We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrific - Never Stay Here”
Review of Sunbeach Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunbeach Residency
Ranked #55 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Canacona
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Please, heed my words - stay away from the Sunbeach Residency. It is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The photos are grossly misleading. The property is a dump. You will regret booking a room at this laughable excuse for a "hotel."

It is hard to know where to begin when describing the Sunbeach. Perhaps I wouldn't be quite so disappointed had I been charged a fair price - not the near 5,000 rupees per night (thanks to Agoda); a price which had us expecting a decent, clean and comfortable hotel. However, had I even paid 1/5 of that price, I would still have been let down.

Let's start with the property. I'm not sure when they took their exterior photos, but when we arrived in late December 2012, the grounds were a mess. A tattered tarp, propped up by driftwood, extended from the awning. I had to duck to walk beneath it. Wires were strung across the yard. Stray dogs wander the grounds, howling and barking all night. Garbage is piled up in the corners of the yard. Not a good first impression.

The room? What a joke. It absolutely reeked of mothballs and mildew - awakening allergies I did not even know I had. The walls were filthy, paint chips hung from the ceilings, stains and fingerprints dotted the walls, cracks in the ceiling and walls were wide enough to fit coins (if one were so inclined to waste even more money here). The fan protrudes through a hole that looks as though it was punched in the ceiling via fist. A tiny, 12-inch, fuzzy TV sits in one corner - a few static-ridden channels are available. No phones.

The bed is rock hard, and comes with an airline-quality pillow and threadbare fleece blanket. Have a nice sleep.

The bathroom... oh no, the bathroom. The source of the foul smells, haven for mildew, bugs breeding in the toilet. Ridiculous shower. Mothballs lying about the floor. Paint peeling from the walls. Better suited for a maximum security prison.

During our three-day stay, no room service or clean towels were provided. They didn't even empty our garbage can.

Perhaps you think I am being too hard - that I am a complainer? Well, I will say the staff was friendly, and the location, while not very close to the beach, has some merit - easy walks to a couple of good restaurants, and a walkable to Palolem Beach (scooter is best). There is free Wi-Fi, but you have to sit outside (in the mosquito den) to get reception.

Sleep quality - the bed was ungodly uncomfortable, the fan made a racket, their dogs barked all night... not much sleep to be had. We would leave the hotel each morning at about 9 am, and not return to 11pm, as would couldn't bear the stench of that room.

Food? I wouldn't. The kitchen looked like a mechanic's garage.

Please heed my warnings. The Sunbeach Residency misrepresents itself hugely. You will be disappointed with your stay and it will negatively affect your vacation. There are dozens of other places to stay nearby. Do not stay here.

As for the positive reviews given to the Sunbeach Residency, I cannot explain them. I have some theories, but I'll keep them to myself as to avoid unnecessary slander.

I'm sure the owner will respond to this review, defending his "hotel" and perhaps even trying to poke holes in my account, but again, heed my words: you will regret booking at the Sunbeach Residency.
Or go ahead with your booking at the Sunbeach Residency - and as you choke on the stench of mothballs and toss and turn through the night, you will recall this review and lament.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 533David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atul d, Owner at Sunbeach Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Hi David,
Greetings from Sun Beach Residency! Hope you're doing well. We would like to thank you for investing your time reviewing our guest house, every feedback is valuable. We are glad you were happy with our staff. We along with Agoda have helped provide wonderful experiences to our customers from across the globe - as seen in the rest of our reviews.
We would like to point out a few hygiene and product quality standards maintained by us that should help bring clarity on your experience:
Our guest house is renovated and painted fresh (both interiors and exteriors) every year during October - November for the festive period, therefore cracks in walls etc are extremely unlikely.
All of our rooms are equipped with new fully functional, top of its class LG LCD TV's, with premium satellite cable connections providing about 60 national and international channels. The mattresses and pillows are ISO 9001:2008 standard certified (accredited by ISI) to ensure quality. Our ceiling fans too are accredited by IS: 374 - 1979 and installed using standard procedure, so rest assured the safety.
We ensure daily room service is provided, which includes (at 12 noon) sweeping of floors, mopping of floors, washing the bathroom, bedding change (alternate days). These are standard cleanliness procedure under taken by us, apart from any other additional requests that our customers may have. However since you were out through maximum of the day, we do not enter/clean without consent of the customer in their absence.
Goa and especially Palolem unlike other cities in India, is tranquil and quite - this being one of the main attractions for tourists. For a more noisy and active night-life and streets we urge customers to maybe try north Goa - Baga,Calangute or the the city side -Panjim. We ensure quality within the premises of our guest-house, however we are not able to control factors external to this.
We regret your frustrations, and would strive to make your stay with us and around Palolem more comfortable given another chance.
Thank You,
Sun Beach Residency

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Sunbeach Residency
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

Set by the beautiful beach of Palolem, in the beautiful landscape of South Goa, Sun beach residency provides the perfect stay for the tired urban crowd looking for some quiet and relaxing time in Goa. The hotel is in a safe place, hardly any distance from the beach. The room was big with adequate amenities and delicious food could be ordered all day. But what really made our trip was the outstanding customer service. The hotel staff which was very friendly and knowledgeable served us very well and even helped us in arranging good and economical transport to and from Madgoan. I would definitely recommend it for anyone looking for a great time in Goa.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaurav_pathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

This was a great little find in Palolem, just off the beaten track and no more, within a 5 to 10 minute walk to the beautiful beach.
Quiet and peaceful with a lovely garden, it was very pleasant to sit out on the verandah at night with a beer or in the morning to watch the birds and butterflies.
The rooms are basic but clean, with good beds and pillows, clean sheets, and fresh white towels, and the shower is efficient with hot running water.
The air con is also very efficient albeit a little noisy, and thats the only niggle I could find.
Atul, the guy who owns this little place is warm and personable and extremely helpful, giving us advice, making phone calls for us etc, and the little family who run the place are just lovely.
I believe its a husband, wife and son team who cook, serve and clean, and who are all attentive and very friendly.
And then there's Raja the dog who greeted us warmly every time we came in or out.
Overall, as a budget accommodation I would rate the SunBeach Residency hugely given how ridiculously cheap it is, along with excellent staff and owners, and the haven of pace and tranquility that it is.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bethspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atul d, Owner at Sunbeach Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thank you for you time to review our property, we really appreciate it, looking forward to having you at Sunbeach Residency in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This would be a good choice for anyone who wants to stay somewhere a little quieter and not right on the beach. The rooms are clean and the guys who run the place are very helpful. Palolem beach is a 10 minute walk and about a 20 minute walk to Patnem beach.

Top Tip: Make sure you bring a torch, it is very dark walking back from the beach at night and you can expect at least 3 short power cuts a day in India.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atul d, Owner at Sunbeach Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thanks for your wonderful review, we look forward to have you at Sunbeach Residency again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

A beautiful place situated about 5 minutes from Palolem beach. Very clean and hygiene rooms..a beautiful garden and very welcoming staff..Das, the helper and cook was more than happy to service our needs. Breakfast and requirements were quick. A cute friendly dog welcomes you with an ever wagging tail.
Each room has a small veranda which gives you a very goan feeling. The bathrooms are well kept and clean with 24 hrs running hot water with a shower and an english toilet.
Pradeep Uncle was very welcoming and went out of his way to make sure that we had a pleasant and memorable vacation. He is really nice to talk to and ensures all requirements are serviced promptly. A very warm and amicable person.
If in south Goa again, we will certainly want to stay at this place again and certainly recommend this place to others. A real homely, peaceful and relaxing place at a reasonable price.
Keep up the good work and we will certainly visit you soon.

---- A couple from Mumbai..

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_Perfect_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunBeachResidency, Owner at Sunbeach Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Thank you for your excellent Review , we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Located down a quiet road, it’s set back from the more touristy area, but still within very easy reach (couple of minutes’ walk) of the beach, bars and restaurants. The room was very clean and comfortable, although the AC was a bit on the noisy side, and there was a well-kept, little veranda out front. The guys that run it are very friendly and helpful, and the service was great. In short, it’s a good choice for the more discerning backpacker who wants easy access to everything, combined with a bit of peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonjcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a great hotel for all those people who would like to enjoy a homely stay Goa the owners are great to talk to and they know their business the sheets are clean the bathroom is clean for the price you pay what else can you expect ?? I see there are a couple of Negative reiviews about this place with regards to the colour peeling off the walls or the fact that there is no room service .. listen what do you expect for the price that you are paying, this probably they would be feeling since they might have travelled during christmas and new years when the prices in goa are at its peak, Id say that the hotel needs a second look in fact i would go and stay then the next chance i get to step back to goa.. The owner and son are both great chums and quite firendly nd will go that extra step to help you.

its unfair to compare with other hotels in the area since most of them are dirty shacks with no amenities whatso ever to think of let alone a wall.

so all the best to you guys looking for some other beach however to us it was just a perfect location,...

Ahh and screw the paint the place has swanky air conditioners and a just right Television set what more cna one expect for like 65 $ ??

cheers..,

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Rixos Hotels and Resorts
Thank Dhaval_Jangla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canacona hotels
1.3 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
300 reviews
1.7 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
1.2 mi away
Seaview Resort
Seaview Resort
#18 of 23 in Patnem
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Roundcube Palolem
Roundcube Palolem
#14 of 33 in Palolem
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Fiesta
Casa Fiesta
#6 of 23 in Patnem
55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bamboo Yoga Retreat Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbeach Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbeach Residency

Address: Palolem, Canacona 403702, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Canacona
Price Range: £48 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a short stroll away from the picturesque crescent shaped Palolem beach - arguably the state's most beautiful beach; Sun Beach Residency offers 13 comfortably proportioned rooms. All rooms come equipped with modern amenities to ensure a comfortable stay – including American size beds with fresh and clean linen, en-suite bathrooms with 24hr running hot and cold water and standing showers, LCD TVs with premium satellite channels, individually controlled air-conditioning, ceiling fans, power outlets. Every room has a coffee table and sitting area inside as well as an afternoon verandah with a sit out area over looking well manicured gardens. Sun Beach Residency has ample of off road parking space available for both 2 and 4 wheelers, with round the clock security. Being strategically located Sun Beach Residency offers a peaceful and quite stay; and at the same time is a short hop from the lively local market place, curio shops, famous Goan shacks and Palolem beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunbeach Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbeach Residency Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing