We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“defenitely worth a stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tony's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tony's Guesthouse
Ranked #24 of 208 Melaka B&B and Inns
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“defenitely worth a stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Me and my friend where more than suprised by that place. We found it spontainiously and it was just like a little oasis from the noise and dirt of indian streets.
Don´t miss the rooftop... with all the green plants and colourful drawings it´s a perfect place to relax. And also try some of the home-made, cheap, good and not spicy food.
The stuff is very friendly and always up to help you and Tony himself is a very, very interesting person who tried to give you all the best advices and still is down on earth.
The only "minus" is the bathroom which could be more clean - but beside of that everything is just so nice.
Def will come back here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    18
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
9
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I ended up staying here a few months and was happy with it. I found Tony and his wife both helpful and respectful of my privacy. I took the cheap single on the top floor and it was comfortable, and outside the room I often had the attached common room and kitchen to myself. Location is good and there's a keycode system for the front door, so I felt safe. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Close enough to all the sites without being in the centre with all the noise.

Very cute rooms - basic, but everything you need and very clean! The friendliest owner - nothing is too much trouble, and although breakfast isn't included in the price, there is a cafe downstairs with a very good range of food for good prices

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nha Trang, Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My friends and I stayed here for 2 nights and we did love it. The owners could speak perfect english and they were so friendly, they would do anything to help their customers feel happy and relax. Strongly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thanh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I've been here for 3 days when we were travelling around Malaysia, and It was such a nice experience, the owner of this hostel was very helpful, they are always willing to help the customers whenever they need.
If you want to save money and still want to get some fun, relax, this place is for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Traveling with friends, and all of us, love to be here. Very friendly host, Tony and his wife.
Lovely room and breakfast. Easy to travel from this house to places like Chinatown, Mausoleum and others.
Pity that we could not stay in Melaka longer and have more time to talk with Tony, a very helpful guy.

Room Tip: room with AC will be the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo_T16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We paid around £3 each to stay at Tonys for one night which we thought was great value. Obviously at this cost we were not expecting full luxury! The rooms could do with a deep clean to be fair but sheets etc were clean. There was a load of information in a folder in the room about both the guesthouse and Melacca in general which was a nice touch. The whole place is covered in Tony's 'artwork' which is rather eclectic shall we say!

To be honest I wouldn't recommend coming to Melacca to begin with. We went in between travelling from Singapore to KL and have to admit as 3 girls felt unsafe. The guesthouse is near ish to the town but you do feel unsafe getting there and the people are not very tourist friendly.


Also I would definitely recommend asking for a room with aircon it is slightly pricier but well worth it! The wifi is quite good and we ate breakfast in Tony's cafe below the guesthouse and it was good value.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzib123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
#34 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Big Step Guesthouse
#39 of 208 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karim CT Guesthouse
Karim CT Guesthouse
#15 of 116 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#1 of 116 in Melaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Blanca Guest House
Casa Blanca Guest House
#20 of 208 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tony's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tony's Guesthouse

Property: Tony's Guesthouse
Address: 24 Lorong Bandakaba, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tony's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing