We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and original place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tony's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tony's Guesthouse
Ranked #25 of 208 Melaka B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice and original place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Each room has an unique decoration, with painting made by Tony.
Rooms are clean and there is a common area nearby with sofa , table and chairs, it's very spacious.
Shower (hot) and WC are really clean too.
There is a laundry service.
Tony is nice and friendly, and he cooks delicious meals !
That's a very nice place with a lot of colors , paintings !

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuroreandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    18
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
9
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

actually a good place for rest and the location is convinient .the decoration also very unique.can surprise U .

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoSTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Tony (of Tony's Guesthouse) prepared breakfast each day, then sat down with us to chat and share travel advice and ideas. The guesthouse is basic, relaxed and well located near to the old part of Melaka - easy access to attractions & restuarants.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waipounamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Tony's Guesthouse and we really liked it. Tony was very helpful, especially with information about what to do (and what not to do). The rooms came with balcony, the shared bathrooms were clean. There was even a common room with table, sofa and chairs so we had lots of space for us. Downstairs at the cafe you can have breakfast/lunch/dinner.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monticarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

We don't really know what happened to the other reviewer, but our experience was entirely different. Tony was friendly and helpful, gave us a spotless private room, and cooked us a delicious breakfast the next morning. The shower was nice and hot too. The place has a nice relaxed vibe which fits in very well with the city. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicaandtravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

We saw good reviews for Tony's Guesthouse, including many praising Tony as a friendly and helpful host.

Tony was unwelcoming and surprised when we arrived, although we had pre-booked. He showed us to a really dirty room (worst in 2 months travelling in Asia), with a dirty and freezing cold separate shower.

We've seen Tony's response to other bad reviews saying that he does all the work himself, though we don't see this as a reason not to put a brush to his rooms! It is cheap though and not a bad location, so not exactly bad value.

Worst thing was the icy welcome we received.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank newtomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
#34 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Big Step Guesthouse
#39 of 208 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karim CT Guesthouse
Karim CT Guesthouse
#17 of 116 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#1 of 116 in Melaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Blanca Guest House
Casa Blanca Guest House
#20 of 208 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tony's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tony's Guesthouse

Property: Tony's Guesthouse
Address: 24 Lorong Bandakaba, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tony's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing