We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor”
Review of Hallmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel
Ranked #98 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very poor”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Not recommended. I only stayed here because I arrived late at night and needed a place quickly. Distinctly unfriendly counter staff, acted like they were doing me a big favor by serving me. Default setting: indifference.

The room was actually not too bad except for the stench of cigarettes which also prevades the entire building. No non-smoking rooms available.

Shower worked well, the room had been adequately cleaned but the bed was very hard. Aircon seemed to have one setting: full blast and freezing, so turned it off.

Breakfast was included but a pretty drab affair. The breakfast area is dreary and ill-kempt. Windows and front door are dirty. Malaysian coffee/kopi with horrid artificial creamer, cheap n nasty bread for toast.

Someone with an ounce of ability needs to take over this place and turn it into a real hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    32
    48
    18
    15
See reviews for
40
35
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This hotel is located at the edge of the busy Jonker Walk. That's about all that is good about this hotel, location! Other than that, expect to be welcomed by rude staffs and poorly maintained rooms. Look elsewhere as there are more worthy hotels around the area. Surcharge is a norm at this hotel, so prepare to be over charged. Will never put up there again ever!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the noisy and busy main roads in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuinosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. The room was clean and the toilet and shower were good. Pricewise, it was a little bit more than I wanted to spend but the accommodation was decent so I didn't mind too much. If you leave the hotel and turn left you'll head towards Jonkers Street which is great. Make sure you try the Chicken Rice Balls. If you turn right out of the hotel and walk to the petrol station, then go right again over the bridge and walk for 10 minutes you'll reach a little cake shop called Saint Merry on Jalan Munshi Abdullah street, it's opposite a large hotel. It is simply fantastic and amongst the best cakes I've ever eaten. It's definitely worth the walk there. Make sure you try the Taiwanese Cream Cakes and the freshly made pineapple tarts, which are much better than the ones in Jonkers Street.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We bought the package through GroupOn. It was Double Bed room. Found that the room clean and neat but it was a bit different from the hotel picture, i'm a bit disappointed. Everything was okay and satisfied, just the bathroom. The drain hole was clogged, they need to repair this thing which it disturbing your value time with water. We missed the welcome drink and breakfast because too exhausted sight-seeing around Malacca. My husband and I will come back if they improve the drain matters. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelySH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My husband & I stay there a night for leisure, it was terrible experience. Sound eco was bad, can hear sound from all upstairs, down stair and neighbours..air Cond was very noisy, house keeping is bad, we saw cigarette butt near window, bed cover has smell and not clean. Worst part is the toilet, shower head has water dripping on & off, quite noisy. Sit wash closet cover was damn dirty, can see huge dark spot underneath it which make us feel awful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kajang, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed for a night, Triple Room
Room & Bathroom : Clean & pleasant.
Buffet Breakfast: Basic, simple & tasty.
Staff: Friendly & helpful.
May stay again in the future.
Nearby the town.
The room is not very small since my 2 years daughter can play around in the room.
For those who are looking for a short stay, should consider this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pengemisjalanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dowerin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We have stayed twise at this hotel, choosing it mainly forprice and location. Each time we have requested room changes due to smell or tiny bathroom. Staff are generally helpful. The breakfast is a basic affair but adequate. Easy access to thr river walk and the Jonker Walk.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hinchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#103 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Crown Hotel - Melaka
0.2 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
#53 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
906 Riverside Hotel
906 Riverside Hotel
#33 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark View Hotel
Hallmark View Hotel
#51 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel

Property: Hallmark Hotel
Address: Hotel Hall Mark 68 Jalan Portugis | Off Jalan Kubu, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel is a 2 star budget hotel in malacca malaysia. We provide accomodation at very reasonable prices. The hotel is strategically situated in the city center near many major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing