We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write about”
Review of Chattai Beach Huts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chattai Beach Huts
Ranked #46 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Canacona
Reviewed 4 March 2014

1) Its not on the beach. For the price, it should be.
2) Nails jutting out, doors not closing, creaking ladder to the "sit out with no view", termite residue (or whatever it is called) on the floor of the sit out.
3) Cold shower, torn towels, no soaps.
4) Offered us a taxi to Panjim at a reduced rate of 2000. We hailed one from the road for 1400.

Those are my first few observations. The staff namely Mangesh is quite friendly. The manager Charlie wasnt. Everything else is blah really. Didnt eat here do cant comment on food quality.

Reduced stay from 3 nights to 2 nights and moved elsewhere.

The 2 points are for the myriad of birds sounds from the thicket behind that wake you up in the morning. Beautiful.

This doesn't merit a recommendation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelSuperGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Let me start by saying that the pictures on the website are absolutely misleading. My reason are - The rooms are run down with old unwashed sheets, curtains and chattai's! The bathroom in the room was big but not clean. It felt like no one cleaned it after the previous guests left. The wash basin had no water. Even by backpacker standards, at the very least needs to be clean.
The room walls are so thin, that you can hear a regular pitched conversation in the adjoining hut.
Definately not worth the price in peak season.
What we liked - some rooms have a sitting area above the room or outside the room which is nice. Staff tried to be helpful and they make great masala chai.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nandita360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was the second time I stayed at Chattai and the stay was absolutely not the same when I stayed here earlier..the quality of huts has degraded tremendously..it was untidy..unhygienic..no soap no bucket..nothing.....The rates are also high as compared to huts located right on the beach...Its a wake up call for the management to revive the entire setup..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rohanshah_advice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed in Palolem Beach Huts for a night during second week of December 2013 & we felt it was out biggest mistake to be at Chattai while visiting Palolem & couldn't enjoy Palolem beach at all and we came back next day. In short the location of the accommodation spoilt our mood. The owner who takes booking over email did mention that the huts are not on beach, but the website pics are quite misleading, so we also did a mistake here by thinking it might offer a distant view of beach/sea which was completely our wrong conception. The huts are situated in the farthest end side of the beach completely away (around 2 kms) from the main beach and market road of Palolem, More over its not even near to beach, u have to walk down through a very narrow lane for 2 mins to reach the farthest end of the beach and have to walk through entire beach sea shore to reach the main entrance of Palolem which will take around 10-15 mins as walking through sand is not an easy option. The chattai huts are poorly maintained, while moving around the hut room many a times we felt that hut might broke down, the windows if u by mistake open, I bet can't shut it again. In the morning it is tooo cold since the huts are not concealed/made properly like the agonda ones. The bathroom was the only feature which was good, big one , pretty neat and well decorated. There are sit outs for every hut but the view from sit outs is just terrible. We felt like left alone as no one else we could hear in the other huts except a group of young ppl came very late night and started to sing songs, play music loud which was nothing but sound pollution and spoiling the sleep. We didn't dare to take lunch /dinner, only had breakfast which was average with local Pav and oily omelet. We approached the beach from main beach road after walking down about 2-3 kms through main road in the afternoon and saw so many good accommodation options right on the beach that we had left with no option but to regret our choice :(
Only of you are visiting in peak season where no other place to stay then only I would say you can think of this place for staying overnight.

Room Tip: Avoid this place and go for accommodations right on beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robanerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We thouroughly enjoyed our experience here, the beach huts are very basic but it's just what you need. Charlie and mangesh are very acomodating and mangesh makes the best mojitos! They can also organize anything from day trips to laundry so anything u need is all in one place, we will definitley be returning one day.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank lisar1238910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Beach Huts OK, they looked better than many others in the area, they're set back from the beach - the walk to the beach was a little strange, lots of litter around, but I guess that goes for the whole area. Some staff were friendly but others not so. I had to ask for clean sheets on my bed when I arrived and had a bit of an argument trying to get my passport back from one member of staff. Over all pretty average.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

1. The huts are done up pretty frugally.
2..the staff seem to be some local kids from the village. The last 3 nights we stayed here were terrible. There were some staffs friends in the little open bar that is located at the centre of the huts. They were up till 12 playing music and getting drunk and making a ruckus. Then some one on at the same bar started playing music at 8 in the morning.
place is best avoided. Don't be fooled by the pics in the review.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eddieonaball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canacona hotels
0.9 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
306 reviews
1.3 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
0.7 mi away
Seaview Resort
Seaview Resort
#18 of 23 in Patnem
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Secret Garden Resort
Secret Garden Resort
#5 of 14 in Patnem
83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bamboo Yoga Retreat Goa
0.7 mi away
Casa Fiesta
Casa Fiesta
#8 of 23 in Patnem
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattai Beach Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattai Beach Huts

Address: Ourem 81/5 | Palolem Beach, Canacona 403702, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Canacona
Price Range: £22 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chattai Beach Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattai Beach Huts Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing