We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kota Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kota Lodge
Ranked #47 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed two nights here again this year. Service staff were friendly and very helpful,it is worth mentioning ms may.She made our stay comfortable and recommended few places of interest which is worth visiting.Hotel location is near a row of old shophouse that is a heritage area, within walking distance of the Stadhuys, the A Famosa and the point for river cruise.Good thing is that there are also lots of good eatries and shoppings nearby.
I really like melaka environment(feel peace) and traditional food (Nyonya Laksa).And i will stay in again at this Hotel.
Enjoy your trip in Malacca & have a blessed trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Damsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    29
    23
    7
    14
See reviews for
10
23
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

This hotel has a good walking distance around the town.You can get a lot foods just around the hotel.It's just 5mins walking distance to Chinatown.But the main highlight is that the treat from staff May to us is damn unsatisfied.Me and my wife used to stay there for 4 days.The last day came and I already told her that we will check-out extra 30mins late as by 12pm we need to check-out.I don't mind paying it but she told me that if I never check-out by 12pm,she will break into my rooms.Is this a polite way to treat a customer.My wife feel so sad about this.Overall hotel facilities is fine.Is just that the treat given by staff May to us is not good at all.Thanks .

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony is good for smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nesh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Kl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Hotel Kota Lodge will always be my first choice whenever i visit Melaka. Not only because of its reasonable pricing, the excellent service provided by the staff especially owner, Ms May, is just overwhelming. This hotel just never fails me. Less than 5 mins walk to the famous Jonker Street and ample of parking spaces available. Been reading feedbacks such as ants and dirty rooms but am surprised that i never experienced that throughout my stays here. However, im sure the management of the hotel will do great job in tackling the problem as i've seen Ms May herself, running around fulfilling every customer's needs. In short, Ms May has never failed to add sparks to every of my Melaka visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaeEmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Excellent value for money but book aircon room. V hot. Polite and knowlegable staff, nothing too much trouble.. Quiet location but near centre. Centre lively until well after midnight especially at weekends.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owenlabertawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We were given a leaflet at the bus station, the rooms looked sparkly and clean. Quite obviously they were taken some time ago. We had walked around the town for a while and places were either full, out of budget or had a shared bathroom and tonight my husbands stomach needed ensuite !
So because of the lateness of the hour we decided to head for Kota Lodge. Quite frankly I wish we'd headed back to one with a shared bathroom. The hotel is in the backend of town, the room looked dirty, the walls around switches were filthy, paper peeling from walls. But we took it for the ensuite!
They don't give a top sheet, just a non fresh smelling blanket complete with hairs and I should have inspected the base sheet better. No joy from reception.
The bed was comfortable and the A.C. was quiet, so that's a bonus
It was definitely one night only!!
Just as a footnote: we are used to budget accommodation and this is below the mark.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanW751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

We noticed the room was full of ants after we checked in. We politely notified the lady at reception and her solution was to give us a bottle of bug killer spray to spray the room. After spraying, the chemical smell was soooo strong we felt sick. We went out the whole day and only returned at around 2am but the chemical smell was still pretty strong. Smelling in these fumes is really damaging to a person's health.

After we sprayed and noticed how strong the smell was, we had asked if we can switch rooms. We were not asking for an upgrade, simply a change in similar room. She replied that we want cheap room so that's what we get and that all similar rooms were booked. She told us to pay more to get a better room because the more expensive rooms had no ants. What kind of answer is that? We checked out the more expensive room and there were ants as well. She made it seem like it was our problem by saying " Why you afraid of ants?" We should've known something was wrong right when we arrived. She started to sell us an upgrade right when we walked in. I don't even think there was anyone else staying at the hotel that night. I didn't see or hear a single person. In the end, we didn't get a room change nor did we get a refund.

I have travelled many places and have paid for cheap and expensive rooms. I did not expect much for what I paid for the room. All I expected was a clean room with a bed and attached toilet/shower. I had read a few reviews on TripAdvisor and most were positive. This hotel is ranked in the top 1/4 of the hotels in Melaka. Oh please! Don't be fooled.

We stayed outside the hotel and didn't even sleep that night. We treated it as if we paid for a room to store our luggage. As if it couldn't get worse... we asked the hotel owner ( I think it was the owner) to call us a cab early in the morning to get out of there...I'm pretty sure we got ripped off but we just wanted to get out of there...he even tookk a cut from the cab driver right in front of us when the driver arrived!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bets_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

I stayed in Melakka for one night...and I tried my luck without a reservation @ Kota Lodge. There was a nice single room with a bathroom inside and a balcony available, which I took for 86 ringit. The room is simple, but clean. the aircon is new - it is not noisy, but I preferred to use the ceilling fan. The bathroom is clean as well, the shower works with hot and cold water. The water pressure was good. The room was worth the money.

The location is great - quite close to jonker street and the city center, maybe five minutes by feet. The staff is exraordinary friendly. As irish2012121 I also met the owner and he gave me a little tour through the town and we had a very pleasant conversation.

Room Tip: You probably should prefer a room with its own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuZhongWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.6 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#33 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#30 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coastal Park Hotel
Coastal Park Hotel
#40 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sunshine Inn
Sunshine Inn
#56 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.5 mi away
AL-33 Hotel Kota Laksamana
AL-33 Hotel Kota Laksamana
#71 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.6 mi away
Angsana Hotel Melaka
Angsana Hotel Melaka
#45 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kota Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kota Lodge

Property: Kota Lodge
Address: 26 Jalan Kota Laksamana 3 | Taman Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Kota Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kota Lodge is simply a home away from home. Ideally located in the heart of Chinatown, you can easily access yourself to the most historical part of Melaka in merely 2 minutes on foot. All types of Malacca delicacy can be found near Kota Lodge such as, Chinese, Malay, Indian and also the Baba & Nyonya. A 24 convenient shop is just round the corner. Come and stay with us and we will make you understand more about Melaka and Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Kota Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kota Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing