We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, unbelievable amount of people”

Chung Wah Chicken Rice Ball
Ranked #50 of 671 Restaurants in Melaka
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food, unbelievable amount of people”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This place is a must visit when you come to Malacca. The chicken, although pricey, was really tender and delicious. I didn't think that the rice balls were anything special. Be prepared to queue up absolutely ages when you come here. We went at about 11am, before the lunchtime crowd and were lucky we did not have to wait that long. By lunch time, the queue stretches all the way to Hard Rock Cafe and it could be quite a wait.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lakecomo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    131
    119
    46
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

At my recent visit to Melaka, we were very disappointed with the service and choice of selection. We are a group of 5 people (only needed to wait for 10 mins) ... once we are seated, they just enforced we need to eat 1 plate of chicken (probably just 1/2 chicken) and have 5 rice balls - compulsory! no negotiation! plus herbal tea. The chicken were not as delicious as quoted, and the rice balls were too soft. Not going back again! in terms service ..... NIL!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zozo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

OMG perfect combination of flavour and balance between the rice balls,chicken and homemade chilli sauce. Didn't have to queue but it would be worth the wait especially if you are a 'Chicken Rice' connoisseur. Get local knowledge, if you are able, to avoid the queues.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank audreytatou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good chicken but nothing great”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I guess if chicken rice balls is your thing, go queue for it. I went when there wasn't a queue, so I got served pretty fast. We felt it was pretty expensive. RM31 for 2 persons (chicken, gizzards, 10 rice balls, 2 soft drinks) but it was ok for one experience. Not good enough to go back again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank food_heiress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
179 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The original chicken rice stall”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

They are not perfect. You are expected to queue, there are no air cons, no swag furnished dining area, no pretty waitresses and you'll even have to take caution and bite carefully on the chicken pieces as the bone splinters are ever present.

I've been to a few other restaurants around Melaka but still return back to this one. If food quality is what I am looking for, this place is the best. For all else, look at the rest.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FireSpitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chung Wah Chicken Rice Ball also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Chung Wah Chicken Rice Ball? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing