We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fern Gardenia Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Canacona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and beautiful”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

this is one of the most pleasant stays I had in Goa. Beautiful little cottages. good food! very close to the palolem beach. Very friendly staff!

Rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast options are good. Its a good place for people travelling in groups.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    92
    54
    17
    7
See reviews for
50
139
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Recommended by colleagues, it is clean and friendly. Food at the restaurant was good. Nice and quiet but maybe too quiet. Would probably preferred a place on the beach but they did have a free shuttle. Free wifi was a bit unreliable and down quite a lot. Pool side bar was not really open, you had to ring a bell for service - maybe because it was low season although I think they were full.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaynePod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this property from 01-04-14 to 05-04-14, and I must say I was pretty disappointed with the level of service. They can't play music in Hotel property since it is located next to a Hospital & music might disturb patients. Only Kingfisher Can is served in pool side bar, no bottles no other brands. I do no why they call it pool side bar when they only serve is one beer. Swimming pool is very small, if at any time their are 5 people in pool, it kinda seems full. No food variety in Hotel Restaurant, Tandoor Items are not served.
Recommend only for 1 night, you might get bored the 2nd night since they don't have any inhouse activities.
To summarize, I don't think what they charge per night is justified in any way.
Surely a NO return Journey for me.
P.S. I'm a regular at other properties of Fern(Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Vadodara)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mittalrawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

It was quite and very peaceful with service staff ever available to assist , pool side bar is great place to relax in late afternoon or early morning. Room being cosy and peaceful provides a warm hospitality sense

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaaK46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed at Fern Gardenia for 15 days during Feb 2014 had a wonderful time,beautiful surroundings lovely helpful staff couldn't do enough for you,accomodation good clean and well maintained, sheets and towels changed every day. Could always add to breakfast menu by ordering each morning if you wanted eggs /omelet etc. Found pool to be very clean and was cleaned every morning by staff as were the grounds always someone brushing up leaves and tidying grounds. Cannot wait to return next year to this lovely place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 111Daisy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel during feb 1st Week, Nice cosy enviorment....rooms are bit small though.

Pool was looking clean, but not so clean when you get inside. They need to do a better job for the amount they are charging.

Very less food options, specially veg, whatever is in the menu is good. Nearest beach palolem, nice beach good fooding options, but you need a bike to go there as shuttle service starts at 9:00 AM, and stops at 6:00 PM.

No view from the room.

Overall a nice place you get your privacy, but felt could have been much more, they charge good amount so felt should have been better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I tend to trust trip advisor and rely on it when I'm booking rooms but I'm at a loss to understand the positive reviews regarding the Fern Gardenia.
We were accommodated in studios in the garden, there were gaps between the wall and ceiling allowing mosquitos easy access.
The shower produced a trickle of cold water, the towels were dirty and threadbare.
Opposite the entrance is a shanty town where people live so I feel dreadful complaining about trivial things such as this. However somebody is making a lot of money providing this sub standard accommodation.
Thankfully we managed to check out early, we moved to a much nicer hotel in Goa.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canacona
1.3 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
292 reviews
1.8 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
0.8 mi away
Dreamcatcher Resort
Dreamcatcher Resort
#3 of 9 in Palolem
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dropadi Inn
Dropadi Inn
#9 of 9 in Palolem
50 reviews
12.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
0.7 mi away
Marron Sea View Resort
Marron Sea View Resort
#4 of 9 in Palolem
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Gardenia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Gardenia Resort

Property: The Fern Gardenia Resort
Address: Palolem Agonda Road Devabag | Near Dhavlikar Hospital, Canacona 403728, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Canacona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fern Gardenia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fern Gardenia Resort is a unique Eco - Sensitive Resort at Palolem beach in South Goa. Apart from being the only hotel in Palolem with a Swimming Pool & Pool Bar, the hotel aims at providing Luxury accommodations to the budget sensitive travelers, which is a first for Palolem beach. Located 1KM from Palolem Beach in South Goa’s Canacona district. About 60kms from the Airport, 2kms from the Canacona Railway Station and 30kms from Margao.The Palolem beach, also known as Paradise beach is one of the most picturesque beaches in Goa with crystal clear waters and white sand. This beach has fast become the best alternative to the crowded beaches of North Goa.As of now, accommodations in Palolem were restricted only to the shanty coco huts or guest houses along the beach belt or to the only expensive Star hotel in Canacona which is way beyond the reach of many. The Fern Gardenia is the only hotel in its category which sports all the comforts and amenities of a Luxury hotel but fits in the budget of the average traveler visiting Palolem and Agonda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fern Gardenia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fern Gardenia Hotel Canacona
The Fern Gardenia Resort Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing