We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, need better service!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Souza Lobo

Souza Lobo
Ranked #10 of 408 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Family owned traditional goan restaurant specialising in seafood and goan food with live music every night,situated right on the main calangute beach.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
259 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Good food, need better service!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We prefer bringing food home rather than all of us going out, so while yesterday was another popular restaurant, today was our Souza Lobo's turn.
We ordered 2 plates of sweet and sour pork, 2 of garlic chicken, few pois (goan bread) and 2 mixed fried rice. After a wait of about 40 minutes which I feel is too long for off season, since I could see only 2 other tables occupied, our order was brought, only to realise that the bill was lesser than my estimate. On checking the bill again, we saw that instead of 2 plates of the gravies, we were brought only 1 of each. While mistakes do happen, if the waiter had to repeat the order, this could have been avoided. Maybe I have to make it a point to have the waiters repeat the orders in case they forget.

This may be a very rare incident, but otherwise this place is very famous and during tourist season, they put tables in the open air and they are also full. Dont miss this place if you are at Calangute Beach.
Most of the dishes are priced between rs 200 - 500 and the quantity is good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alanjoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    650
    211
    71
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
480 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Hidden and worth it! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We went for dinner along with another couple on a Friday night. It was quite full but we managed to get a space without delay. Along with drinks, we ordered chicken goan masala & red snapper for appetizers. The portion size was adequate & taste was good. For main course, we ordered steamed rice and chicken xacuti. Again a delicious though spicy dish. The service was good. Being right at the beach, we could savour the sounds of the sea as well. There was live music that added to the evening!

Helpful?
1 Thank prpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

It was a beach view place, the food was nice and it was a good experience, if a little more expensive than any of the other little shacks on the beach. The beach outside was definitely quite crowded, however the music in the shack was quite nice as it was live music.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karisma509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Age old establishment that has been standing tall over the years .This place is open throughout the year , the only holiday being Good Friday every year. In and around Baga and Calangute this is the place for authentic Goan cuisine , and , they are very consistent with the quality of food they dish out.Refrain from ordering any of their continental fare apart from the butter garlic preparations.The Crab Xacutti is maybe the best thing they make here , and its worth every ounce of it.Their local sausages are phenomenal and so are their pork and beef dishes , in the event one is not a great sea food fan.All their goan preparations tick the right boxes .Their caramel custard is quite nice albeit its on the slightly sweeter side.The service is a tad slow but when weighed with the quality of food that could be overlooked.In the evenings , when its not monsoons they have a seating arrangement outside by the beach and the atmosphere is quite nice.Overall , a must go place if you are a fan of goan cuisine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anirvan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Never going back !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Souza Lobo is a name synonymous with Goa restaurants for a lot of people. So on a recent holiday in Goa, we decided to visit this restaurant for dinner one evening.

The place looked tacky. Nonetheless, we decided to still give it a go. We opted to sit outside since the inside was unbearably warm. We were disappointed to see that the outside seating area overlooks a dirty unkempt stretch of the beach. Our first 2 drink options were unavailable. So we ordered some alternatives and a couple of appetizers. By the time we were done with all this, we had decided to go elsewhere for dinner.

A very sad & unsatisfactory experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rnzn-indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Souza Lobo also viewed

 

Been to Souza Lobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing