We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel to Stay....Cosy enviorment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fern Gardenia Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Canacona
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel during feb 1st Week, Nice cosy enviorment....rooms are bit small though.

Pool was looking clean, but not so clean when you get inside. They need to do a better job for the amount they are charging.

Very less food options, specially veg, whatever is in the menu is good. Nearest beach palolem, nice beach good fooding options, but you need a bike to go there as shuttle service starts at 9:00 AM, and stops at 6:00 PM.

No view from the room.

Overall a nice place you get your privacy, but felt could have been much more, they charge good amount so felt should have been better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

I tend to trust trip advisor and rely on it when I'm booking rooms but I'm at a loss to understand the positive reviews regarding the Fern Gardenia.
We were accommodated in studios in the garden, there were gaps between the wall and ceiling allowing mosquitos easy access.
The shower produced a trickle of cold water, the towels were dirty and threadbare.
Opposite the entrance is a shanty town where people live so I feel dreadful complaining about trivial things such as this. However somebody is making a lot of money providing this sub standard accommodation.
Thankfully we managed to check out early, we moved to a much nicer hotel in Goa.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here in January 2014. Canacona/Palolem is a quiet area with few competitors for this type of hotel. It is expensive for the region and hence I judged it against what I expect for that kind of money.
The huts are in need of refurbishment and particularly the showers which are downright laughable. The airconditioning is good and a real plus point. We needed to turn off the fridge in the room at night as it was exceptionally loud.
Cleaning staff did an ok job but I have to mention the towels..........fresh towels every day, each day they were worse and worse. The quality of sandpaper and dirtier than the old towels.
The pool area is very small and inadequate if more than 8 people from the hotel decide not to venture down to the beach. The poolside bar was never open unless you actually went to reception and got them to send someone out.
Staff are friendly and helpful but totally un-trained and curiously lethargic until prompted to help. There was no sign of any management or supervision at the hotel and the young staff just seemed to be left to make it up as they went along. I felt sorry for most of them as they were obviously keen to please but had no idea of standards of service etc.
We had no problems with courtesy cars to the beach, although at 70rps per rickshaw it was no hardship to sort it out for ourselves.
The beach is only 5 minutes by tuk tuk and has enough laid back night life and restaurants for anyone, which is just aswell cos the hotel dining area is hopeless and the bar is a hut. Breakfast is served at the same location. Limited choice at breakfast but enough to get you started and down to the beach where the choice was impressive.

Room Tip: \the rooms are all the same, ie poor. Personally I would look for another hotel, or perhaps one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John7554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

What a place to stay, we had the best time, best lentil dhal cold beer and clean sheets every day, snake ninja is the best bar man in the world, nothing is any trouble for all who work there, comp water and free beach transfer made all the difference, any person to find a problem with this place should get them selfs a life my love, keep it up all, see you soon love olive junky x

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank iris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Best resort available in palolem, 15 min walk from the beach, if not in the mood to walk, they provide complementary pick & drop to the beach. All facilities available including free wi-fi. Overall good service, only disappointment was, they didnt offer to carry my luggage at checkout... which can be overlooked. I do recommend the hotel.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed here over Christmas and New Year,it is a nice resort with lovely surroundings but it could be better with a little money spent on the cabin bathrooms.The shower cabinets are dated and badly need replacing.The sunbeds also need replacing around the pool and there are not enough when the resort is full.The walk to the beach is misleading,beleive me its a long walk,i would not like to do it in the dark.The staff are very helpful and try to make your stay a good one.In saying all this i did enjoy my stay but just a little more thought into updating would help a great deal.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank pinadagolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

great resort with classic fascilities wooden cottages are excellent very calm atmosphere manager mr shaikh is very co operative and always ready to help customers overall a great value for money we stayed there from 11 jan 2014 to 15 jan 2014 dr pranav shah ahmedabad

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pranav19712014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canacona
1.3 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
305 reviews
1.8 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
0.8 mi away
Oceanic Hotel
Oceanic Hotel
#9 of 19 in Canacona
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palolem Inn
Palolem Inn
#5 of 9 in Palolem
95 reviews
9.9 mi away
MAYFAIR Hideaway Spa Resort
20.7 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Gardenia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Gardenia Resort

Address: Palolem Agonda Road Devabag | Near Dhavlikar Hospital, Canacona 403728, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Canacona
Price Range: £54 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fern Gardenia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fern Gardenia Resort is a unique Eco - Sensitive Resort at Palolem beach in South Goa. Apart from being the only hotel in Palolem with a Swimming Pool & Pool Bar, the hotel aims at providing Luxury accommodations to the budget sensitive travelers, which is a first for Palolem beach. Located 1KM from Palolem Beach in South Goa’s Canacona district. About 60kms from the Airport, 2kms from the Canacona Railway Station and 30kms from Margao.The Palolem beach, also known as Paradise beach is one of the most picturesque beaches in Goa with crystal clear waters and white sand. This beach has fast become the best alternative to the crowded beaches of North Goa.As of now, accommodations in Palolem were restricted only to the shanty coco huts or guest houses along the beach belt or to the only expensive Star hotel in Canacona which is way beyond the reach of many. The Fern Gardenia is the only hotel in its category which sports all the comforts and amenities of a Luxury hotel but fits in the budget of the average traveler visiting Palolem and Agonda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fern Gardenia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fern Gardenia Hotel Canacona
The Fern Gardenia Resort Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing