We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasons to love this Place”
Review of Hallmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel
Ranked #113 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Sfax - Tunisia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Reasons to love this Place”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Hallmark Hotel is one of the wonderful hotels of the town and there are a number of reasons that anyone will love this place. First, the rooms are fantastic- very clean, very pretty, nicely decorated with lots of fabric and well-appointed with luxurious things. Secondly, the quality and choice of food is great. I got an amazing variety at every meal. Lastly, the staff members - very polite, very caring and professional. I stayed here with my husband to celebrate anniversary and we really had a great time together. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    32
    48
    20
    16
See reviews for
41
36
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
WA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Check in process was ok for a 2 star hotel, we had 2 rooms booked side by side which was good to have. On our way to the rooms, the first room door could not be opened so had to go back to front desk and get it recoded. The foyer looked basic but clean and not too bad but when getting out of the lift was another world. Coridor looks quite dated and shows signs of aging, then again Malacca is a historical city. Entering the room again showed its age, beds just ok not quite the level as most hotels i stay. On the positive note, you get toiletries like toothbrush and free wifi which I thought is the best feature of the hotel. Room came with a safe though both rooms were not usable and when i called the front desk, they said to drop stuff at the front desk. For some reason i believe it was not luck and common throughout the hotel. Tv reception was horrible and limited in what you can watch. I noticed an ash tray in the room so we requested for non smoking but was told all rooms were smoking. Any impressions of the hotel went up in smoke, sorry for the pun. Agaib the first room could not be opened later on and i noticed another room had the same issue and the hotel staff assisted them. So i waved them down, apparently you need to give it a nudge which i was reluctant to do. Something fell from the door when i closed it. At night was well... A nightmare really as noise from the streets take little effort to penetrate the room. Needless to say we all had little sleep. Then early morning the stench of cigarettes came into our room so i had to open the windows and crank the aircon down, i wasn'nt getting any sleep anyways. Breakfast was included being a plus but was not too impressed so went outside to eat. Another positive and only other positive was its a stone throw to Jonkers street which has a great night market for a part of the week. Would I stay here again, lets just say i would like to stay refreshed while on holidays.

Room Tip: Request for a quieter room, it gets noisy late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TouristWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Located 10-15 mins drive from Jonker Street. Not recommended if you do not have your own transport.

The bed was kind of hard and not so comfortable. Pillow wise are too soft for me. Had a stiff neck after first night. Try to book a room which is not facing the main road if you are a light sleeper. The hot shower was GREAT!

Breakfast selection is not bad. Give it a try to their coffee.

Room Tip: Choose room which is not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLBeachBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stay for 2 days 1 night in Dec. We had to change rooms at 3am as there were bed bugs as my friend was bitten badly. We counted and there were actually 65 bites all over her body. The staff on duty that particular night were not exactly very helpful nor apologetic.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 779serenec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This hotel is an average hotel for the price, the photos on the web site must have been taken a long time ago. The rooms are clean ish but not spotless by any means and the room we had smelt of stale smoke, not the best for a family room. The staff were friendly enough except for the restaurant, not very helpful or happy. The restaurant was pretty poor and dirty in my opinion.
The hotel is well within walking distance a supermarket, Jonker street and plenty of restaurants. The price by taxi from bus station is between 15-20 Rinngot ,approx 7km.

I hope this helps.

Room Tip: Look before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fleeceme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serian, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

its just opposite the UTC building, and a shot walk to Jonker Street.
We booked 12 superior / deluxe rooms as we were a large group of 60 : mainly families with young children.
The reception staff were not friendly and wanted to know why there were so many children!!
When we requested for extra towel, we were told we would have to pay extra if we wanted 1 extra towel or blanket!!
This is the 1st time ever i heard of extra towel/ blanket being charged extra during my travels n stay at various inns, hotels n hostels!!
The toilet, once flushed couldnt stop refilling so we had to listen to it all night long!
Room smelled of smoke.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuti2malaysia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

Location is good. Just 5 minutes to Jonker Street. Reception Staff are very helpful and nice except for that old rude Aunty at the Cafe during morning Breakfast. She acts like she is the Boss there. Shouting at Customers for Breakfast Slip like nobody's business and watch people eating like a Hawk. Very irritating. Room Bedsheet and Pillow cases are not clean and not comfortable. Toilet door is quite old.. Really need to brush up.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berniechiahumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#97 of 166 in Melaka
97 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Crown Hotel - Melaka
0.4 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#34 of 166 in Melaka
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Prima Hotel Melaka
Prima Hotel Melaka
#120 of 166 in Melaka
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Baba House
The Baba House
#46 of 166 in Melaka
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#38 of 166 in Melaka
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel

Property: Hallmark Hotel
Address: Hotel Hall Mark 68 Jalan Portugis | Off Jalan Kubu, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel is a 2 star budget hotel in malacca malaysia. We provide accomodation at very reasonable prices. The hotel is strategically situated in the city center near many major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing