We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
Ranked #5 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The beds were old and creaky, mattresses not very clean or thick. It isn't very quiet due to the fans, traffic and mosque. The dorms are small which is nice, bathrooms are basic. Breakfast is just toast. A very personal experience- the owner is really high energy and very sweet. Close enough to the Main Street in Chinatown, but not above and beyond value wise.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sshield7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    54
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
4
41
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This guesthouse would have to be my number one favourite hostel I stayed in this trip.
The atmosphere is amazing.
Howard the owner here makes it such a unique experience.
When I arrived he introduced me to everyone which was good because I was travelling alone, he also took everyone there on a bike tour to dinner and on the weekend took us to the markets.
Pretty basic hostel with toast for breakfast but for 5 dollars it is definitely worth every cent and more.
I even went back to Melaka but ended up couch surfing with a friend there and Howard recognised me walking down the street and said hello! Would recommend for everyone!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hfarrell94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

One of the most sociable places you could wish to stay whilst travelling in Malaysia. Howard the owner\manager is a brilliant host and has countless interesting stories about his upbringing in Maleka (including one about his Chinese grandad and a monkey brain - ask him!) If you're travelling solo this hostel is a great way to bump into some like minded people, and its a very fair price for all the fun you will have here.

Thanks Howard and I hope you do make it to the UK to travel one day (just remember to visit the Hebrides and not Blackpool)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I arrived at this hostel after a 7 hour bus journey from the Cameron Highlands, it was St Patricks Day and Howards (the owner) birthday and he was in China town with other backpackers celebrating. He let me in, told me to leave my bags and join the others! Had a great night meeting the others, drinking and dancing!
This hostel is run by Howard, who's both friendly, cheerful, social and helpful. He perhaps the first owner I've met that cares so much about his guests - he takes you all out for dinner or advises you where to go, arranges bus tickets and cycle trips
The location is great, next to China town, short walk to Little India, also can catch a bus to the central bus station
The dorm itself is nothing special, but if you only want to sleep then theres no problem
Breakfast is included- toast, again not bad
The only not so great part was the bathroom- could be better, cleaner
That said the communal area is great to have breakfast, catch a movie or just chill
Given the price- 40 ringet for 3 nights, it's very good plus met some great travellers!
Would defo recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blot17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This place is a great place for backpackers looking for budget accommodation and meeting fellow travellers. The owner (Howard) is very friendly and helps you out right away in case there are any issues (we only had one minor issue with the internet, solved within minutes).

Unfortunately we had a jet-lag after flying back to Malaysia from the Netherlands to continue our travels. Otherwise we would have joined Howard for a dinner tour, chilled out on the very nice rooftop and would have been more chatty to our fellow travellers. :-)

The room was basic (we booked a double room with shared bathroom), but decent enough for us and it matched what we paid for it. Air-conditioning worked fine. The shared showers were fine and more than enough to prevent queues.

The hostel is easy to reach from Melaka Sentral by bus and about ten minutes walking. Of course you can take a taxi as well.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Dutch_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

The location was pretty good, though not right smack in the middle of Jonker Street, but everything was within walking distance, even to the bus stand with buses to take you to the main bus terminal. There are also plenty of local food options in the vicinity.

The best part was the rooftop, which was a really nice place to chill with cool breeze.

The rooms and shower facilities were basic, and I stayed in an air conditioned private room and had a pretty comfortable stay.

However my friend was in another room with a fan and she had bed bug bites throughout her second night of stay and could not get any sleep as a result. Hopefully this is more a one off incident than the norm in this hostel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pei ying c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2014. We stayed in a superior room with private ensuite. The room was spacious and even had a lounge area although we were out sightseeing all the time so did not make any use of it. The hostel also has lots of common areas dotted around that anyone. The main one is near reception. This was always busy with people watching films on the TV. The rooftop terrace is an added bonus and we ate our breakfast up there every morning watching the world go by. The hostel is located a few minutes walk to Chinatown and around 5 minutes walk to the river. The best thing about the hostel is the owner, Howard. He really made our stay in Meleka. He took us to lunch one day to a local restaurant. We have no idea what we ate but it tasted amazing!! One night we went on Howard's bike tour. It was the highlight of our stay in Meleka. We went through all the main touristy parts of Meleka and then out through the villages to see how all the locals live. As it was during Chinese New Year there were fireworks going off all over the place. It really was amazing!! 2 nights is enough to see everything in Meleka so unfortunately I don't think we would return to Meleka but if by any chance we found ourselves here again then we would definitely stay at Ringo's Foyer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#52 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#18 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#30 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
0.2 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringo's Foyer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringo's Foyer Guest House

Property: Ringo's Foyer Guest House
Address: 46-A Jalan Portugis, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ringo's Foyer Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Ringo's Foyer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringo`s Foyer Guest House Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing