We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this Place.....”
Review of Casa Aleixo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Aleixo
Ranked #37 of 206 Calangute B&B and Inns
Vizag
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“I love this Place.....”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

we visited during 2012...
The place is very good....
Nice garden, swimming pool, Room is also fine....
Of course the TV is not working good..(never mind) who cares for TV..when in Goa..
Especially the staff is very polite and helpful...they arranged bike...for us...
There is no restaurant...
I will definitely do visit this place again...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunilnarkimelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed from 3rd - 7th Dec 2012....its is a very nice and well maintained property in the heart of baga.Baga lane can be very noisy,but this place is located right in the centre and yet so quiet.I had driven down from Mumbai and as requested did get a parking space inside the property.The owner Wilfred is a very helpful.The rooms are neat and clean.We will definitely recommend this place and looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: AC rooms are larger and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dhara_Hiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We go to Goa every year and are pretty well verse with different type of accommodation options available. We had first stayed at Casa Aleixo in January 2009. Our 2009 trip was perfect and we were extremely happy with our stay. Hence, we decided to stay again at Aleixo this year. However, our 2013 experience at Casa Aleixo was much different & filled with quite a few hiccups. Below is my detailed review of our 2013 stay:

Property & Location: its a private bungalow converted to a B&B inn. The bungalow is beautifully built with about 15 or so rooms. There is decent sized pool and fairly huge garden area. It is centrally located on the main Baga road and just 2 mins drive to the Baga beach and Calangute beach. Parking for 2 and 4 wheeler available inside the property.

Rooms: we stayed in an AC room. Rooms are quite spacious. Amenities include hot water, box color TV with cable, fridge & kettle. Rooms are cleaned every day, but towels changed once in 2 days. Considering Goa is a beach destination, think they should change towels every day. In 2009, most of the furnishing looked new & well maintained. This year we noticed lot of furnishing had rusted. Shower was not working properly with water trickling out of it instead of coming in full force. They need to replace or clean the shower heads. Also geysers had to be kept switched on for 10-15 minutes before they could throw hot water. in spite of geyser being on through out, hot water used to run max for 10 minutes or so. Room lighting was very dim. They must install more bulbs or tube lights.

Rude owner, but courteous staff: i had booked the rooms on phone and was going to pay the money on arrival. When we reached the hotel, the owner was not present. Also there was no electricity at the hotel. When we inquired with the staff they said power will be restored in 2-3 hours. We didn't pay the room service staff full amount and paid only for 1 night as we wanted to be sure there is no electricity problem at the hotel every day. When the owner came back, he started speaking rudely to us coz we didn't pay the full amount to his staff. This is no way to talk to a customer without even understanding their point of view. He should have at least inquired with us what was the issue. My husband could have also spoken rudely to the owner but he didn't considering his age. We just paid him the full amount to shut his mouth. We found owner's attitude extremely unprofessional. There are 2 room keeping boys to manage the property. They were quite sweet & helpful on the other hand.

Expensive considering its Room only: the hotel is advertised as B&B but the room charges does not include a complimentary breakfast. For room only and considering rooms are not maintained well, the asking price of the hotel is quite high. You can get a similar size room with all the above amenities in 1/3rd of the price quoted by Aleixo in Goa. Also the hotel doesn't have a full fledged kitchen. They offer basic breakfast in the morning at a very high price.

Final verdict: nothing exclusive to offer except location. Cheaper and better rooms available in rest of Goa. Avoid unless you have no other options available (for example in peak season)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desouzawm, Owner at Casa Aleixo, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
A Very curious review !
A lady called up abot 5 days earlier to make a reservation for two rooms saying she had got our reference from a friend. She called again later to say she could not deposit an advance ( as is our policy for confirming bookings) due to the bank strike at that time in Feb. We agreed to confirm the booking provided she pays on arrival which she agreed to.
When they arrived I was busy elsewhere. However my staff called me urgently as the party ( 2 couples ) were refusing to pay and after some discussion they agreed to pay a very small token amount only. I was urgently called back by my staff to handle this group as they were proving difficult. ( Yes, there was a short general electrical shut down by the Elect dept at that time for which we have back-up power).

When I arrived an hour or so later, only one gentleman came out to meet me. HIS explanation was (believe-it -or-not) that his friends wife was 'pregnant' and therefore they had to reserve some money for any exigencies!! I asked him as to how that becomes a reason not to pay us, as agreed by the lady who booked the rooms . He persisted in arguing with me - never once mentioning any other reason for not paying. He insisted he was offering a genuine reason ie. his friends wife's pregnancy !!
The friend came out of the room briefly but was sent back by this gentleman as he did not want him to hear the discussion. Finally I had to insist that they honour the terms agreed to earlier.
He actually did suggest that he could go elsewhere to which I readily agreed that they should 'go', as there would be many cheaper places around. He then immediately changed his stance and quietly paid-up. The lady who had originally booked never showed her face so I do not know whether she was present as one of the guests.
So much for the facts - and their distortion !
- desouzawm ( Owner )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at casa aleixo for the third year running [again for 3 weeks], we cannot praise Wilfred and jeanne enough for there warmth, kindness and concideration,in particular this year when i met with an accident whlist out and about. The help,advice, support [and walking stick] would not have been available in other accommadations i doubt?
The very high standards are not only maintained but improved on each time we visit and we were very well catered for by Arup and Ravi, who served breakfast, cleaned our rooms and changed the linen/towels daily all with a genuine smile.
The only negative we experience is when we have to leave and say farewell to our true friends at Casa Aleixo, but look foreward once again to returning next year [allready booked] To our Home away fro Home
Tim and Janet Cahill

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timandjanet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We go to Goa every two years and have stayed in a different place every time.
This is the first year we stayed at Casa Aleixo but it will honestly not be the last! Wilfred, the owner, is very friendly and extremely accommodating. His staff are also very pleasant and are willing to help with any request.
Baga beach is a 5 (or so) minute walk away and a lot of activity (bars, restaurants, shops,etc.) can be found fairly close by as well.
The swimming pool is very nice, if a little cold at first dip!
All in all, this is a fantastic place which I have already recommended to everyone I speak to and will certainly be returning to the next time we visit Goa.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pafer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We went on a honeymoon to Goa from 16th to 19th Feb 2013. To begin with i was in touch with the owner Mr. Desouza through mail and he had wonderful advices for me. When i reached the place I was given an AC room although I had booked a non AC one. The place is wonderfully clean and well maintained. We also received special treatment with Goan sweets and fruits(all complimentary) as we were on honeymoon. That is why i have to say...you may be able to afford better places with much more facilities and extremely impeccable services but if you really want to feel at home in a place like Goa...you have to go to Casa Aleixo.
My regards to you Mr. Desouza and lots of love to the wonderful Aroop.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niteshPatna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Stayed for 1 Night but wish we had stayed at Alexio for the entire time we were in Goa. Amazing place, extremely clean and well maintained. Excellent owners, almost make you feel like family. Had a lovely time interacting with them. The thought they have put into each artifact and the details that they have looked into makes you feel that you are just at home. Good lawns, decent library and the impeccable cleanliness has made us decide that we will stay only at Alexio whenever we visit North Goa. The owner cautioned me that he does not advertise on portals such as Agoda, so beware for fake rates! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Place does not have a 24/7 restaurant or room service. So make sure you inform the cook in advance a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akhilesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.2 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
0.4 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#32 of 110 in Calangute
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bonanza
Hotel Bonanza
#11 of 24 in Baga
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelsta
Hotel Shelsta
#47 of 206 in Calangute
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Aleixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Aleixo

Property: Casa Aleixo
Address: 2111 Baga Road | Cobravaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Aleixo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi, Room Service, Free Parking, swimming pool, spacious and meticulously clean rooms, spacious guest areas, beautiful gardens-Walking distance to both Calangute and Baga beaches, centrally located in quiet & serene gardens and walking distance to the most popular entertainment district in Calangute and Goa. Travel assistance, sight-seeing assistance provided.Special rates for long stays and groups with special owners hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Aleixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Aleixo Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing