We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to book bus tickets & figure out tourist plans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Ranked #9 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to book bus tickets & figure out tourist plans”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We didn't stay here but our guest house directed us here to buy bus tickets back to the LCCT airport (Air Asia/KL). When we tried to get tickets from the airport to Melaka there were none available, so we worried about getting back to the airport (taxi was RM 159). They offer a service to get you the bus tickets (at only a small service charge - RM 24 >> RM 30 per ticket) but helped us set up a taxi and had the taxi bring the tickets when he picked us up at our other guest house. It was very convenient & the Cafe itself seemed nice. It's right on the edge of Little India, which was no fun to walk around, but is in a fairly central location for wandering the riverwalk and Chinatown.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    84
    26
    13
    12
See reviews for
10
58
96
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augsburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

we stayed in the discovery guesthouse for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay there. its a good location and just a 2 minutes walk to the main Street. Its clean and the manager is really nice and looks after you. Also check out the indian restaurant opposite of the road.
We would recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperReisegruppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Discovery Guesthouse is a very nice one with a nice, familiar atmosphere. They have a good and clean dorm room with aircon at a pretty cheap price.
The Guesthouse is managed by Alan, a funny guy, who always takes care about you, helps you if you need and loves to chat and joke.
Also the other guests were friendly and I felt very welcome.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mangoappleorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We spent 3 nights at Alan's guesthouse which is located just a few meters apart from the lovely discovery cafe. The location is perfect - just in the centre of the city and very close to the best Indian (an cheap!) restaurant in town. The rooms are very clean, the beds are very comfortable and Alan always takes care that everyone is enjoying his stay at his place. And we definitly did! :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed in discovery and I could not say a bad word about this accommodation it was clean, good value for money, well located and Alen who works here goes above and beyond to help you with anything you need, from recommending the best places to eat, places to visit and transport to other parts of Malaysia at the end on my time in Melaka. I would stay here again if im ever back in Melaka and wish I could of spent more time here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katy_bright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Still very clean, comfy, homey, and well located... I unfortunately could'nt find anything to complain about during that second stay... And believe me, I've tried hard! I've even found some improvements and I've heard they'll keep working on it! Unbelievable! Need a booking? No sweat if you don't find any vacancies on websites such as hostelworld... People should search through all the websites when booking a room at discovery because they are spread over several different ones, 'agoda' being the main site now...
But from now, sit back and relax... Melaka's waiting for you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterFrance56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Originally me and my friends wanted to stay two nights in Melaka but we liked the city and Discovery that much that we prolonged. The room and facilities were nice and clean and Discovery Cafe is a good place to hang out. Plus the location is perfect, next to little India (good restaurants) and in walking distance to all sights. And don't miss out meeting Alan whose British humour is just the best!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleE777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
2.0 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#28 of 166 in Melaka
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#59 of 166 in Melaka
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,325 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Property: Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Address: 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Discovery Cafe & Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Discovery Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cafe & Guest House Hotel Melaka
Discovery Cafe And Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing