We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premium location”
Review of Chong Hoe Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chong Hoe Hotel
Ranked #100 of 212 Melaka B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Premium location”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Being said tat, there is a mosque right in front of the hotel. If u r a sound sleeper, then u r not bother by the early prayer as early as 5am. I was not disturbed at all cos it lasted abt 15 mins, I think so.
This is my 2nd time staying at Chong Hoe. The room is perfectly clean & tidy with the floral smell of the bed sheet, the whole room is filled with nice fragrant. Not forgetting the toilet, is sparkling clean too.
2 doors away from where we stay, u might wan to try their dim sum in the morning. They served delicious handmade dim sum especially the steam lotus leaf rice, yumyum!! We went the 2nd morning wanting to eat some more, but it was all sold out around 9 plus.
Reminder: go early if u wan to try their dim sum. Or else u hv to q for yr seat n may not get to eat their popular dishes.
I highly recommend Chong Hoe hotel for their location; walking distance to Jonker Street, value for $$$ and service provided by the hotel; WIFI, water dispenser at the hallway, etc.
Personally, I will always stay with them whenever I'm in malacca.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    18
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Good locations and closed to other tourist spot !!!

Overall the hotel looks clean, comfortable, & friendly owners. But we expect our room to be clean the next day unfortunately not! May be weekend no housekeeping staff working...

Chinese tourist so noisy and didn't respect night time and other occupancy.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OneW0rld007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampang, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Last minute decided to Melaka with my friends~ We look for hotel when we reach... We survey few hotels on the same street and finally we got the cheapest rate among there, the triple room only cost RM50/night..it was totally below our budget...The room were come to 1 double & single bed without bathroom.However, the sharing bathroom is just few steps away on the same floor and well clean
5 minutes walk to Jonker Street and Delicious Dim Sum just next to the hotel.....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeliciaMiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We (4 adults) stayed here for a night in a family room. There were 2 queen beds and an attached bathroom. Everything was clean and the hot water shower worked fine. The family room is on the ground floor, which was perfect, as my parents are 70+, and it would have been a real problem if the room were on the first floor (as it is a double-storey building and there's no lift). There's a water dispenser (both hot and cold) in the hallway, outside the rooms and even a first-aid kit! Altogether a very satisfactory place to stay in if one is in Melaka. Easy on the pocket too - RM90 for a family room.

Room Tip: If you have older folks travelling with you, ask for a family room, as it is located on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophiaJohorBahru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Fabulous location just behind Jonker Street. We got a room at the back which was nice & quiet. It's really clean, with comfy beds & a really good shower. Really good value compared to others in the area & they don't charge a premium rate for weekends. The owners are lovely & I felt welcome here. There's a fab dimsum restaurant two doors down from the hotel - I would highly recommend this place for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I've stayed here a few times as I have passed through Melaka. The owner is friendly and curteous, he is a gentleman. The the rooms are clean. The location is great, it's just a few paces to Jonker Walk. The price is great, and you can often walk in and get a room without a reservation. I keep returning here, and will stay again next time I pass through town.

Room Tip: If it is during an Islamic festival you may want to choose one of the inner rooms. We stayed once an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magpie_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed there 2 nights. This is the second time there. Returned there because of the great location and affordable price. We stayed in a room upstairs with attached heated shower. The room was air-conditioned and had a queen sized bed. It was clean, as expected, and small, maybe a little cramped. The noise level was quite low, but we heard everyone's footsteps and conversation as they passed by. However, at night, it was quiet. I believe the other residents were considerate and kept the noise level to a minimum.
It's located in the heart of a historical site where several old buildings are located. Access to food is plentiful with local and Western cuisines readily available. There's even a Hard Rock down the road! Be prepared to wait if you go there without reservations.
We parked nearby, and spent the next two days walking and snapping photos of hundred year old buildings.
At night, there was a night bazaar which opens every Friday and Saturday. They sell foods, drinks, and trinkets. The pubs are opened then with locals plying their trade in their music. I recommend The Geographer which has a live band or solo act. Across is a quieter bar with a live music. Sit outside if you want to enjoy music from both places!
You need to have lots of water due to the heat and humidity there so buy them from the nearby convenience store. Also recommended are umbrellas as it rains quite frequently. But the showers don't last. Bring clothes that are light; such as cotton, and have a good pair of walking shoes. Alternatively, you can explore more if you rent a bicycle. Grab a map and visit nearby historical sites as well.
All in all, this place served as a quiet, clean and comfortable place for us to rest our tired feet, and gave us much needed sleep from a days exploration. We will definitely visit here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TWChiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,209 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mori Residence
Mori Residence
#45 of 166 in Melaka
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cheng Ho Guest House
Cheng Ho Guest House
#59 of 131 in Melaka
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jalan-Jalan
Jalan-Jalan
#12 of 212 in Melaka
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Da Som Inn
Da Som Inn
#9 of 131 in Melaka
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chong Hoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chong Hoe Hotel

Property: Chong Hoe Hotel
Address: 26 Jalan Tukang Emas, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 212 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the BEST BUDGET HOTELS in Melaka. Highly Recommended by Overseas Tourist Guide Book & Traveler Website (eg. "Lonely Planet", "Tous Les Guides Du Routard-France" & etc). Clean & cozy rooms starting from RM 40 nett with air-condition, fan, TV & standard facilities. Weekend and public holidays surcharge applicable. Located at China Town. A stroll away from Malacca's Historical Precinct (eg. Clock Town, A Famosa, St Paul Hill, the Famous Jonker Street, Heeren Street & etc). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing