We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“feel at home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Ranked #8 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“feel at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We spent 3 nights at Alan's guesthouse which is located just a few meters apart from the lovely discovery cafe. The location is perfect - just in the centre of the city and very close to the best Indian (an cheap!) restaurant in town. The rooms are very clean, the beds are very comfortable and Alan always takes care that everyone is enjoying his stay at his place. And we definitly did! :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    82
    26
    13
    12
See reviews for
10
58
94
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed in discovery and I could not say a bad word about this accommodation it was clean, good value for money, well located and Alen who works here goes above and beyond to help you with anything you need, from recommending the best places to eat, places to visit and transport to other parts of Malaysia at the end on my time in Melaka. I would stay here again if im ever back in Melaka and wish I could of spent more time here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katy_bright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Still very clean, comfy, homey, and well located... I unfortunately could'nt find anything to complain about during that second stay... And believe me, I've tried hard! I've even found some improvements and I've heard they'll keep working on it! Unbelievable! Need a booking? No sweat if you don't find any vacancies on websites such as hostelworld... People should search through all the websites when booking a room at discovery because they are spread over several different ones, 'agoda' being the main site now...
But from now, sit back and relax... Melaka's waiting for you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterFrance56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Originally me and my friends wanted to stay two nights in Melaka but we liked the city and Discovery that much that we prolonged. The room and facilities were nice and clean and Discovery Cafe is a good place to hang out. Plus the location is perfect, next to little India (good restaurants) and in walking distance to all sights. And don't miss out meeting Alan whose British humour is just the best!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleE777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skoczow, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

When we walked in, at first I couldn't believe my eyes... during two months of travel through Thailand and Malaysia I haven't seen so clean and cosy budget accomodation as the Discovery. We've had a dorm beds with fan and finally I could sleep well in fresh bedding and take a shower with pleasure. Alan is fantastic friendly guy with a huge knowlege about traveling around, so it was a great help for us.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Overall a safe, comfortable place to stay. Don't be fooled by the loud Cafe - the guesthouse is very quiet. They were nice enough to let me in at around midnight, though I was chastised to come earlier, so be warned if you come in on a late bus that you might not be let in. Their facilities are safe, clean, easy to find, and their advice is well worth it. You can also book buses at the reception, although they charge an extra $5 (but it saves you from going back to Melaka Sentral. Or take your chances and buy a bus at the station when you need to leave).

Room Tip: I was going for cheap - I would take anything for $6 sgd per night in Malaysia, so the shared room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajohancsik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

After reading other reviews we decided to stay at this guest house but requested that we stayed in the quieter annex which was a two second walk down the road. The annex is run by a really helpful English guy called Alan who showed us around the annex and also took us to a great Indian restaurant just across the street! The room and bathrooms were basic but clean and quite spacious. Great location as well, just up from the river. The only recommendation we would give would be for the breakfast to be buffet style as we love our food! Overall a great stay at a good price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mycroftjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
2.0 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#29 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#16 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.4 mi away
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Property: Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Address: 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Discovery Cafe & Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cafe & Guest House Hotel Melaka
Discovery Cafe And Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing