We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, friendly staff, simple but clean room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kota Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kota Lodge
Ranked #47 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Location, friendly staff, simple but clean room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

I stayed in Melakka for one night...and I tried my luck without a reservation @ Kota Lodge. There was a nice single room with a bathroom inside and a balcony available, which I took for 86 ringit. The room is simple, but clean. the aircon is new - it is not noisy, but I preferred to use the ceilling fan. The bathroom is clean as well, the shower works with hot and cold water. The water pressure was good. The room was worth the money.

The location is great - quite close to jonker street and the city center, maybe five minutes by feet. The staff is exraordinary friendly. As irish2012121 I also met the owner and he gave me a little tour through the town and we had a very pleasant conversation.

Room Tip: You probably should prefer a room with its own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuZhongWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    29
    23
    7
    14
See reviews for
10
23
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

My partner and I booked this guest house two days before our planned arrival through Asia Rooms. When we arrived at about midnight the man working there had not received our booking and we had to wait for him to process it.

He showed us our room, a double with air conditioning. We immediately regretted our choice to stay here. It was more like a prison cell than a guest house room. It was tiny and very old. The lino floor was ripped and pulling away, the paint on the concrete walls was peeling off, the floor was covered in ants and the air con dripped when left on which made such a noise we couldn't sleep. The door was positioned by a window which was so easy to break into it isn't even funny.

The shared bathroom was at least clean but the hot water lasted about 20 seconds before going cold.

The shared living space was very dirty, didn't really even want to sit on the chairs available.

All up we paid 50ringgit for a decidedly average room and checked out first thing the next morning. We went to the ABC Hotel next door which was cheaper and much cleaner.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

broome
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Budget hotel. No frills but quiet and comfortable and in a good location. Fridge not working and no tea or coffee but had a kettle. A few tea or coffee bags would have been appreciated. Staff were helpful. Enjoyed Melaka and breakfasts at Hari Aum around the corner if you like roti for breakfast,

Room Tip: Need a map to find the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueanddavida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Im recently back from travelling but have been meaning to review this place for ages. As a sole traveller arriving in melaka bus station on my own trying to figure out how to get into the centre, i stumbled across the owner of this place who happened to be a pure gentleman. He mentioned he had a hotel in the centre and would be happy to give me a tour of the town and his hotel with no obligation to stay. He and his wife showed me all the best places to eat and visit including the amazing indian near the hotel.
After a long journey on my own, I was so appreciative of his genuine friendliness and hospitality. The hotel itself is very central and well maintained and I had a very pleasant stay there. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting melaka looking for a safe, central, affordable and homely spot. Loved my time in melaka, was one of my favourite places in Malaysia.

Room Tip: Ask the owner for the local food recommendations
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish2012121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

This budget accomodation Kota Lodge is totally value for money for staying in Melaka.You can walk around the major attractions of Melaka as everything is just around the lodge.The charming & friendly lady in the reception just makes you feel so welcome in this foreign land, you feel right @ home:)

Had a great weekend,
Mimi

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank factonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

It's a small and clean lodge, situated in the back streets, near the heritage centre. Recommend it for its location, budget and friendly staff. Near Jonker street with lots of food options nearby.

Had a thoroughly enjoyable experience in Melaka, positively recommend strolling by the river in the evening .... Great photo opportunities ... Overall, it's a different experience than the other places we had visited in Malaysia.

Had an unique experience in the process of finding this hotel! We were wandering in the Melaka central bus stn when we were approached by an relatively old man (Mr. Lee, owner of the lodge) who spoke fluent English. Initially, we were doubtful as he could have been a con man, but his demeanor and openness about the location and also willing to be open about other options and providing us with suggestions as to what we could do during our 1 day in Melaka won us over .... He was also helpful and helped us get tickets to Singapore and by warning us about the lack of seats on Sunday afternoon!

Happy traveling!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shal_sundry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This place wasn't much 3 years ago, but at least it was clean. The same friendly lady at the counters, calling everybody "Darling", the same ladyboy assistant, but the rooms are smelly, the AC in urgent need of replacement, and the small fridge better left unopened. After one night we moved to the ABC hotel next door, which is brand new, and offers large, clean, comfortable rooms for the same price;.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank René M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
2.0 mi away
Coastal Park Hotel
Coastal Park Hotel
#38 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#32 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#84 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#31 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
1.3 mi away
Grand City Hotel
Grand City Hotel
#57 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kota Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kota Lodge

Property: Kota Lodge
Address: 26 Jalan Kota Laksamana 3 | Taman Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Kota Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kota Lodge is simply a home away from home. Ideally located in the heart of Chinatown, you can easily access yourself to the most historical part of Melaka in merely 2 minutes on foot. All types of Malacca delicacy can be found near Kota Lodge such as, Chinese, Malay, Indian and also the Baba & Nyonya. A 24 convenient shop is just round the corner. Come and stay with us and we will make you understand more about Melaka and Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kota Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kota Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing