exceedingly charming with its old-world B&B Potuguese mansion feel. I specially like the balconies overlooking the gardens and the inner courtyards that you pass thru to get to the rooms. Combine that with the solicitously accomodating service from the staff and you have the makings of a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eidaromlaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#26 of 119 in Calangute
130 reviews
0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#105 of 119 in Calangute
161 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#48 of 119 in Calangute
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#97 of 119 in Calangute
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Neelams The Grand
Neelams The Grand
#39 of 119 in Calangute
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little India Beach Cottages
Little India Beach Cottages
#3 of 257 in Calangute
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Goesa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Goesa Beach Resort

Address: Cobrawaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range: £30 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Goesa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star private beachfront resort. Best value for money in the midst of Calangute Baga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Goesa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Goesa Beach Hotel Calangute
Vila Goesa Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing