We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect room for weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Ranked #8 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect room for weekend getaway”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Alan, the host, is very helpful and cheerful. The guesthouse is nice, clean and have everything you need. We arrived on Friday night and left on Monday morning and felt rested. We had a very great weekend in Melaka! Thank you

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ame477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    84
    26
    13
    12
See reviews for
10
58
96
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Wanting just a bed to lie down on for the night, I feel that this place met all my needs. The host had very specific rules but they were fair in the interest of the people staying there. Met a few European backpackers and a Malaysian family group. Most importantly, the beds were clean and comfortable. I would go back again on my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipkhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The guesthouse is right across the street behind the alley. When you checked in at the café they will call someone to come pick you up and show you the way there. The place is very clean and secure but looks sketchy when you enter the front door. However the host Allan was very knowledgeable and helpful. He's also a seasoned traveller and can give you great tips on how to get to your next destination. Overall I had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da Nang, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Last week, I spent 2 days in Melaka and I chose Discovery Guesthouse when I suddenly see it's number at Bus station. After 2 days I knew that I made the right decision.

The host is really nice. Even though in the first sight, I feel scare a little little little bit, but after all, I like him totally. He shares with me interesting stories. He guides me carefully when I ask for his's advice.

Abt the accommodation: It's in the central of city. The room is small but it's clean. The restroom is clean too. Furthermore, you have place to wash and dry your clothes in the sun. I also like the small paper hung around the house to remind you abt the house's rule and others' stuff.

Finally, I highly recommend it for the one who have a small budget and want to have a quiet, clean place to rest after going around the city.

P.s: You have to be in discipline, you shouldn't do not make noise when others are sleeping. If you are kind of naughty boys and girls, it won't bring you good experiences as it brings to me.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Giathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The dorm room is at a different location and is a few steps away from the café. The front entrance smells really bad and there were plastic bottles/empty containers kept in the main floor. The owner treats his guests like military trainees and even if the gate requires an access card, he'd still lock it once all guests are in their rooms. Compare first the rates and services offered by other properties in the area before booking!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hypnotic_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Great couple of nights here. The rooms were very clean and the guy here, Allan, was extremely helpful and friendly! Highly recommend staying here. The lounge room is very welcoming and comfortable and a great place to chat to others :)

Tip: There are 2 parts to this guesthouse, where the restaurant/cafe is and across the road a minutes walk away - stay across the road!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabby1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Well, what can I say, this guest house is near by almost everywhere in melaka. I mean, it located near by Little India, Jonker Street, and many other tourist spot, everything could be reach by walking in about 5-10 minutes. Also this guest house has an extraordinary staff (Alan) which I really enjoy talking with. The price is cheap, and the room is clean, well organized, the lounge room is comfy.
The only reason why I don't give this guest house 5 star rating is because the management is rude and not friendly. but afterall i've had a great experience satying in this guesthouse and looking forward to visit here again someday

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValentinoEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
2.0 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#29 of 166 in Melaka
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#57 of 166 in Melaka
128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#18 of 166 in Melaka
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Property: Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Address: 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Discovery Cafe & Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Discovery Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cafe & Guest House Hotel Melaka
Discovery Cafe And Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing