We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!”
Review of Tony's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tony's Guesthouse
Ranked #24 of 222 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I really don't like writing bad reviews about hotels, but I just can't think of anything positive to write about this hostel!

First of all, this place is more a hostel than a guesthouse. There are signs (literally) that will alert you to the fact that this place is geared toward younger travellers - the sign in the shared toilet asking people to "remove their 'remains'" I found particularly unpalatable. There is also no sink in which to wash your hands after gong to the toilet.

The welcome I received from Tony was hardly warm. I think I'm a pretty friendly person, but his reception was disappointing. I asked for a map and got a HUGE second hand one. Surely someone who owns a tourist establishment should have an abundance of maps to give out?!

The room was less than average. I've stayed in hostels, hotels and guesthouses all over the world, and found this one to be the most disappointing. Furthermore, the windows are forced open so you can't close them. This is where my biggest problem was. I'm a light sleeper, and given the close proximity to a main street, there is no end of noise - people yelling, motorbikes honking, car alarms going off, dogs barking - it is impossible for anyone other than a heavy sleeper to get any rest.

I wanted to talk to Tony about this issue, but despite me knocking on the door below and calling out for about five minutes (his lights and the fan were on), he didn't come out. I ended up leaving at about 9.30pm, throwing 20RM through the door and going elsewhere. The place had an "ick" factor about it which, combined with the incredibly noisy area, made me cut my losses and seek alternate accommodation.

I would NOT recommend this place for anyone other than young backpackers with low expectations. If you're expecting an actual guesthouse with a friendly proprietor, you will not get that here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

Tony's Place is great. It's got a lovely quirky and homely vibe.
Rooms are basic but clean, with air-con, fan and wi-fi. The shared bathrooms were very clean. Tony has decorated the place and painted the walls with his own unique style.
There's comfy common areas with places to chill out and cafe downstairs.
Tony is a great host - full of helpful advice and interesting stories about his extensive travels.
Highly recommended if you're after somewhere interesting to stay with a great vibe.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Tony's Guesthouse is a home away from home with all the necessary facilities ... also wifi, hot water shower, clean rooms (aircond optional), common living area, cafe and most importantly a great host. You'll be amazed at the knowledge Tony has especially on South East Asian countries which he readily shares without any reservation. 5-Star hospitality, great location at amazing prices.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Each room has an unique decoration, with painting made by Tony.
Rooms are clean and there is a common area nearby with sofa , table and chairs, it's very spacious.
Shower (hot) and WC are really clean too.
There is a laundry service.
Tony is nice and friendly, and he cooks delicious meals !
That's a very nice place with a lot of colors , paintings !

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuroreandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

actually a good place for rest and the location is convinient .the decoration also very unique.can surprise U .

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeoSTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Tony (of Tony's Guesthouse) prepared breakfast each day, then sat down with us to chat and share travel advice and ideas. The guesthouse is basic, relaxed and well located near to the old part of Melaka - easy access to attractions & restuarants.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waipounamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Tony's Guesthouse and we really liked it. Tony was very helpful, especially with information about what to do (and what not to do). The rooms came with balcony, the shared bathrooms were clean. There was even a common room with table, sofa and chairs so we had lots of space for us. Downstairs at the cafe you can have breakfast/lunch/dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monticarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Town Guesthouse
Old Town Guesthouse
#8 of 222 in Melaka
251 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramarama Designer Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jalan-Jalan
Jalan-Jalan
#12 of 222 in Melaka
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cafe 1511
Cafe 1511
#17 of 222 in Melaka
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#1 of 143 in Melaka
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tony's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tony's Guesthouse

Address: 24 Lorong Bandakaba, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: £9 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tony's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing