We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Traditional Meal”

Teo Soon Loong Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 701 Restaurants in Melaka
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Gemencheh, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Traditional Meal”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

a simple way to make the dishes but thumbs up for everything that is served before your eyes especially the yummy steamed fish !!!

Helpful?
1 Thank 628Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    86
    35
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Extremely poor service”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

It doesn't matter whether the food is tasty or not. The boss is very rude and has poor customer service. Simply spoils the mood while eating there. The boss is impatient to questions asked, gives sarcastic replies as if I am an idiot asking him questions. It's my first and last visit there.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank ebliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Teochew Food in Malacca, some say best in Malaysia”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This restaurant is located along a side road adjoining Jonker Street. Ask your hotel concierge for direction. Reservation is a must as the restaurant is very popular and has limited sitting capacity. This is the first thing you must do after settling down in your hotel. The hotel concierge would be able to help you with the reservation.

Do not expect any posh setting as the restaurant is a traditional local restaurant that has not been renovated for many years. Expect an 'old' restaurant setting. The only consolation is that it is air conditioned. But the good food will make you forget about the environment.

The Boss has retired now. His 2 sons have taken over the cooking whilst another son captains the customer orders. He speaks perfect English and you do not need to worry about communicating your food order. The grandsons also help out with the order or waiting.

Their oyster black noodle, hor hiang (prawn roll) and pork rib bitter gourd are their signature dishes. Dont worry if you forget to order them. The Boss will be around to remind you to order their signature dishes if you have not ordered them. Boss makes a very good PRO moving from table to table and entertaining and cracking jokes with the patrons.

We also ordered the braised duck and the steamed promfret (fish). A bowl for rice would go well with the dsihes.

For dessert, we ordered the Or Nee (chinese yam paste with ginko nuts topped with coconut milk). You cannot missed the Or Nee advertisement posters that lined the walls of the restaurant. They distribute their Or Nee all around Malacca and sell about 400 portions a day. You can order the takeaway if you intend to eat it in the next few days. They will provide you with the frozen portions to bring back to your hotel. You can keep them at the hotel cafe's fridge. Just give the F&B guys a small tip for storing the dessert. You just defrost and you can eat it as cold dessert.

Despite the full house, we did not have to wait very long for the food. This is because the 2 sons were cooking simultaneously. The quality of the food was consistently good. Everything was cooked to perfection.

Next came the PR / marketing part. All marketing students must learn from this. If mango (fruit) is in season, the Boss will give a complimentary portion of the fruit to sample. The mango is about the size of size 12 shoe. This is called mango king. The Boss will gently 'nudge' you to place your order with no obligation. The mango was really nice and I bought 3. It costs about MR$ 14 per mango. Put it in your hotel room fridge and eat it the next day cold. It will be super nice. Borrow a paring knife from the F&B staff to cut the mango.

We had a table of 10 persons and the food was enough for all of us. We paid about MR$ 250 (US$ 104). This work out to about MR$25 (US$ 10) per person. For the quality and quantity of food, this is very reasonable.

Tee Soon Loong Chan Teo Chew Seafood Restaurant. Keep up the good work !

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ksleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

This is easily one of the best places I've eaten at in Melaka! The oyster noodles are delicious, and the yam paste (orh nee) is fantastic. We will definately make it a point to visit each time we are in Melaka. Do make reservations via telephone to avoid disappointment, the place is packed on weekends.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinkozoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You get best Chinese food in this locality”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I was damn hungry as I landed in Melaka around 3.30 pm and got out of my hotel around 5 pm and then looked around found some restaurants where people were having food and then choose it .

I had lot of choices but ordered a chinese mixed freid rice and crispy chicken with hot sauce and it was awesome i never tasted so nice food (chinese food ) anywhere i was stuffing me i knew but the taste was simply heavenly

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaprocks49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teo Soon Loong Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Teo Soon Loong Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing